Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

11th July 2014

Tina Edwards dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Tina worked through a number of simple exercises with us and the dogs to help us understand how to passively control our dogs and establish leadership. I was amazed how immediately effective the training was. After living with dogs that go crazy every time the door bell rings to peace and quiet within a few days has been a great relief.

Trainer note from Tina:
Great to work with these dogs who responded very well, once they understood what their owners wanted!

More reviews about Tina Edwards


N.R.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent

8th July 2014

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Can not believe the difference one days training has made and we are continuing this following Kevin's instructions. My girls have been aggressive as they are frightened, pulled on the lead, barked at people and dogs as they walked passed and jumped up at me. It's early days but the response is remarkable. Beach test to come, but I feel so much more confident that they will mix well and be able to control them.

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


P.B.
Stithians, Cornwall

8th July 2014

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called
Photo of R.C.'s dog

Fantastic! instant results. everything was explained to us and the reasons why. we were then shown how it works in practice, and then taught how to do it ourselves. my mother is now feeling really confident and relaxed with George. it is nice to have it all written down to refer to and to know that kevin is at the end of the phone if needed. we are both very happy! thank you so much!

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


R.C.
paignton, Devon

8th July 2014

Lee Hardy dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks
Photo of H.A.'s dog

Such a simple solution but very effect. It has changed our lives completely that we can now leave lulu on her own knowing she will not bark and upset our neighbours.

More reviews about Lee Hardy


H.A.
Nuneaton, Warwickshire

7th July 2014

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety

Kevin came to help us with the issues that my two dogs had and I told him my dream was to walk both my dogs down the beach with all the others dogs and not need to worry. I didnt think this was going to be possible but Kevin worked with them both and they responded really well. We even managed to walk them both down the beach off lead with all the other dogs and they loved it.

I would recommend Kevin to help train your dogs. His way of training works very quickly.

I also did the Covered for life guarentee so that I can contact him if I have anymore concerns throughout their lifes.

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


V.M.
Exmouth, Devon

4th July 2014

Aaron Noble dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead
Photo of J.R.'s dog

After just one visit from Julie we have noticed an immediate change in Mollie, she has become a lot more relaxed and her temperament has improved considerably.

Julie was really friendly and gave us lots of valuable advice as a family we feel really comfortable working with her.

Trainer note from Aaron:
It was great to meet Mollie and her family. They are going to do their best to ensure that Mollie gives up some of the responsibility she has taken on, and learns to relax and let the family look after themselves!

More reviews about Aaron Noble


J.R.
Stockport, Cheshire

3rd July 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Other

Our first session with Alex was a great introduction to puppy training. Rita (cockapoo puppy) is our first dog and so we were in need of some guidance. Alex was great with Rita and the techniques he showed us worked straight away. He was very patient with us and answered our stream of questions along with reassuring us that we were doing a decent job raising our puppy.

Alex is great at fitting round us for visits (including evenings and weekends). He is very flexible and works around us whether we want frequent short visits or longer visits every so often.

Alex has been working with us for over 3 months now and we are still learning new things with each visit. All of the equipment he has supplied us with is top notch and we have found the Bark Busters products to have been especially helpful!

I would definitely recommend Alex to anyone who is looking for a personal and professional dog training service!

Trainer note from Alex:
Taking on a puppy can be hard work, even for those people that have always had dogs. So taking on your first puppy can be a real worry for some people. I frequently get asked "are we doing it right?" Often people are doing most things right, having done some research of their own, however I have realised that they really appreciate the ongoing support and being steered in the right direction from time to time when they go a little off track. I am thoroughly enjoying helping Rita's parents and it has been great watching her grow up. She has come on leaps and bounds since I first met her some 3 to 4 months back and I know she will continue to develop into a lovely well behaved dog. Keep up the good work

More reviews about Alex Fraser


C.B.
Manchester, Greater Manchester

29th June 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called
Photo of S.E.'s dog

We booked a session with Jo to help re-train recall and reduce lead pulling with our 18 month old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, Willoughby. It was a complete revelation as Jo was about to establish in a few short minutes that Willoughby is almost certainly deaf. Willoughby had previously been very good with recall and I had spent a lot of time training him since he was 8 weeks old, but over the last 6 months or so he had rapidly gone downhill and was at the point where he wasn't listening at all any more. Well, no wonder - he couldn't hear a thing we were saying!

Discovering our lovely boy was deaf was upsetting, but Jo was so reassuring and was able to adjust her training plan seemingly instantly - she talked us through alternative training methods and ways to communicate with Willoughby so that he could understand and that we wouldn't feel frustrated. After a bit of trial and error we discovered he could hear a whistle and Jo gave us the knowledge we needed to get him back into the swing of training. It was so lovely to see him alert and wagging his tail, responding to commands again like he used to. Jo gave us a lovely gift, and that was the gift of confidence in our dog again - he was capable and was willing we just needed to learn new ways of communicating with him.

With regards to lead pulling, Jo was fantastic in demonstrating how to better control Willoughby with our ezydog harness and delivering some home truths about the problems of walking a puller on a flexi lead! We've taken these lessons to heart and have taken away the flexis, and are dedicated to following her plan and are confident with some perseverance we will begin to see great results. Thanks Jo!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Willoughby is an exceptionally well trained Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. When a dog has hearing loss it is not always obvious to an owner. It is very rare that a dog will have complete hearing loss (just like humans) and loss is often gradual so a dog will develop coping mechanisms to deal with it. An intelligent dog like Willoughby looks for visual cues and responds as though he can hear when he can't. In Willoughbys case he couldn't hear any high pitched noises and that included a normal dog whistle. He did react to very loud banging and could hear a loud low pitch police whistle his owner fortunately had, but not to clapping and floor stamping. Stamping often does work as a dog can feel vibration through floor boards, but his owners floors were concrete so vibration didn't carry.

There are several methods for training deaf and hard of hearing dogs which we discussed. Willoughbys owner had already done a great job of teaching hand targeting (teaching a dog to touch your hand with his nose) so this could be adapted and used as a hand signal for recall. Normally you would call your dogs name and then use your hand to get your dog to come back to you and touch it. In this case the whistle was used instead of calling him vocally followed by the hand signal. Lead walking is more complex as Willoughby couldn't hear any vocal guidance so it was combination of using a 2 point harness to communicate physically with him and food to lure him to pay attention to his owner.

Training a deaf or hard of hearing dog can be just as much fun and just as effective as training a hearing dog. A bonus is that very often a deaf dog is more attentive to its owner once an owner knows how to communicate with their dog.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


S.E.
Romford, Essex

26th June 2014

Sharon Chapman dealt with: Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Sharon spent a good 3 hours with us. Talking about our concerns over Betty, then walking to the local park for some training. We are now following the program Sharon compiled. Sharon was extremely professional and knowledgeable.

More reviews about Sharon Chapman


S.P.
Bebington, Wirral, Merseyside

25th June 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called
Photo of K.S.'s dog

I found there was a lot to take in on the first lesson Jo explained everything very clearly but i think it will take a few sessions until I get things right.

It was also interesting watching Jo interact with the dogs and how well they responded to her only wishing I could do the same. Jo gave some very good advice on Alfies diet which was very useful and I am very much looking forward to learning from Jo's training methods for my dogs and hope that one day Alfie can walk down the road without wanting to have a go at every dog he see's.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner has 3 dogs. Two Jack Russell Terriers and a Jackapoo (a poodle terrier cross). Three dogs doesn't mean triple trouble, but it does mean that when there are problems an owner has to dedicate individual time to help the dog or dogs concerned. These little scamps are absolutely delightful but a move to a new home with foxes in their huge garden and lots of new dogs around the place threw Alfie and he got very concerned and consequently barky at anything and everything. Taking 3 dogs for a walk with one barking and another starting to copy him is stressful for anyone and does make you feel as though you are losing control, but this owner does have a great relationship with his dogs and a combination of time and practice will work wonders with his little family pack.

Update: Owner has reported that Alfie is much more settled now and is listening to him when out on walks. All the dogs are enjoying their garden and the foxes are starting to give it a wide berth!!

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


K.S.
Eltham, London

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training