Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

8th April 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity
Photo of L.C.'s dog

When I contacted Barkbusters my pug puppy was 9 months old and had acquired a habit of barking at everything and anything … cars, birds, people etc. In the garden and house she would territorial bark and when out on the lead would get extremely nervous and bark at passersby.

I had tried several techniques but all to no avail. Then one day I came across the Barkbusters website. Feeling I had nothing to lose I contact them and was put in touch with Jo Milgrew. This was the first step to a happier and contented pug.

After just a few hours with Freya, Jo was able to let me know why Freya was behaving the way she was and how to avoid or handle this behaviour going forward. Just understanding why Freya was acting this way helped us both deal with situations better and although Freya will always be a nervous dog she is so much happier and confident now.

There is still a long way to go, with continuous reinforcement needed but Jo is always there to answer my questions and deal with anything new that arises. The training notes provided are a constant source of reassurance, allowing me to refer back to Jo’s advice as and when needed.

Jo is a fantastic trainer and never once made me feel inadequate as an owner. She provided practical advice that fitted in with our lifestyle and gave several alternatives so we could find what works for us. And the most important thing … Freya adores her!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Freya is not a confident dog and gets distressed when out on walks and in the garden. She feels the need to bark to alert her owner to "danger" and to try and keep anything away that might possibly be a threat. This type of behaviour can get worse over time because the dogs thinks it is successful. Birds will fly away, people will jump back so all that barking works from the dogs point of view. Dealing with this takes time and patience. The owner has to build her dogs confidence and at the same time let her know that she doesn't need protecting from possible dangers. Anyone who has tried to break one of their own habits will know that this isn't something you can do overnight, but can be done. Freya is making amazing progress and I am looking forward to continuing to work with Freya and her owner.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


L.C.
Southend-on-Sea, Essex

8th April 2014

Lynn Prentice dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

I don't really know where to start.. Our 2 mini Schnauzers totally ruled the house and us. We had allowed them to own and control us and our daily lives . Walking them both become no pleasure as they would bark at everyone and everything and we cringed when a visitor came to the door, due to the barrage of barking that would take place. In desperation, we contacted Bark Busters and arranged a session with Lynn. We connected with Lynn straight away and took on board all she told us . Fast forward 2 weeks, dogs now sleep on their own beds, have much clearer boundaries and we are working on issues around ownership of front door, hallway and basic individual lead work. Our dogs appear to be happier, content and less anxious . Ruby our younger dog, age 8 had been running around like a headless chicken protecting Millie , the 11 year old, minding the family and the house, no wonder she was so stressed!!!

We are committed to this training and our goal is to take 2 well behaved, happy, stress free dogs on holiday to Cornwall in November. We opted for the lifetime option, for peace of mind for continuous support if needed.

More reviews about Lynn Prentice


L.M.
Old Stratford, Northamptonshire

8th April 2014

Tina Edwards dealt with: Recall or not coming when called
Photo of S.D.'s dog

It was all very informative, learning new things and correcting other things we thought we knew.

Trainer note from Tina:
A large young husky who already had very good obedience, having help from a very well trained companion! He had started to bully other dogs when off lead and his recall needs some help too. A lovely natured dog, because of his breed he needs absolute consistency in his training to get to the level his owner wants.

More reviews about Tina Edwards


S.D.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent

8th April 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called
Photo of L.H.'s dog

Alex was wonderful, after his first visit I felt more confident.

Harvey our 16 month old Bernese Mountain Dog liked to pull like a train, bark , jump up at visitors as well as eating rubbish , sticks and not coming back when let off the lead!!!! Which made walking him a nightmare. I usually came back more stressed!!

Alex explained everything in detail and went over things each visit . After the first visit, I felt in charge .

We have made good progress and enjoy our sessions with Alex. I now let him off the lead and he is always looking where I am and bounds back.

Although he still manages to eat one or two bits, he is 80 % better , I am not as stressed. I know with continued training Harvey will go from strength to strength .

Thank you very much Alex. I wish we had discovered Bark Busters sooner. Home , one to one training definitely works for us . Knowing that with the lifetime guarantee we can call Alex , should we need too, is a real bonus.

Liz & Harvey x

Trainer note from Alex:
It's not always just about the dog and any behavioural issues they might have. Sometimes it is also about empowering the owner so that they feel they have full control of their dog both inside and outside of the home. Harvey was great fun to work with and I would happily have smuggled him out in my pocket and taken him home, if it wasn't for the fact that he was far too big to fit in my pocket. I really hope Liz and Harvey keep me posted on how they are doing and it would be great to catch up at some point in the future and go walking.

More reviews about Alex Fraser


L.H.
Bury, Lancashire

8th April 2014

Tina Edwards dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Jasper is just over a year old with a puppy's enthusiasm for everything - but is already a large and strong GSD. We rehomed him from Battersea but soon realised that he had had limited training and socialisation in his previous home. Tina has taught us a lot of very useful techniques for training Jasper includng walking on the lead and not barging past on the stairs. Tina's approach is very practical and she doesn't rush the training - we have had a couple of sessions already and she will be coming back again to help us with socialisation soon.

Trainer note from Tina:
A beautiful gentle boy with family, friends and visitors, he becomes over protective and anxious when on lead with dogs and passers by. His behaviour indicates that he hadn't had suitable socialisation when a pup, so has to learn that his owners should be making the decisions about the outside world and that he learns to trust them and not make his own.

More reviews about Tina Edwards


M.B.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent

7th April 2014

Tina Edwards dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

There has been a marked improvement with Mabel and we continue to work together with Tina on Mabel's behaviour.

Trainer note from Tina:
Mabel is a very pretty whippet who has calmed down tremendously since we started training. She was stealing, jumping up, getting agitated when left and had no recall! I am soon to visit again to work more on recall now that the foundations are in place.

More reviews about Tina Edwards


D.N.
Gillingham, Kent

7th April 2014

Sharon Chapman dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger
Photo of K.B.'s dog

Sharon was very good. She explained everything and wrote up a training program. we have seen some improvement, but it's early days. She seemed confident that we could sort out the problem

More reviews about Sharon Chapman


K.B.
St. Asaph, Denbighshire

7th April 2014

Tina Edwards dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Pulling on the Lead
Photo of L.B.'s dog

Tina was a great help. She gave us some advice about his diet which seems to have improved his temperament. She gave us some useful tips on how improve his walking on the lead and how to stop him barking in the garden. She educated us on his behaviour and enabled us to understand why he does things. I would recommend her and wish we had found her sooner.

More reviews about Tina Edwards


L.B.
Redhill, Surrey

5th April 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety

Jo spent 3 hours with us and identified problems I hadn't spotted, particularly with my older dog. Everything she told, and showed, me was excellent and made so much sense - I felt so much more relaxed when she left and my two dogs are getting on so much better with the instruction she gave me.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner got her new dog from Serbia. Street dogs generally make wonderful pets, but can take time to settle down to living in a home and understand what is expected of them. When an owner gets a new dog it totally natural to assume that any problems occurring are caused by the new dog, but it is very often a combination. The existing dog has to make just as many adjustments as the new dog and is just as capable of misbehaving! Knowing what to do is half the battle and I have every confidence that this owner will do a brilliant job with both her lovely dogs.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


G.T.
London

4th April 2014

Neil Price dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Other
Photo of S.G.'s dog

Dylan was a rescue dog and was our son and daughter in law's for 4 1/2 years. They now have a baby so we have taken over the care of Dylan. Dylan, although a lovely dog and very intelligent, barked at anything and everything and guarded anything he decided was his. The initial training worked well for a couple of weeks then began to slide. We asked for Neil to come round and he gave us a different method of training. Obviously, like people, dogs are all different and respond to different types of training. The training is working very well and Dylan is a much nicer dog to be with. He is far more relaxed and, generally, responds well to commands. We are now more in control and feeling good. We can see a light at the end of the tunnel thanks to Neil and Bark Busters.

More reviews about Neil Price


S.G.
Preston, Lancashire

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training