Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

9th January 2014

Kim Lummis dealt with: Puppy Management

Kim was amazing with both Aubrey and myself. She completely put Aubrey at ease (and Aubrey) responded immediately to the training.

Kim showed us the error in her ways so that we can work daily with Aubrey to train her. She has a way to go and she is quite a stubborn little dog but with continual training, I'm sure we will get there.


R.S.
Bexhill, East Sussex

6th January 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting
Photo of A.F.'s dog

I was referred to Jo with an issue I was experiencing with my six month old Boston Terrier, Basil, my first dog I’ve ever owned as an adult. My issue was his toileting. With a lounge on the middle floor, we were really struggling to get him to do his business either by the back door or wait for us to take him outside. Although not perhaps as serious as some of Jo’s other cases, I’m so glad she took us on as I was tearing my hair out at the contradiction of advice we were getting from various sources, none of which seemed to be working. Sick of cleaning up Basil’s mess over and over again each day, I was a desperate for someone to see our set-up, discuss our lifestyle, give us one-on-one attention and devise a bespoke plan to follow.

Jo was my Fairy Godmother. Turns out we had a little more than the toilet issue to deal but Jo handled everything compassionately, delivered her advice simply and clearly with both practical demos and written documentation and best of all assured me that I wasn’t the world’s worst pet parent. The first few days of Jo’s plan weren’t the easiest, as we had to go back to square one with the crate training but when you tot up all the wasted hours spent trying the other methods, it was nothing really and I can’t tell you the joy I felt after being out of the house for a few hours and returning to a clean floor! In a subsequent visit Jo also taught me the best and easiest technique to hold Basil’s focus and I cannot tell you the difference it has made to his behaviour and our bond. He does as he’s told, stays close by on walks, responds to recall and well any other naughtiness is just my cheeky Basil. As a dog owner, you do get bombarded with advice from vets, other owners, trainers etc on all aspects of your dog’s care and well being. Ultimately I will always make my own decision but Jo would most definitely be my phone a friend option!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner has a lovely little Boston Terrier. Her home set up which also involved cats, her husband working from home, her occasional working from home and nothing on the ground floor apart from the kitchen meant that routines were very hard to establish and maintain. Basil care was eating into her husbands essential work time and Basil had very quickly learnt that if he was demanding enough he got what he wanted from his frazzled owners. Not difficult for him to achieve as he is a delightful little dog! In Basil's case the home set up meant that a crate or playpen was the simplest way to keep him safe when his owners couldn't supervise him 100% combined with a structured toileting and supervision routine when out of the crate. He did actually want to be clean and these adjustments meant that he soon learned the difference between inside and outside and where he should actually toilet. As a growing puppy Basil has also needed to learn good dog manners so although the main requirement was to solve the toileting issue his owners have wholeheartedly thrown themselves into training Basil to behave well with visitors, other dogs and when out and about. He can now be taken literally anywhere and his owners be confident in his good behaviour and receive compliments as to how well he is handled. A fantastic result.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


A.F.
Brentwood, Essex

5th January 2014

David and Anthony Swindells dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

David explained the processes very clearly and logically. He was both informative and encouraging in his instruction. I felt at ease with him from the start. The exercises yielded positive reactions from the start, so I am feeling optimistic for the future.

More reviews about David and Anthony Swindells


L.T.
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire

30th December 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Puppy Management Separation Anxiety Toileting Other

We had our first session with Jo on the day that Lola arrived. I'd never had a puppy so was really daunted by the prospect, as well as excited. Jo was a wonderful, soothing presence from the minute she walked in. She immediately calmed me and the puppy down without seeming to do anything. The puppy had been dashing round the flat, obviously terrified and confused by her new surroundings but by the end of that first visit, she was practically purring in my arms. Jo's style really suited both me and the puppy, encouraging both of us along with real dedication and care. I was and still am, very impressed! Her tips on toileting worked wonders, as did her instructions on how to get Lola used to her crate. Jo spent a lot of time with us that first session and I honestly could not have done without it.

Since then I have been in touch with Jo many times either by email or by phone and she was always extremely helpful. It is really good for me to know that there is someone there whom I can call and whom I trust, for advice as the puppy was growing and developing. So for example when Lola started nipping at me and practising little bites on me, Jo's advice literally put a stop to it within 24 hours.

We had a second visit from Jo just before Christmas, and again that was a much needed and extremely useful session. She taught me a special massage to perform on Lola when she is anxious and the puppy absolutely adores it. She also helped with Lola's lead reactivity and we are currently working on that.

In sum, I really really recommend Jo! She is so caring and loving with the animals and a complete professional.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Lola is a gorgeous little Westipoo puppy who has not been a straight forward puppy for her owner. Her owner has done absolutely everything right. She goes to puppy day care and is very well socialised with other dogs. She meets lots of people and has walking companions. She loves learning new things and is delightfully well behaved. However, she has had health issues and can be very anxious at times so it has often been 2 steps forward and one step back for her owner. Throughout all of this her owner has not tried to second guess anything - she simply asks for advice and puts it into practice. Because of this Lola is growing into a confident and happy little dog and I am looking forward to continuing working with her owner as Lola matures from puppy to adult dog.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


Z.K.
london, London

24th December 2013

Lynn Prentice dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Another really good session with Lynn, the girls are coming along nicely and I can see how the different aspects of the training come together to provide the results we are aiming for. Lynn was as patient as ever despite my ineptitude at times!!

We still have good days and some not so good, but the not so good are becoming fewer and fewer and the issues smaller .

The more you put into the training the more everyone gets out of it.

More reviews about Lynn Prentice


D.C.
Luton, Bedfordshire

23rd December 2013

Kim Lummis dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise
Photo of P.S.'s dog

Thank you so much for absolutely everything you have done over the past year with Dudley. We now have an amazing, well behaved, lovely friendly family pet who the whole family adore. He is so good, loves his walks to the park (sadly our garden is just too muddy for him to run around there at the moment) enjoys meeting other dogs both in the park and when walking – no barking at daft noises any more – and will happily walk through the ducks and any birds who may be around in the park. It’s hard to remember now how he used to behave – so many people stop and speak and say what a handsome and well behaved dog he is!!!!! We still have a way to go with the distance control but will continue to work on that – and the barking in the garden is just normal dog-like barking and not incessant, so all good. His relationship with Dusty is brilliant – still the odd spat but that is usually down to the cat – the days of (bad behaviour with the cat) are in the distant past, and we often have a laugh about that when they are both curled up asleep on the sofa!

We are so grateful for all your help, advice and expertise and cannot thank you enough – always knew he had a lovely nature, but the docile, friendly well behaved dog we now have is thanks to you. Glad you liked the photos.

Do hope you are well and wish you a very happy and healthy 2014 – THANK YOU.

Trainer note from Kim:
Dudley did not tolerate Dusty the cat at all when I started to work with P and B. In fact Dusty spent a very long, cold winter in the garage.

Patience, consistency and practice has really paid off.

P.S.
Eastbourne, East Sussex

22nd December 2013

Tina Edwards dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead
Photo of M.R.'s dog

Tina was very pleasant and knew what we had to do, she explained everything clearly. We did a few things with Sandy and they seemed to work fine. We look forward to seeing Tina again, when she checks on our progress

Trainer note from Tina:
Sandy is a rescue and has been showing aggression to some dogs. She is a lovely sweet natured girl and on hearing more about her history with other dogs it seems like she was worried about lively dogs. On seeing her walk I was sure that she had discomfort in her hind quarters and have recommended a chiropractor to check her out, as it is possible that it might be that that originally caused her aggression to some other dogs. We did some basic work in the house with some lead work and will review what next to do once we know that the chiropractor says.

More reviews about Tina Edwards


M.R.
Ramsgate, Kent

21st December 2013

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called
Photo of R.A.'s dog

A very enjoyable and informative few hours spent with Kevin.Lady has responded already to the training given and hopefully will go from strength.

Would have no problem in recommending Bark Busters!!

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


R.A.
Copplestone, Devon

21st December 2013

Andy Waterhouse dealt with: Separation Anxiety

The service has been fantastic.

Andy is very pleasant and really calming. It has transformed our lives that Paris doesn't disturb us through the night and we can enjoy uninterrupted sleep again.


E.K.
Limehouse, London

17th December 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Hyperactivity Puppy Management Separation Anxiety
Photo of R.M.'s dog

Jo seemed to understand Ben and me right from the start…she helped us work together. Thank you for saving our relationship and I write this in appreciation for the excellent training work you suggested for separation anxiety and being an anxious puppy brought on by an electronic collar. While Ben has started to become well behaved the additional structure you have given him through training has benefited him and us. My husband and I are truly appreciative for your fine work.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Ben is a Bernese Mountain Dog who lives on a farm near very busy main roads. After a previous dog was killed on the road an electronic collar was fitted as his owners want to keep him safe. Unfortunately these type of collars can malfunction and his owners have had to undertake training to deal with anxiety and fear after a malfunction. He has severe separation anxiety and as he is a big dog he was using his bulk and his teeth to try and stop his owners leaving. This was perplexing to his owners but now they understand why he was behaving so badly they are teaching him to be comfortable, safe and secure when on his own. It is a delight to visit and be greeted by a truly happy Ben.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


R.M.
Billericay, Essex

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training