Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

23rd February 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management

Really good session. Very useful with daisy. Daisy is doing really well walking properly on her lead and not jumping up and barking so much.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Daisy is a lovely Cockerpoo. She is really bouncy and was doing lots of jumping up at kitchen surfaces when her owner was cooking or preparing food and generally to get her owners attention. This is hard work when you have a busy household and Daisy was getting away with it simply because if she couldn't get the attention she would start to bark at her owners instead. It takes calm gentle persistence from owners to fix this and they are making good progress. Because she is so excitable she pulled heavily on the lead when she went out which was particularly difficult when walking with the children. She is walking very nicely now and the next thing we will be tackling is to teach her to walk calmly alongside a pushchair. These owners are proof that even if you have lots of things going on at all times, you can still train your dog successfully.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


L.C.
Upminster, Essex

22nd February 2014

Estelle Jackson dealt with: Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

Estelle was very good and gave me advise on how to manage the behaviour problems. The dogs and I have been practicing daily and there have been some improvements in behaviour. They are no longer all trying to get through the door as soon as it is opened. the border terriers are together again for some of the time but only when I am around. They had, recently, started to fight. Distance training is variable. The border terriers are finding it difficult. But we are keeping working at it for a few minutes every day. Thankyou Estelle

More reviews about Estelle Jackson


C.C.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire

21st February 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Toileting Other
Photo of B.T.'s dog

Hemlock & Prue are both rescue dogs, who came into our home with some complex behavioural issues. We had managed to unpick a couple to the root cause, but didn't have the knowledge to understand how to deal with it. To be honest we were pretty much at breaking point with Hemlock, who being a large Dobermann just seemed to be so unwieldy and out of control. However within half an hour of meeting us with our dogs Alex had assured us that the dogs were not 'broken' and with time, patience and consistency we could 'fix' them ... or was it fix us? We soon learnt that their problems was as much our doing as their own 'baggage' they had bought with them to our home. Alex just seemed to be able to read deep inside their heads and reply to the cries of help.

Results were soon evident, the techniques easy to use (we have been known to use them automatically on the cats now, but they really do look at us as if we are strange). Before you realise you are doing many of the techniques without actually thinking about them, it becomes second nature. The dogs respond instantly to them, both the correction and the praise. They know where they stand, they are more comfortable having these boundaries and are so much calmer now.

Hemlock (dobie) wanted to guard us, Prue (boxer), the house, pretty much anything and everything, only thing is he was all bark and no b@lls and this just stressed him out. Alex soon had us teaching him that his 'job' is to sit n chill and we'll do the guarding: turns out our barks (growls) are pretty impressive too!

Prue was a bit different, she came to us with a history of more physical abuse (Hemlock's was primarily psychological). She was most un-boxer like, quiet and withdrawn. Together with Alex we have helped her realise that humans can be kind and she ought not to be so fearful of us all. She's a cheeky little lady now, has made some huge progress, but still lots to achieve. Prue's major issue was toilet training, she was used as a breeding bitch and as such had no concept of appropriate toileting. With Alex's guidance we have made a breakthrough but it is slow going, but we wont give up.

Both Hemlock & Prue were a nightmare on the lead, they would pull, and Beth wouldn't take Hemlock out unless he was on his canny collar because she didn't have the strength to hold him, or be able to cope with any silliness should he decide to go off on one. Alex taught us various lead and collar techniques and now both dogs walk beautifully with little correction needed. No nasty or painful techniques, just done by speaking the dog's language and plenty of praise when it all goes right (regardless of how fleeting that initial success may be). We are both happy to walk either dog and are looking forward to starting recall training with them very soon with Alex's help.

As a result we now have two contented and happy dogs who we feel we have a decent amount of control over. We are looking forward to advancing these skills. That's not to diminish the progress we have made so far. In the early days it would take 10 minutes to get Hemlock into his bed, he didn't see it as a safe place and once there would soon be off. Now, not only does he take himself off to his own bed, but also to Prue's (at least one size smaller than his own). He is so much more relaxed.

Alex is an affable man, who puts you at ease, is so easy to talk to without making you feel silly. Instructions are always clearly explained, as is the rationale behind them. Alex has become a welcome visitor to our house. Would we recommend him? Yes, we already have!

Trainer note from Alex:
I am so so pleased with how both Hemlock and Prue have improved during the time I have been working with them. I was told by their owners on my first visit that they were at the end of their tether with both dogs (especially Hemlock who would bark throughout the night at the slightest noise!). On entering the house for the first time the dogs were a little chaotic to say the least, but whenever I go round now both dogs wait calmly in their beds when I enter and only come out when called! Their owners have worked hard and they are now certainly reaping the benefits of the work they have put in. I am very proud of them all.

More reviews about Alex Fraser


B.T.
Heywood, Greater Manchester

20th February 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household
Photo of V.T.'s dog

WITHIN MINUTES OF MEETING ALEX WE KNEW WE WERE IN SAFE AND CAPABLE HANDS. HE EXPLAINED EVERYTHING IN A CLEAR AND CONSIDERATE WAY, TOTALLY UNDERSTANDING OUR CONCERNS AND ADDRESSING OUR DOGS' NEEDS HOLISTICALLY.

WE HAVE SEEN IMMEDIATE IMPROVEMENT IN BOTH OUR DOGS' BEHAVIOUR, NOT JUST IN THEIR SIBLING RIVALRY, BUT IN THEIR GENERAL ATTITUDE AND DEMEANOUR. THE WHOLE FAMILY, INCLUDING THE DOGS, IS MUCH HAPPIER AND MORE RELAXED.

WE TOTALLY RECOMMEND ALEX AND BARK BUSTERS.

Trainer note from Alex:
I really enjoyed working with these two bulldogs. It was however clear that the female thought she was not only in charge of her brother, but she also thought she was in charge of the house. It is really important in sibling rivalry cases that both dogs are viewed and treated equally and in turn they see their owner as a solid pack leader. The first session went really well and I can't wait to visit them again soon. Keep up the good work!

More reviews about Alex Fraser


V.T.
ROCHDALE, Greater Manchester

20th February 2014

Estelle Jackson dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Very pleased with the training. Estelle was very easy to work with and I feel we achieved a lot during the first session. Estelle explained why Bruno was reacting to certain situations and how to correct this behaviour

More reviews about Estelle Jackson


A.H.
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire

18th February 2014

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise

We were given very clear instructions on how to help our dog overcome fear aggression and the constant barking at people / dogs passing our house. She has really improved already, especially with the barking - it is a lot more peaceful in our house now. We were given plenty of opportunities to ask questions and feel that help is there if we need it. I would recommend Bark Busters to anyone that has issues with their dog.

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


J.C.
Cullompton, Devon

17th February 2014

David and Anthony Swindells dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead

We are very pleased with the training, David gave clear instructions and worked through each step of the training with us. Also having our homework to do which is backed up by training notes is extremely helpful, as it is a lot to take in at the time.It's not about training her so much as training us. Looking forward to continuing training with David's help and guidance.

More reviews about David and Anthony Swindells


L.S.
Whittlesey, Cambridgeshire

17th February 2014

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead
Photo of R.G.'s dog

Kevin was very informative and professional: he talked us through the root causes of the problems, explained where we were going wrong and gave us logical and effective methods to resolve the issues. He was friendly, caring and never patronising.

We were really appreciative of him taking the time to drive down to us, and also loved meeting Russell.

We have seen a marked improvement in Bali already - he has stopped barking in the car and at our neighbour and this is only day two. We hope he and our neighbour will become friends soon!

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


R.G.
Truro, Cornwall

15th February 2014

Jacquie Callaby dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Toileting Other
Photo of A.T.'s dog

Jacqui is always very personable and knowledgeable with answers, thinking outside the box for solutions/ ideas. She was quick to suss out Mojito's personality and how best to get us to stop being passively lead.

More reviews about Jacquie Callaby


A.T.
Guildford, Surrey

12th February 2014

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Other
Photo of C.C.'s dog

Excellent presentation by Kevin. We found his instruction very easy to follow and covered the points that we were concerned about, it was easy to relay to the dogs and showed good results from the start. We are confident that the training will overcome the problems we had.

We found Kevin very personable and are very glad that we used your company.

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


C.C.
Porthleven, Cornwall

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training