Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

1st February 2014

Tina Edwards dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called
Photo of J.T.'s dog

Tina gave us good advice on diet and training which we have been following up. Rosie is already much improved. Tina is coming to us again next week.

Trainer note from Tina:
Rosie is a young Whippet who, living in the countryside, decided that pregnant sheep were great fun to play with!! There was no aggression whatsoever, but obviously she needs to be taught that stock chasing is not acceptable! I worked with her owner putting the basics in place and am now returning to do some more work, if ready we will take her to meet the sheep again to work on her owners control and recall. She will be on a long lead for this to ensure safety for all.

More reviews about Tina Edwards


J.T.
Wittersham, Kent

1st February 2014

Lee Hardy dealt with: Puppy Management

Excellent therapist. Professional and very friendly. Answered all our questions.

More reviews about Lee Hardy


G.F.
breaston, Derbyshire

1st February 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of G.S.'s dog

We were amazed, we had trainers before, they usually gave up on our Dobies or we refused to have them as they suggested methods like ear pinching or hitting them, or ignoring them in general unless we give commands (why would you have a pet and ignore it?). So Alex came and took his time, there was no rush, we had coffee while he observed how the dogs interacted with each other and us, sometimes he told us to give them a command and just watched how they responded and took his time to assess the character of each dog and their trigger points.

He spent 4 or 5 hours with us, part of it was inside training, we started a bit on outside training and lead training (our biggest problem) and I was surprised how well the dogs responded. All in all he kept it fun for the dogs and us, so my other half didn't even mind missing the Welsh Rugby game (and he is Welsh), and the dogs loved it as much as we did. We keep joking that the dog body snatcher was around and replaced our dogs with those obedient creatures.

Both dogs are rehomed and have issues as they went through several homes, I can't praise Alex enough for getting inside their heads and treating each dog the way it would respond the most, not the usual "one fits all" approach, but tailoring it to the needs of each dog, sussing out the communication between them, and what we thought were major problems and lots of work was really just minimal adjustments we had to make to communicate better with the dogs (and train the dogs versus the dogs training us). All in all, Alex possibly trained us more than the dogs, but that helps the dogs to understand the commands better. And as I said before, it was so much fun that we look forward to the next lesson, because it doesn't seem to be hard work but fun for us and the dogs.

After less than a day we don't have to chase them off the furniture, they understand they aren't allowed on it and happily settle in their beds, don't snatch treats but wait until they are told to take them.

The life long guarantee seems like a really good deal, as in the past we spent a lot more on trainers who eventually walked out or tried to use methods that seemed simply cruel (causing the animal pain if they refused to cooperate), Alex showed us that it's not just correction but also praise that counts, and yes, they do respond!

Doberman's are amazing dogs but quite strong willed and a bit overly sensitive, I think Alex achieved more in one afternoon than most trainers achieved in months. I haven't seen my dogs that happy and content without being exhausted myself, as Alex explained, it's important to stimulate brains and body.

I deliberately didn't clear the remains of our dinner but told the dogs no (along with the growl Alex showed us when they tried to sniff it), and we left it there and went to another room. Surprise, the dogs didn't take it (previously unheard of as they are skilled thieves and robbers).

I'm so looking forward to the next training session, Alex doesn't believe in breaking a dog's character or spirit (unlike our previous trainers) but working with it, to achieve the desired results. Our dogs are still their quirky selves, just much better behaved than they were. Since this is the result of just ONE session, I'm almost scared that the dogs will have much better manners than we do after a few sessions.

And yes, I would recommend him to anybody without reservations!

Trainer note from Alex:
I couldn't have summed up what the training is about better myself, thank you. As with anything, you only get out what you put in, and you must also take credit, as success is also down to you and your hard work and dedication. All four of you are a pleasure to work with and I look forward to our next session.

More reviews about Alex Fraser


G.S.
Macclesfield, Cheshire

31st January 2014

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

We had a really good session on 29th January. Hazel quickly responded to Kevin in a very positive way, and started to get the hang of what he was teaching her and me. Kevin was kind and patient with both of us. We had some success with the first collar, but the next day I saw Kevin again and bought a cannie collar, which gives me much more control, making both Hazel and me more confident and happier when road walking. We are looking forward to a calmer and more enjoyable future together.

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


R.W.
Chagford, Devon

31st January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Digging Other
Photo of A.G.'s dog

Alex was a real pleasant guy who appeared really interested in our issues with Marley. He asked lots of questions to get as much information as needed to help us help Marley.

He did not rush in anyway and was very methodical and explained in great detail all possible resolutions.

Alex offered us the opportunity to call him at any point to discuss any issues or to arrange any further visits to our home. Before he left he did an in depth re-cap of his visit to re-enforce his session.

He was an all round happy, enthusiastic guy and most importantly interested in helping us.

He is a total credit to Barkbusters

Trainer note from Alex:
Marley's owners used Bark Busters around five years ago and they achieved great results. In the last 12 months however, following 2 new additions to their family, Marley started to demonstrate some frustrating behavioural traits. The 'Life Time Guarantee' meant that although I didn't carry out the initial sessions, I visited them at no further charge to help them with Marley. It is important to note how impressed I was with Marley's overall behaviour and the control his owners demonstrated. They did however need help with a couple of issues and I was delighted I was able to help.

More reviews about Alex Fraser


A.G.
Salford, Greater Manchester

29th January 2014

Lee Hardy dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

Lee was excellent, he gave me some valuable ideas and was very patient.

More reviews about Lee Hardy


C.B.
Coventry, West Midlands

29th January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

From the first session with Alex, it's like we have a different puppy. We now use the techniques Alex taught us all and the passive leadership checklist is used daily. We can't wait for our next family session this weekend. Thank you Alex Fraser.

Trainer note from Alex:
Woody was your typical boisterous English Bull Terrier and when I first met him he definitely thought he ruled the roost. What really pleased me about his family was that they all wanted to learn and work with Woody. It is really important that Woody identifies all 3 members of his family as solid pack leaders, so that he listens and does as he is told for all of them. It is therefore crucial that they are all consistent so that he doesn't receive any mixed messages. I honestly couldn't believe how much calmer he was when I returned for our second session and I look forward to see what further progress has been made when I visit them again. Keep up the good work.

More reviews about Alex Fraser


A.M.
whitworth, Rochdale, Lancashire

28th January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Separation Anxiety

George is our first dog. He is a rescue dog and had really not had the best start in life. We didn't know where to start or how to deal with our new hyper active addition - especially when we tried to walk him. He would bark at absolutely everything. Alex was very sympathetic to our needs and was extremely supportive. He was honest about how much work we would need to put in to make George a happy and secure little dog, but as the weeks progressed we really started to see a difference. He very quickly stopped trying to dart out of the front door when somebody came to visit and his walking on the lead has really improved. We are so happy. Thank you Alex

Trainer note from Alex:
George had some real behavioural issues which stemmed from the way he was treated during the first two years of his life. It was crucial that his family followed my instructions to the letter week in week out - and continue to do so. His behaviour quickly started to improve, but it is important to note that it can take months sometimes to reprogram a dog to make it realise where it sits in the family pack and to feel safe and secure at all times.

More reviews about Alex Fraser


E.S.
Whitefield, Greater Manchester

27th January 2014

David and Anthony Swindells dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of S.N.'s dog

It was our first session with David and to be honest we didn't think our head strong rescue dog 'Monty' had much chance of been helped. How wrong could we have been. After only 2 hrs we realised that we had been the main issue, totally confusing the poor little man with his position in the pack! We had instant positive albeit sulky results which have continued over the weekend to the extent whilst taking Monty for a walk yesterday 2 dogs off their leads approached Monty, which normally resulted in him wanting to play dominantly but he didn't they were the aggressors, with Monty looking at us for his protection. This action completely shocked us but has given us a positive outlook for the future of our happy little family. Really looking forward to our next session with David.

More reviews about David and Anthony Swindells


S.N.
Beeston, Nottinghamshire

26th January 2014

Tina Edwards dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety
Photo of C.P.'s dog

Was really beneficial, 3hrs of very useful tips and training methods which seems to have already had an effect on the boys.

Trainer note from Tina:
Two boys who unknown to their family, were barking and howling when left which resulted in an official letter from the Council and a very upset neighbour. We started working calmly on showing the boys that they have no need to worry about being on their own, but will be setting up to record to assess if there are any external triggers setting them off. Early days, but we will try various regime changes until we find the one that works.

More reviews about Tina Edwards


C.P.
Hadlow, Kent

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training