Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

1st November 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety

Brilliant day Jo was with us for 5 hours and got the whole family involved. We had lots of fun & learnt lots and lots, have been putting what we learnt into practice and it has really helped. Using the “watch” technique has really helped with Hendrix’s fear and aggression towards Chloe. Chloe is improving daily and family life is much improved. Now that the issue of the incorrect e-mail address has been sorted out the follow up help has been really good too. Thanks Jo we are all looking forward to the next session.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This family had 2 dogs, Hendrix and Chloe and when they got a lovely new puppy Roxy they decided it was time to get some help for Hendrix and Chloe so Roxy wouldn’t copy their behaviour. Hendrix is very noise sensitive and when triggered by noise he would turn his frustration onto Chloe and the two dogs would squabble and fight. This can be viewed as sibling rivalry, but the source of the aggression is not actually rivalry and requires a different type of management within the family so the dogs don’t fight. The family have made great progress to date and I am looking forward to continuing to work with them on tackling all of their doggy issues.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


A.M.
Rayleigh, Essex

31st October 2013

Tina Edwards dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Tina was excellent - very easy to follow and also very understanding of our various issues/problems. She worked really well with me, my husband and also my young children to ensure we knew how to handle our dog and take back control!

Trainer note from Tina:
A young Border Terrier who was treating the children like other puppies, chasing and biting at their feet when they were playing in the garden. The whole family took on board all the information and training methods I showed them, and helped the children to understand the best way to behave to stop her from getting over excited with them. Next session will deal with her trying to escape from the front door!!

More reviews about Tina Edwards


C.B.
Merstham, Surrey

31st October 2013

Sharon Chapman dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Separation Anxiety

Sharon was very knowledgeable about the behavioural problems which Eddie has and which training techniques to use. The training techniques are straight forward to follow and dog friendly which I wanted. I was also very impressed that Eddie was responding to the training straight away. Thanks Sharon

More reviews about Sharon Chapman


M.M.
West Kirby, Wirral, Merseyside

30th October 2013

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household
Photo of W.L.'s dog

Excellent! So helpful, reassuring and nothing was too much trouble. I've learnt so much already, my dogs have responded very well and we are well on the way to being a happy family again!

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


W.L.
Taunton, Somerset

29th October 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Other
Photo of D.A.'s dog

We did really thought we tried it all, but after a sleepless thundery night with the dog jumping on the bed scratching us etc I decided to e-mail Barkbusters. We'd never get rid of our dog, but we definitely needed help with his fear of noises.

Our Border Collie Darcy is now 11 years old and over recent years developed fears of fireworks and thunder. He always had a hate for noise, as when he was a pup he had to deal with refurbishing works a couple of houses down, which probably progressed over the years to this. I did try the famous noise desensitizing, but our dog seemed to know it was fake. I thought I was going mad, but Jo confirmed I wasn't. Being a Border Collie he is too smart for his own good in a way and indeed knows fully well it isn't real and therefore doesn't feel the same threat. Hence a cd becomes useless, instead we got the advice of using something else that triggers him to train him. Eg the hoover, the one thing all dogs appear to hate. He expressed his fear differently (barking, trying to nip it), but in the end it's fear.

We tried DAP before but didn't appear to get the result the product claimed we would have. Turns out the only thing we did right with it was plug it in. What is needed together with the product is someone that helps with how to use it all round to get that success. We created him a safe space as advised by Jo around the Dap diffuser, leave his treats in there every night and noticed this area is now his own chosen safe place. He retreats to this area when he hears a bang and we won't see him till he is ready to return. We put on his thunderjacket everyday as well and this also appears to have a calming effect on him. Again it is a tool that only works if you know how, which we now know. :) The dog needs to associate it as "wonderful" first, not as "I am terrified and now I am dealing with my owner as well trying to put something I don't know on me!"

T-touch was explained to us as well and this really calms him down. Similar to a massage or meditation with humans.

I don't think we're out of the woods yet (we were told honestly there are no quick fixes), but we are definitely on our way. Still not looking forward to bonfire night, but I think we will actually cope better than other years.

Day by day, step by step we'll get there.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Border Collies are known for noise sensitivity. They are bred to have acute hearing and in some poor dogs this very acuteness can mean that any crash bang and wallop can send them into a frenzy of fear. Darcys' owners really had tried it all in their bid to help their dog. Much of the advice was correct - using CD's or other "noises" that trigger him so he can become de-sensitised, but that doesn't work with all dogs (Darcy being a case in point) and they really were at their wits end. Fortunately for Darcy he had owners who were willing to work on a whole program to provide a true safe place for him and the use of a range of calming exercises (where to go when frightened), techniques (calming touch) and products (a DAP diffuser and Thundershirt). They have had great results with all the recent Thunderstorms and are now fully prepared for fireworks (including already dealing with the early bangs we always get from keen firework buyers!) You can't stop a noise sensitive dog being noise sensitive, but you can prevent the extremes Darcys owners were dealing with (trying to dig his way through walls for example)and make Thunderstorms and Fireworks night a lot less frightening for a dog. It has been a real pleasure to get Darcy's owner updates and hear how well he is doing. It proves that even an older dog can have a much better quality of life when he has caring and thoughtful owners willing to help their noise sensitive dog.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


D.A.
Billericay, Essex

29th October 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of D.P.'s dog

Cosmo is a fun loving little boy and we like to encourage his curiosity and playful nature, so we didn't want an oppressive training which would knock the stuffing out of him. As he is a SBT, however, it is important for us to be in control as sadly SBTs have a poor and unjust reputation.

Alex explained a few simple techniques and taught us the way to make Cosmo see us as in charge and not himself!!! This was a break through and something which made complete sense to us. This allowed us to take the training on board easily and it felt intuitive once we started.

Alex himself is a star, he spent time understanding Cosmo and delivered training which he thought Cosmo would understand and respond to. It didn't feel like it was "one training fits all".

After only 2 visits we and Alex feel Cosmo has come on leaps and bounds but let's admit it now, it's John and I who have come on leaps and bounds really. We are now the pack leaders Cosmo needs so he can enjoy life understanding John and I are in control. I wonder if it will work on John too :o

Trainer note from Alex:
Cosmo, like so many other SBTs I have worked with, is an absolute delight. It's been a pleasure to work with Cosmo and his owners, retaining all the fun, just building in the boundaries all dogs want and need to be happy, confident and well adjusted.
Job well done on your part guys. Cosmo is a shining example of a SBT that will do his breed proud.

Regarding partner training, I recommend my wife. 😉

More reviews about Alex Fraser


D.P.
Middlewich, Cheshire

29th October 2013

Tina Edwards dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Very impressed. Kind, gentle teaching produced instant results. We have the back up of a lifetime guarantee so were a different set of circumstances to occur, our adaptation would be supported.

Trainer note from Tina:
A standard poodle who had been rescued, a few year's ago, but had decided to get attention by being very vocal and physical! Not aggressive at all, but behaving like a badly mannered child! We changed the method of communication to voice and body language and he naturally understood this so was able to respond by refraining from his previous naughty behaviour and got lots of praise and attention on his owners terms and not his!

More reviews about Tina Edwards


J.K.
Merstham, Surrey

28th October 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety

Chloe was a rescue dog, 9 years old, with no history and a lot of problems. She was testing boundaries, jumping all over the place, hated other dogs and suffered from separation anxiety. My partner and I were at a loss of what to do - we adored her but her behaviour was very challenging. Just taking her for a walk was giving me a stress headache.

Alex really helped. He showed us techniques for calming her down (90% improvement in the home!) and for when we were out walking her. She really is a better behaved, happier dog.

I don't think we are ever going to completely resolve her fear of other dogs (I hate to think what happened in the past to her) but because I can control her, understand the signs and feel an awful lot calmer after working with Alex, walking her is nearly a stress free experience.

Trainer note from Alex:
Chloe has a real fear of other dogs and was extremely hyper in the home. I am delighted with how she has progressed since I have been working with her and her owners. Some behavioural issues such as fear of other dogs can take a long time to resolve, but in order to do so it is crucial that the owner manages the situation. Staying calm on walks when a dog's adrenalin kicks in is vital. With a consistent and calm approach I am confident that she will continue to improve so that both Chloe and her owners can enjoy their walks. Keep up the good work.

More reviews about Alex Fraser


E.N.
Sale, Cheshire

28th October 2013

Lee Hardy dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise

The training was well explained and demonstrated and Ozzy responded well.

More reviews about Lee Hardy


V.M.
Alcester, Warwickshire

28th October 2013

Neil Price dealt with: Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called
Photo of T.B.'s dog

Thought Neil was very knowledgeable - too early for anything else!

More reviews about Neil Price


T.B.
Warrington, Cheshire

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training