Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

3rd December 2017

Lynn Prentice dealt with: Other

Lynn was very helpful and gave lots of tips and ideas Lynn is very personable and Marley liked her

More reviews about Lynn Prentice


M.L.
Stansted, Essex

1st December 2017

Sharon Chapman dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks
Photo of N.C.'s dog

My dog Missy is so giddy and just after 1hr 30mins of training and me doing more this morning I can’t believe the change in Missy it is amazing thank you so much Sharon

More reviews about Sharon Chapman


N.C.
Kinmel bay, Conwy

30th November 2017

Shauna Hoey dealt with: Puppy Management

Shauna has helped us to understand Reggie's behaviour and to respond consistently. He has learnt his boundaries in the home and responds well when out and about. I would recommend her to anyone. Reg definitely knows she is the boss and never dares to misbehave during sessions! Shauna is always available to offer support and advice .

More reviews about Shauna Hoey


C.W.
Coulsdon, Surrey

29th November 2017

Gina Hinsley dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity

Gina has really helped us understand Max's behaviour. She suggested a change to a raw food diet would help him with his hyperactivity and we were amazed at the results, he is so much calmer now. Following her training advice he is also becoming less of the leader of the pack and is listening to us more. Early days but so glad we contacted Barkbusters.

More reviews about Gina Hinsley


A.P.
Whitminster, Gloucestershire

29th November 2017

David and Anthony Swindells dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Other

Very impressed with the first session. Everything has been explained and Molly has responded well to the training. I am looking forward to the next session.

More reviews about David and Anthony Swindells


J.M.
PETERBOROUGH, Cambridgeshire

29th November 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of M.G.'s dog

A breath of fresh air after a stressful couple of weeks ! Jo arrived to having Buddy come out of another room to him barking and quite threatening. He calmed down quite quickly. Buddy is a rescue dog , Maltese, we have for 7 weeks. After 3 weeks he had bitten a grandchild and 3 weeks later a second grandchild. 2 nights before the visit he had bitten my partner and the night before the visit had bitten me.

Jo identified his problems, he was ‘ resource guarding ‘ when he bit my partner ( he had approached his bed and food ) and when I was trying to clean his teardrop stains Jo identified that he didn’t like handling and was scared. Buddy had been groomed 2 weeks previously. This had obviously stressed him.

He would get very stressed when we were leaving him, so we thought, but Jo told us this was excitement as he thought he was going out with us. We have been given detailed exercises to carry out with Buddy. Lots of information and tips.Jo was very relaxed during visit, made us feel at ease, took time to listen and answer all of our questions. Never did we feel her time was up ! she was supportive encouraging and very professional. Didn’t know when we booked if this was the right path for us, but would highly recommend this to anyone who has any concerns about their dogs behaviour. Thank you Jo !

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Buddy was a "pound dog" who was picked up off the street and rehomed by a rescue once his 7 days were up. His fur was horribly matted and he was in a very poor condition when he came to his new owners. Rehomed dogs have often been traumatised and it takes time for new owners to build the trust of their dog and for the dog to be confident in meeting visitors. Handling can be very scary and Buddy had been very distressed by the essential grooming he previously needed. He clearly loves to spend time with his new owners so it will take time to break it down so he can learn that handling will not hurt him. He is worried by the male owner approaching what he regarded as precious (his bed and toys). This is not personal. Dogs often guard important items like bones and the solution is to make approaches to him safe and non threatening. Rehomed dogs do often have separation anxiety as they fear abandonment, but Buddy does settle when he is left. However, he gets very excited when people leave. He jumps and nips rather like a young puppy does and can also do this to get his owners attention. The owner did not see the biting of the grandchildren but he was trying to get attention after playing at the time. Safety precautions have been put in place (play pen and dog gates) so that Buddy can be supervised closely alongside training to get his focus. These owners have taken on a dog who has a lot of needs, but are willing to do the large amount of work that is required. He responded extremely well on the day and I am confident that over time they will have a much happier and more settled dog. They acknowledge that they will always have to take precautions so that he is not triggered to bite and are happy to do so as responsible dog owners.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


M.G.
London

27th November 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead Other

Graham spent 4 hours with us -it was a very thorough, focused and useful session. I liked how Graham tailored it to what we needed most and took a holistic approach to all the factors affecting Archie's anxiety. He was very careful, thoughtful and affectionate with Archie which is the most important thing for us.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Archie is a 10 month old Whippet. He became very nervous after castration which can happen when a dogs testosterone levels are reduced. He found it particularly challenging to meet strange dogs especially when on the lead. His owners are now rebuilding his confidence and teaching him how to behave appropriately. This is not a quick fix for fearful dog, but he is making good progress.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


C.C.
Hackney, London

27th November 2017

Lee Hardy dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting

Lee gave us lots of advice and training techniques with Dewi's food and behaviour to start off with as this was his first visit. The things Lee advised us to do regarding the nibbling and jumping up, was quite a success straightaway and after Lee had gone we had quite a good response from our 5 month old puppy when we carried out what he had told us to do. Not been able to control our dog hardly at all when he keeps chewing things and jumping up and biting, even though he thinks he is only playing. So it has been a bit of nightmare at times. This technique, even in its early stages, seems to be working so it will make a big difference. Lee explains everything in a very straightforward way. He has made me feel confident about actually getting somewhere with the training instead of feeling like it has been 1 step forward and 2 back.

More reviews about Lee Hardy


S.F.
Kilburn, Derbyshire

27th November 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called
Photo of M.B.'s dog

We could not be happier with the outcome of our first training session!! Jo is incredibly hands on, non judgmental, straight talking and really takes the time to listen to your concerns.

Jo also appreciates that every dog and family are different and that training sometimes needs a flexible approach to work for everyone. We will be working hard now to put everything on to practice (Jo makes everything look so easy!) And it is... once you have mastered things :)

I can’t recommend Jo highly enough. She has given us the tools and confidence to ensure that we guide Teddy to being a happy, fun loving (but obedient) dog.

Thanks Jo for everything. We look forward to seeing you again in a months time!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners have a lovely Labradoodle who is a typical high energy adolescent dog. They have done some good basic training, but this was coming a little unstuck as he grew into a teenager who was pushing the boundaries. This is always difficult because dog training is not "one size fits all". It has to take into account the dog, its nature, how quick he or she learns and what environment the dog is living in. Teddy is very bright and responded really well to guidance and focus work. He loves to please and once he knew what was wanted he was really eager to engage in training.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


M.B.
Charlton, London

24th November 2017

Aaron Noble dealt with: Puppy Management Toileting
Photo of L.O.'s dog

Fantastic first meeting with Aaron who was so calm and kind to our very timid 9mth old Bedlington Terrier that we have just got.

We can’t thank Aaron enough for the time he spent with her and the encouragement he gave us. We can’t wait until our next meeting for more great hints and sound advice.

More reviews about Aaron Noble


L.O.
Altrincham, Cheshire

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training