Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

2nd April 2012

Sharon Chapman dealt with: Digging Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Good advice given.

More reviews about Sharon Chapman


JR
Wrexham

1st April 2012

Phillip Gazzard dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Dear Barkbusters,

After reading the recent article in the Sunday Times about 'racist dogs', I wanted to take the opportunity to thank you for finally bringing some public awareness to this problem.

Last year, I adopted a 3 year old rescue wire-haired dachshund called Lula, who came to me with a huge list of problems such as persistent barking, pulling on the lead, aggression towards other dogs, aggression towards visitors and family including biting one of my children, chewing things when left alone and constantly scavenging for food when out on walks.

However, worse than any of these was Lula's apparent racism.

Living in South London you can understand that keeping Lula was becoming untenable. My black friends hated my dog and I needed to cage her when they come round. Her aggression was horrendous, and she clearly and obviously picked out black people, especially black men wearing hats. I was being labelled as someone who had a racist dog.

The article in the Sunday Times really rang true for me, and I am so relieved that I am not the only person with this very awkward problem. Although Phillip Gazzard (who has been patiently and wisely helping me with Lula's list of problems) had told me it was more common than I thought, to see it reported in a national newspaper has given me a huge sense of relief and has made me believe that I can tackle the problem with Lula, and that she isn't actually racist, just afraid of things she has never come across before.

Since my first 3 hour lesson with Phillip, Lula is a totally different dog. Phillip's knowledge about dog psychology and diet has meant that I now fully understand the reasoning behind Lula's behaviour but most importantly what I need to do to resolve her behavioural issues. It has also meant that my children feel so much happier with Lula being around and being part of the family.

Lula took a slight step backwards recently when we moved house, which was clearly very unsettling for her, but Phillip has been back to help (thankfully I opted for the Gold Service!!!!) and will be coming back again soon to help with the final issue to tackle; that of fear of other dogs.

Phillip is just lovely and is an extremely knowledgeable and professional teacher, which has meant that I now have the confidence and also know the techniques to solve Lula's issues. I've always known that she is a lovely dog, but it's thanks to Barkbusters and especially Phillip Gazzard that I can now start fully enjoying her.

With best wishes and many many thanks

H. U (Clapham London)


Mrs H. U
Clapham, London, SW4

31st March 2012

Tina Edwards dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management

Less Hyperactivity, good improvement in behaviour, less barking and less jumping up.

Trainer note from Tina:
This is a lovely young Golden Retriever pup, lively and friendly. I showed his owners how to deal with the behahaviours they wanted to control, general management including diet. I saw him again today and he's so much calmer and more responsive and we worked on his leadwork, giving up items and preventing him from keep picking up stuff from the street!

More reviews about Tina Edwards


Mr and Mrs N T
Tunbridge Wells, Kent

31st March 2012

Kim Lummis dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise

Everything was explained and demonstrated in a calm and easy manner. We were suprised at home well Eddie responded. He will need a lot of work but we can see a willing well behaved dog starting to emerge.


S & P R
Brighton, East Sussex

31st March 2012

Steve Smithson dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Recall or not coming when called

Steve was pleasant, patient, kind and professional. He explained everything in an easy to understand way and never made us feel 'judged' about the way we'd treated Billy that had resulted in certain undesirable traits. After explaining what we needed to do he then demonstrated it and we could immediately see the change. Bark Busters approach is so much better than obedience training as it tackles doggy 'attitude' resulting in (hopefully) a permanent change in Behaviour rather than a temporary one relying on treats. We're very happy customers.


J.R.
Blackpool, Lancashire

30th March 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

I have had outstanding results with both of my dogs. Madison my Jack Russell is showing a lot less aggression to my family and the other animals. My cat had to be caged when she was about and I can now let them out together. I also had issues with barking with both dogs when people passed the window with or without dogs. Jo has taught me how to control them and now we no longer have issues with this any more. There are a few issues remaining but obviously there was never going to be a quick fix for everything so I am working with Jo to overcome these. I have been a Vet Nurse for about 5 years and am always encouraging my clients to ask for behaviourist advice. I regret not asking for help sooner but am so pleased that I did.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This Veterinary Nurse had been told to put her Jack Russell Madison down because of the aggression to humans and other animals. Her and her family couldn't bear to do this and put up with 6 years of Madison having a go at them and visitors. They have done a wonderful job making her Jack Russell and her Chihuahua much more happy and secure and it is a delight to see the progress made in such a short time.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


DF
Dagenham, Essex

29th March 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

Axel was a well behaved young dog before my partner moved in, He then became disobedient and aggressive towards both of us and started pulling on the lead and jumping up more and more. Jo spent time to understand and observe Axels behaviour and showed us several techniques including \"bah\" that had almost instant positive responses and Axel seemed prepared to listen again. Jo also identified how my partner could modify his behaviour to establish himself in the pack order. I now have a much happier, less aggressive and stressed dog that loves and responds to both of us.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Axel is a fabulous Boxer dog that is full of energy and fun. His behaviour can be compared to a teenage strop when his owners\' partner moved in. He didn\'t like the changes and made it very plain in the way dogs communicate, i.e. jumping up, growling and using his teeth. He simply needed to know where he stood and his owner and her partners\' careful handling turned Axel around very quickly and he is now back to the fantastic family pet he was before. All credit is due to his owner and her partner for respecting their dog and ensuring he has felt safe and secure again.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


AF & PC
Wickford, Essex

29th March 2012

Lynn Prentice dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management

Hermes is responding well to training. Lynn was very good at giving clear instructions and practical demonstrations.We were surprised at the speed our dog responded. We were told that Hermes may have lapses but to persevere which we have done and things are now a lot calmer.

More reviews about Lynn Prentice


Mrs K.
Berkhampstead Hertfordshire

27th March 2012

Tina Edwards dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead

Tina was really helpful and explained everything very clearly to us. I was really impressed with how well she worked with Holly. Holly has started to make some improvements on lead as we have been following Tina's techniques closely. We are all really looking forward to meeting Tina again, as I can see she is really going to help me, my partner and Holly. Thanks Tina

Trainer note from Tina:
Holly is a rescue SBT and is a very sweet natured girl. She has some aggression to dogs, due to her anxiety/fear of how to respond. So we are in the process of teaching her that her owners make the decisions that they will ensure her safety so that she can walk in a relaxed and calm way around other dogs.

More reviews about Tina Edwards


Miss C W
Maidstone, Kent

27th March 2012

Lorna MacKay dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

Very impressed with Lorna and given confidence in dealing with problems. Good personalised plan given with follow up.


Mr. R. E
Coatbridge

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2018 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training