Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

13th June 2010

Lynn Prentice dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

Bark Busters has made a very noisy and at times unmanageable household back to a calm household. Thank you

Trainer note from Lynn:
The Lhasa Apso is this house was very very vocal about visitors coming into the house. We needed to explain to her that this was not a decision she was allowed to make. I am going back to see her and her Cocker Spaniel friend this week and I am expecting a peaceful welcome.

More reviews about Lynn Prentice


K. A.
St Albans, Herts

11th June 2010

Craig Steiff dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

We saw an immediate improvement in our dogs behaviour even during the first session with Craig.

Craig gave us clear instructions and guidance which our dog has continued to respond to. Having tried various training methods in the past, this has worked better than anything else we've tried, and we'd recommend Craig to others.


JW
Wandsworth, London SW18

10th June 2010

Kim Lummis dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

It's difficult to believe that we re-homed our terrier cross almost ten months ago, after losing another much-loved, re-homed terrier. H had been found as a stray, in a poorly condition and was very unsettled confined in kennels, yelping and fretting and the staff at the Dog's Trust wanted to find him a loving home, ASAP. Having managed to calm and train our previous, three-times re-homed, hyperactive tear-away, we felt able to take on another dog that needed more than the usual dedication. After several rather frantic walks, he came on a visit to our home; he cutely offered each of us his paw, lay down quietly, sighed blissfully and fell asleep... for hours! We couldn't send him back, he had decided to stay! After all, he was quiet, calm and happy in our house.

However, we soon realised that there was more to this dog than initially met the eye..or should I say, 'ear... and it gradually sank in that his unsettled, noisy behaviour was a deep-rooted, stressful pattern that had become his way of coping with everyday events! As soon as we went outside, he began to whimper and squeak, pulling frantically ahead and looking over his shoulder, to see what might be there....although he was desperate to get in the car, once in there, he yelped incessantly, in an unbearably high pitch...NOTHING would stop him...he could keep it up forever! When he spotted another dog, he would throw himself about, barking, lunging on the lead, often taking us off balance, with the lead cutting our hands. Owners would 'tut' and turn the other way, protecting their poor pooches, making critical comments about our lack of control - we felt terrible...embarrassed...pathetic.

Not to be beaten, we persevered, with strict codes of behaviour, eating first, restricting areas of the house, ignoring until we were ready to pet/play, whistles, rattling tins, squirting collars, DAP collars, zylkene recommended at the vets...you name it, we tried it....and spent a fortune along the way! We read articles, training books, talked to experienced dog-owners...the noise and stress continued...frustration...exhaustion.. to the point of tears ..but still determination not to give up on this loyal soul, who had decided he loved us!

We needed help! We would have to acknowledge the problems were too great for even us! We emailed Kim...a kind, non-pressurising email arrived by return...we weighed up the money already spent, the hours of time and the strain it was putting on the family. Common sense prevailed. Enter Kim!

Kim was friendly, calm, assertive, non-judgmental and supportive. She made it clear that we would have to work hard and be consistent and we were happy to do so. We saw some changes after the first session but remained a little sceptical about permanent improvements. However, following advice to CHANGE HIS DIET, the results began to shine... sheer enjoyment of ALL meals, instead of picking nervously, much calmer and far less, smelly mess! We worked on the simple training exercises and began to see results. We had some good days and some very bad ones. One bad day, I called Kim in the evening and she was here the next morning, calmly and intently listening to our concerns, observing him in action and giving us sound advice, to address each and every issue. All advice was realistic, manageable and written up, for our reference. Kim has now spent four long sessions with us, patiently addressing every issue raised and importantly, giving us the strength to persevere! She is very knowledgeable, always has an answer and although our dog has some way to go before taking the medal for Crufts obedience, with Kim's help, he has been able show us that he IS capable of being a calm, well-behaved dog, that we can really enjoy....at last! He now sits for his collar to be put on, quietly moves away from people entering, walks to heel, sits quietly in the car for reasonable lengths of time and most importantly, is beginning to really ENJOY HIS LIFE, rather than 'sweating the small stuff'!

I would fully recommend Kim Lummis to anyone with dog behaviour problems and feel that she has offered impressive value, through her on-going, comprehensive, excellent quality support. Thank you Kim!


B.H.
Littlehampton, West Sussex

8th June 2010

Phillip Gazzard dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

Phillip has worked miracles with Charley and I really cannot thank him enough for the splendid assistance (and patience!) he has given us. I am very impressed..!


Mrs C. H.
Mayfair, London

8th June 2010

Craig Steiff dealt with: Puppy Management

We found Bark Busters via Google. Having read the testimonials, we contacted Bark Busters and were immediately impressed by their professionalism. We were even more impressed by Craig Steiff, who is the trainer assigned to us. Craig's knowledge, professionalism and training skills are excellent, and 'Ming' our Chow Chow puppy is responding very well to the training techniques we are taught. We can highly recommend Bark Busters and Craig Steiff. Thank you guys!


CB & JB
Maida Vale, London NW8

7th June 2010

Lee Hardy dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead

Very pleased with results so far. Everything was explained clearly, and we can definitely see the difference in Koda's behaviour. He seems to be a far more relaxed and happy dog and also enjoys fuss more than he used to

More reviews about Lee Hardy


G.B
Swadlincote, South Derbyshire

6th June 2010

Tina Edwards dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Halfway through the session I thought it was going to be "worth every penny". We had a lovely peaceful afternoon after Tina left and noticed a change in Barney immediately. When getting ready to take Barney for a walk, he no longer barks his head off and just hovvers by me instead which is a fantastic improvement. When I come home I ignore him and my other dog and thereafter greet them when I amy ready thus avoiding another barking session. Further, he has not woken us up in the early hours of the morning wanting attention which is terrific! We were able to have a lie in this weekend! Co-incidentally, he doesn't pull as much on the lead even though Tina is coming back to address this problem as we ran out of time on her visit on 30th May. I am looking forward to being shown the walking techinques and to know that when winter comes I won't be pulled along treacherous pavements! Tina also confirmed our suspicions in that Barney is partially deaf, so I have bought a dog whistle and we know to be aware of his deafness to emphasise hand signals. When I went to see my dog sitter for tea/chat on Friday, the Yorkshire terrier she was looking after kept yapping and so I applied the correct/praise technique and silence was golden. Everytime she started to yap I did the technique and my dog sitter was extremely impressed. I have given her a leaflet to pass onto another of her customers as that person has a dog who is in charge on the lead! A BIG thank you to Tina.

Trainer note from Tina:
I am always happy that people will take on an older dog and Barney at 11 yrs, was taken on as a companion to the owners existing older female. But Barney was causing huge problems both for his owners and neighbours with his random and incessant barking, and as a result was getting anxious himself. Because we use body language as well as voice it wasn't difficult to get Barney to understand (despite his deafness) that his barking was not wanted as dogs mainly communicate through body language themselves. He responded very well and his elderly female companion dog, will also benefit from the new regime in the household, ensuring that they can relax and just enjoy a lovely life.

More reviews about Tina Edwards


Mrs J S
Tonbridge, Kent

6th June 2010

Isla Clarke dealt with: Recall or not coming when called

Isla was very good with Kenzo as he can be a bit over powering at first meeting. She was very good at explaining the basic training which we have to learn ourselves to help us train Kenzo. I look forward to having a well trained dog and am quite sure that Isla will help us to fullfill that.

More reviews about Isla Clarke


JA
Stoke on Trent

5th June 2010

Kim Lummis dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Separation Anxiety

A remarkably effective first session, with positive outcomes. What was an irritation in company is now a dog responding to commands and happier in himself (as is his owner).


S.S.
Brighton, East Sussex

5th June 2010

Lee Hardy dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger

Lee gave us some useful tips and even within the short space of time between Lee's visits, our dog has responded well

More reviews about Lee Hardy


E.S
Coventry

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training