what our clients say about Alex Fraser

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Alex

28th May 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Alex has been great. From the first session we have seen a very impressive improvement in Jack's behaviour and walking. Just had another training session and Jack was as good as gold. Thank you.

Trainer note from Alex:
On my first session with Jack, he was about as giddy as a young dog could be. He almost made me dizzy as he raced round the front room jumping up at everybody!! By the end of the first session he had really started to listen to his Mum and Dad. I've bee back to see him twice now and what an improvement. I don't know who was more chuffed - me or his parents?!

Keep up the good work!!

C.L.
Bury, Lancashire

7th April 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called
Photo of P.H.'s dog

Our dog Dexter overall was generally well behaved apart from some nagging areas like barking at visitors, over-excitement on walks and general recall, so we were pleased to hear that we could train Dexter without lots of treat bribery!

Training was very well consulted and coordinated. Initially we received a call to ask for some further details on what areas of Dexter's behaviour we would like to address, which we found helpful and set expectations of what could be achieved

In our session Alex gave us a thorough overview of what was the likely cause of Dexter's behavioural problems and introduced us to a series of techniques to use in problematic scenarios. Our session covered how and when to give praise and how to reinforce the techniques, which we learned was an important part of improving Dexter's behaviour.

Dexter responded pretty quickly in our first session, and overall began to act more calmly within the house, and also on the lead when out walking. After our first training session we kept repeating the techniques and continued to see further improvement. Our follow up session again demonstrated further improvement, so overall we're really happy with the results seen and the security of having Alex on hand for further queries and support if we need it within the next year.

Trainer note from Alex:
Dexter used to be very excitable when he went for a walk (possibly a little too excitable) - which resulted in him barking at any other dog he saw. It's important to ascertain why any dog I work with is behaving the way it is, hence the first hour or so of the first session is an in depth chat about the owners dog. This also allows me to observe how the dog interacts with their owner. Following our chat I showed Dexter's owners how to work with Dexter and even after the first session, we saw a great improvement. I was even more impressed when I visited them again in regards to how he behaved - especially when out walking. Keep up the good work!

P.H.
Manchester, Greater Manchester

30th March 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

We were quite nervous about Vin's 1st session with Alex due to Vin's size. Alex had a very calm approach to Vin and sat me and my partner down to discuss what we wanted from the sessions and the history of Vin so far. We asked questions and Alex answered every one with confidence. Then Alex met Vin. As soon as Vin entered the room, you could see the Alex immediately wanted to help him. Alex has a true passion for dogs and this shows whenever Alex works with us and Vin. After our 1st session we were given 'homework' and within a matter of days Vin was improving!!!! Every session with Alex is made to feel easy and nothing he asks us to do is too much. Vin's sessions are ongoing and we are so happy we chose bark busters for our learning journey; more so that Alex is our trainer :-)

Trainer note from Alex:
Vin is without doubt the biggest dog I have ever worked with weighing in at approximately 13 stones, but he is an amazing dog and it was love at first sight! However due to his size, it is imperative that Vin listens to his Mum and Dad, both inside and outside of their home. Speaking from experience, I now fully appreciate the power of a dog Vin's size when they jump at you or take you for a walk!! Due to medical reasons they were unable to socialise him as a puppy, so when he was finally able to go out walking he really used to pull like a train, especially if he saw another dog. He now walks really well to heal and he is getting much better with other dogs. I can't wait to go back and see them all again for another session!!

L.M.
Swinton, Greater Manchester

25th March 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called
Photo of K.A.'s dog

Alex set to work straight away & we were delighted that we had made progress with Toby even within the first hour. We liked the fact that Alex role modelled everything for us first then gave us feedback & corrected us as necessary when we tried the techniques.

Alex stayed with us for several hours so really got the measure of Toby and our weak spots! We achieved far more with Toby than we expected from the first visit.

Two weeks later, we have had real success with much of what Alex taught us but are ready for a second visit to reinforce where we need to make further progress.

Trainer note from Alex:
I went back to visit Toby and his family earlier this week and I couldn't believe the difference in his behaviour. He was SOOO much calmer - I was delighted!! I always expect to see an improvement, but sometimes even I am blown away by he difference in a dogs behaviour, and this was one of those dogs. There is still some work to be done in some areas, but I am confident they will get there, now that I have seen how well he is doing. Keep up the good work.

K.A.
Rochdale, Lancashire

11th March 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Puppy Management

Sorry for taking so long to do this - but better late than never!!

Alex is a friend of a friend and when we heard about what he did we checked out some of his feedback. His reviews were excellent!! We knew that for first time dog owners such as ourselves he would be the best person to help us give our puppy the best start in life - and boy were we right. Alex was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions - of which there were many!! We now have a very well behaved little girl who makes us all proud. Thank you Alex

Trainer note from Alex:
I love working with puppies. It is important however that their owners take on board how they need to communicate with their dog, and more importantly - the training is ongoing to ensure the dog grows up knowing their position in the pack. Clearly her owners have worked hard and I am delighted with the results. Keep it up!!

N.S.
Mobberley, Cheshire

6th March 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Puppy Management
Photo of J.F.'s dog

ALex is very friendly and easy to get along with. He has helped with puppy training of my miniature schnauzer to such an extent that everyone comments on how well behaved he is for such a young dog. Jake is now very obedient especially off lead. Having been to puppy classes I would definitely say the best way to train a dog is one to one training for very little extra cost. I would like to thank Alex for the confidence he has given me with Jake and his training.

Trainer note from Alex:
This is why I love working with puppies. If their owner starts off on the right track their puppy will inevitably make them very proud!! Yesterday was my third visit and little Jake was an absolute star in every respect and his owner has also received comments from friends in regards to how well behaved he is. I am not sure who was more proud, me or Jake's Mum. Keep up the good work both of you!!!

J.F.
Bury, Greater Manchester

5th March 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Other
Photo of I.B.'s dog

We have had Alex visit us on a number of occasions now to teach and give us better tips on how to walk our Staffie Diesel and also how to calm him down when we come across other dogs who are aggresive. He has also taught us how to correct Diesel when in the home from excessive barking when hearing noises or the door bell. We would recommend Alex as a great trainer who is calm and very informative and spends time explaining procedures. It is like having our very own Ceaser Milan in our home. Thanks again Alex.

Trainer note from Alex:
Diesel is a lovely natured Staffie who loves people. Her owners used another Bark Busters trainer (who used to cover my areas) many years ago and took out life time guarantee. They started to have some issues with him barking in the garden and walking him past other dogs. I visited them some weeks back and helped them with both issues. It was clear to see that their passive leadership wasn't as good as it could be and as a result Diesel wasn't not feeling as secure as he could, especially outside. I returned yesterday to focus on his walking and we encountered a number of dogs. He barely reacted, even when we passed 2 staffies in a front garden who where barking quite aggressively. Although I don't think they will need me to go back again, I would like to go back in a month or so to se how Diesel is doing.

I.B.
manchester, Greater Manchester

18th February 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management

Alex was a fantastic trainer. We have a 5 month old Weimaraner puppy who is very energetic, jumps a lot, does not walk to heel and did not know her pecking order in the family unit. After just one lesson, the difference was visible. Although obviously not fully trained, the difference is measurable.

Also, Alex gave helpful tips of different exercises to do for different problems areas. Indi now seems to know her place in the family unit and the tips Alex has passed on is helping to reinforce that. I would highly recommend Alex and found him friendly, knowledgable and very passionate about his work and the dogs he has worked with.

Trainer note from Alex:
Indie's parents were certainly heading in the right but they just needed some guidance in a few areas to ensure that she knew who was in charge in the house and especially outside of the house when she was walking on her lead.

There was certainly a noticeable difference by the time we finished the first session and I am confident that by the time i visit them again she will be a very well behaved young lady - both insaide and outside.

C.F.
Bolton, Greater Manchester

9th February 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety Other

We have a lovely Cocker Spaniel but he had a few issues such as barking at people when they come to our house, pinching food off our plates, pulling on a lead and other behavioural problems. After the first session there have been massive improvements and its like we have a new dog. Alex is fantastic and I would recommend his service to anyone that has a dog with issues, however small.

Trainer note from Alex:
After every first session I expect to see an improvement in the dogs behaviour and an improvement in how the dog responds to their owners. But sometimes even I'm a little amazed at how much the dog has improved after just 3 hours of working with them and this session was one of those times. I can't wait to go back and see them all in a few days time!!!

R.H.
Stockport, Greater Manchester

2nd February 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead

Alex has been fabulous, really friendly and easy to talk to. The help with training has been nothing but positive. My dog olly had started to take leadership away from me and Alex has shown me how to take it back, really simple but effective training. Alex is still visiting but I feel much more positive and relaxed. Thank you Alex

Trainer note from Alex:
Olly is a lovely dog, but during his time living with his owner he has slowly started to take charge of their home. His owner really took on board everything we discussed on our first session and the results have been great. Both owner and dog are much happier now that they know who is in charge in and out of the house. Keep up the good work

J.D.
Manchester, Greater Manchester

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Ashton-Under-Lyne, Audenshaw, Bacup, Bury, Chorlton-Cum-Hardy, Davyhulme, Denton, Droylesden, Eccles, Irlam, Manchester, Milnrow, Moss Side, Old Trafford, Oldham, Prestwich, Radcliffe, Ramsbottom, Rawtenstall, Rochdale, Salford, Shaw, Stretford, Swinton, Todmorden, Urmston, Whitefield, Withington

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training