what our clients say about Alex Fraser

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Alex

31st January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Digging Other
Photo of A.G.'s dog

Alex was a real pleasant guy who appeared really interested in our issues with Marley. He asked lots of questions to get as much information as needed to help us help Marley.

He did not rush in anyway and was very methodical and explained in great detail all possible resolutions.

Alex offered us the opportunity to call him at any point to discuss any issues or to arrange any further visits to our home. Before he left he did an in depth re-cap of his visit to re-enforce his session.

He was an all round happy, enthusiastic guy and most importantly interested in helping us.

He is a total credit to Barkbusters

Trainer note from Alex:
Marley's owners used Bark Busters around five years ago and they achieved great results. In the last 12 months however, following 2 new additions to their family, Marley started to demonstrate some frustrating behavioural traits. The 'Life Time Guarantee' meant that although I didn't carry out the initial sessions, I visited them at no further charge to help them with Marley. It is important to note how impressed I was with Marley's overall behaviour and the control his owners demonstrated. They did however need help with a couple of issues and I was delighted I was able to help.

A.G.
Salford, Greater Manchester

29th January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

From the first session with Alex, it's like we have a different puppy. We now use the techniques Alex taught us all and the passive leadership checklist is used daily. We can't wait for our next family session this weekend. Thank you Alex Fraser.

Trainer note from Alex:
Woody was your typical boisterous English Bull Terrier and when I first met him he definitely thought he ruled the roost. What really pleased me about his family was that they all wanted to learn and work with Woody. It is really important that Woody identifies all 3 members of his family as solid pack leaders, so that he listens and does as he is told for all of them. It is therefore crucial that they are all consistent so that he doesn't receive any mixed messages. I honestly couldn't believe how much calmer he was when I returned for our second session and I look forward to see what further progress has been made when I visit them again. Keep up the good work.

A.M.
whitworth, Rochdale, Lancashire

28th January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Separation Anxiety

George is our first dog. He is a rescue dog and had really not had the best start in life. We didn't know where to start or how to deal with our new hyper active addition - especially when we tried to walk him. He would bark at absolutely everything. Alex was very sympathetic to our needs and was extremely supportive. He was honest about how much work we would need to put in to make George a happy and secure little dog, but as the weeks progressed we really started to see a difference. He very quickly stopped trying to dart out of the front door when somebody came to visit and his walking on the lead has really improved. We are so happy. Thank you Alex

Trainer note from Alex:
George had some real behavioural issues which stemmed from the way he was treated during the first two years of his life. It was crucial that his family followed my instructions to the letter week in week out - and continue to do so. His behaviour quickly started to improve, but it is important to note that it can take months sometimes to reprogram a dog to make it realise where it sits in the family pack and to feel safe and secure at all times.

E.S.
Whitefield, Greater Manchester

20th January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of A.A.'s dog

After just 1 session it was like I had a new dog! We still have a bit of work with the pulling but all in all in all a vast improvement. I cant wait for next session!!

Trainer note from Alex:
There were definite visible signs of improvement after just a few hours which was great to see. Happy customer equals happy dog and vice-versa. The walking to heel using the Bark Buster collar (communication collar) went well. It takes practise to get the technique 'spot on' using this collar and lead, but once you get it right you will never lose it (and I will help you to get it right every time). I can't wait to go back and see how they are both getting on!

A.A.
flixton, Cheshire

14th December 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger
Photo of P.D.'s dog

Fantastic. Belle our Border collie is a rescue dog all we know is she is approx. 18 months old and from Ireland. She was aggressive towards other dogs. After just two visits from Alex she is 90% calmer, beginning to walk to heel and no longer feels threatened by other dogs. Thanks Alex

Trainer note from Alex:
This is a real success story and Belle has really landed on her feet. I was so pleased with how much calmer she was after just two weeks. She showed no aggression - even when a very boisterous Pointer thwacked her on her head. Clearly her owners have worked hard with her following my first visit - I'm chuffed to bits.

P.D.
Eccles, Greater Manchester

30th November 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Puppy Management Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of M.L.'s dog

Fantastic! Alex spent a good couple of hours on my puppy Chihauhaua. I learnt so much, this is the first time I have ever had a dog. I had a couple of issues with Eddie and wanted to nipped it in the bud. Alex reasured me on most of my issues, ie feeding, toilet training. I have more of an understanding of my little boy Eddie. We look forward to Alex doing some more of his magic on Eddie. Also a massive learning curb for me as well. I feel I have more of an understanding with Eddie.

Trainer note from Alex:
I have been back to see Eddie and his owner a second time now and they are both doing really well. Eddie's owner is much more confident and has really bonded with her little man. This is one of the reasons why I get so much job satisfaction from puppy training sessions - especially when I work with first time owners. Like young children, dogs need some ground rules so that they grow up to be well-behaved adult dogs, and I can help owners achieve this. I look forward to meeting up with them both in the new year to do some lead work.

M.L.
Manchester, Lancashire

29th October 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of D.P.'s dog

Cosmo is a fun loving little boy and we like to encourage his curiosity and playful nature, so we didn't want an oppressive training which would knock the stuffing out of him. As he is a SBT, however, it is important for us to be in control as sadly SBTs have a poor and unjust reputation.

Alex explained a few simple techniques and taught us the way to make Cosmo see us as in charge and not himself!!! This was a break through and something which made complete sense to us. This allowed us to take the training on board easily and it felt intuitive once we started.

Alex himself is a star, he spent time understanding Cosmo and delivered training which he thought Cosmo would understand and respond to. It didn't feel like it was "one training fits all".

After only 2 visits we and Alex feel Cosmo has come on leaps and bounds but let's admit it now, it's John and I who have come on leaps and bounds really. We are now the pack leaders Cosmo needs so he can enjoy life understanding John and I are in control. I wonder if it will work on John too :o

Trainer note from Alex:
Cosmo, like so many other SBTs I have worked with, is an absolute delight. It's been a pleasure to work with Cosmo and his owners, retaining all the fun, just building in the boundaries all dogs want and need to be happy, confident and well adjusted.
Job well done on your part guys. Cosmo is a shining example of a SBT that will do his breed proud.

Regarding partner training, I recommend my wife. 😉

D.P.
Middlewich, Cheshire

28th October 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety

Chloe was a rescue dog, 9 years old, with no history and a lot of problems. She was testing boundaries, jumping all over the place, hated other dogs and suffered from separation anxiety. My partner and I were at a loss of what to do - we adored her but her behaviour was very challenging. Just taking her for a walk was giving me a stress headache.

Alex really helped. He showed us techniques for calming her down (90% improvement in the home!) and for when we were out walking her. She really is a better behaved, happier dog.

I don't think we are ever going to completely resolve her fear of other dogs (I hate to think what happened in the past to her) but because I can control her, understand the signs and feel an awful lot calmer after working with Alex, walking her is nearly a stress free experience.

Trainer note from Alex:
Chloe has a real fear of other dogs and was extremely hyper in the home. I am delighted with how she has progressed since I have been working with her and her owners. Some behavioural issues such as fear of other dogs can take a long time to resolve, but in order to do so it is crucial that the owner manages the situation. Staying calm on walks when a dog's adrenalin kicks in is vital. With a consistent and calm approach I am confident that she will continue to improve so that both Chloe and her owners can enjoy their walks. Keep up the good work.

E.N.
Sale, Cheshire

24th October 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called
Photo of C.G.'s dog

Flo is a two year old Puggle who was barking and jumping up at anyone who came in the house, barking at the window and every time someone knocked on the door. She also barked and nipped occasionally when me or my family were leaving the house without her. She couldn't be off the lead on the park because she chased bikes and people walking fast/jogging.

Alex has been twice so far and spent a couple of hours with Flo, me & my family and explained to us what the problem was a why she was acting this way. Alex gave us a few manageable techniques to use with her to get her out of these habits. He explained them really well so we understood why we were doing what we were doing, showed us each thing a couple of times and then watched us do it. He wrote down a full guide for us before he left and told us what the most important things were. Alex was great with Flo (he clearly loves dogs!) and she responded to him really well which gave me confidence to try what he was doing. The best part about Alex coming out to see us was that he could see what the problems were and as he understands dogs so well he could tell us why she was like this, we got to the root of the problem and are now trying to change her behaviour so she is better behaved in general!

Since Alex first came 4 weeks ago Flo has been much calmer from day one! I feel more confident and in control of her. She has not completely stopped barking at the window or the door yet but I think she will get there soon and it hasn't been that hard to follow Alex's instructions and get her to where she is now. I am really glad I called Alex, I feel happier, I think Flo is happier and her problems would have only gotten worse and now they are getting better each day and I know how to control her and teach her what she is and isn't allowed to do. Thanks Alex! I would recommend you to anyone having problems with their dogs.

Trainer note from Alex:
This was another case of a little dog who thought she was in charge of her house which, over time, not only caused her owner problems at home, but also on walks. For me it is so important that both dog and owner enjoy their time together when out walking. I went for a long walk with them both on our last session and I was delighted that Flo completely ignored a number of bikes that were racing around the park. Clearly her owner has put the work in and they are now both reaping the rewards. Well done!!

C.G.
Swinton, Greater Manchester

24th October 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Puppy Management

"Alex, showed great empathy with our lively 5 month old setter puppy Tess; he showed us how to cure her jumping up and how to get her to walk quietly on her lead. She's now a much calmer puppy, thanks Alex!"

Trainer note from Alex:
I love working with puppies and following their progress as they grow up. I often meet Tess and her owner when I am out walking and she is always a very well-behaved dog which is so nice to see.

R.N.
Wilmslow, Cheshire

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Ashton-Under-Lyne, Audenshaw, Bacup, Bury, Chorlton-Cum-Hardy, Davyhulme, Denton, Droylesden, Eccles, Irlam, Manchester, Milnrow, Moss Side, Old Trafford, Oldham, Prestwich, Radcliffe, Ramsbottom, Rawtenstall, Rochdale, Salford, Shaw, Stretford, Swinton, Todmorden, Urmston, Whitefield, Withington

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training