what our clients say about Alex Fraser

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Alex

20th February 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household
Photo of V.T.'s dog

WITHIN MINUTES OF MEETING ALEX WE KNEW WE WERE IN SAFE AND CAPABLE HANDS. HE EXPLAINED EVERYTHING IN A CLEAR AND CONSIDERATE WAY, TOTALLY UNDERSTANDING OUR CONCERNS AND ADDRESSING OUR DOGS' NEEDS HOLISTICALLY.

WE HAVE SEEN IMMEDIATE IMPROVEMENT IN BOTH OUR DOGS' BEHAVIOUR, NOT JUST IN THEIR SIBLING RIVALRY, BUT IN THEIR GENERAL ATTITUDE AND DEMEANOUR. THE WHOLE FAMILY, INCLUDING THE DOGS, IS MUCH HAPPIER AND MORE RELAXED.

WE TOTALLY RECOMMEND ALEX AND BARK BUSTERS.

Trainer note from Alex:
I really enjoyed working with these two bulldogs. It was however clear that the female thought she was not only in charge of her brother, but she also thought she was in charge of the house. It is really important in sibling rivalry cases that both dogs are viewed and treated equally and in turn they see their owner as a solid pack leader. The first session went really well and I can't wait to visit them again soon. Keep up the good work!

V.T.
ROCHDALE, Greater Manchester

1st February 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of G.S.'s dog

We were amazed, we had trainers before, they usually gave up on our Dobies or we refused to have them as they suggested methods like ear pinching or hitting them, or ignoring them in general unless we give commands (why would you have a pet and ignore it?). So Alex came and took his time, there was no rush, we had coffee while he observed how the dogs interacted with each other and us, sometimes he told us to give them a command and just watched how they responded and took his time to assess the character of each dog and their trigger points.

He spent 4 or 5 hours with us, part of it was inside training, we started a bit on outside training and lead training (our biggest problem) and I was surprised how well the dogs responded. All in all he kept it fun for the dogs and us, so my other half didn't even mind missing the Welsh Rugby game (and he is Welsh), and the dogs loved it as much as we did. We keep joking that the dog body snatcher was around and replaced our dogs with those obedient creatures.

Both dogs are rehomed and have issues as they went through several homes, I can't praise Alex enough for getting inside their heads and treating each dog the way it would respond the most, not the usual "one fits all" approach, but tailoring it to the needs of each dog, sussing out the communication between them, and what we thought were major problems and lots of work was really just minimal adjustments we had to make to communicate better with the dogs (and train the dogs versus the dogs training us). All in all, Alex possibly trained us more than the dogs, but that helps the dogs to understand the commands better. And as I said before, it was so much fun that we look forward to the next lesson, because it doesn't seem to be hard work but fun for us and the dogs.

After less than a day we don't have to chase them off the furniture, they understand they aren't allowed on it and happily settle in their beds, don't snatch treats but wait until they are told to take them.

The life long guarantee seems like a really good deal, as in the past we spent a lot more on trainers who eventually walked out or tried to use methods that seemed simply cruel (causing the animal pain if they refused to cooperate), Alex showed us that it's not just correction but also praise that counts, and yes, they do respond!

Doberman's are amazing dogs but quite strong willed and a bit overly sensitive, I think Alex achieved more in one afternoon than most trainers achieved in months. I haven't seen my dogs that happy and content without being exhausted myself, as Alex explained, it's important to stimulate brains and body.

I deliberately didn't clear the remains of our dinner but told the dogs no (along with the growl Alex showed us when they tried to sniff it), and we left it there and went to another room. Surprise, the dogs didn't take it (previously unheard of as they are skilled thieves and robbers).

I'm so looking forward to the next training session, Alex doesn't believe in breaking a dog's character or spirit (unlike our previous trainers) but working with it, to achieve the desired results. Our dogs are still their quirky selves, just much better behaved than they were. Since this is the result of just ONE session, I'm almost scared that the dogs will have much better manners than we do after a few sessions.

And yes, I would recommend him to anybody without reservations!

Trainer note from Alex:
I couldn't have summed up what the training is about better myself, thank you. As with anything, you only get out what you put in, and you must also take credit, as success is also down to you and your hard work and dedication. All four of you are a pleasure to work with and I look forward to our next session.

G.S.
Macclesfield, Cheshire

31st January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Digging Other
Photo of A.G.'s dog

Alex was a real pleasant guy who appeared really interested in our issues with Marley. He asked lots of questions to get as much information as needed to help us help Marley.

He did not rush in anyway and was very methodical and explained in great detail all possible resolutions.

Alex offered us the opportunity to call him at any point to discuss any issues or to arrange any further visits to our home. Before he left he did an in depth re-cap of his visit to re-enforce his session.

He was an all round happy, enthusiastic guy and most importantly interested in helping us.

He is a total credit to Barkbusters

Trainer note from Alex:
Marley's owners used Bark Busters around five years ago and they achieved great results. In the last 12 months however, following 2 new additions to their family, Marley started to demonstrate some frustrating behavioural traits. The 'Life Time Guarantee' meant that although I didn't carry out the initial sessions, I visited them at no further charge to help them with Marley. It is important to note how impressed I was with Marley's overall behaviour and the control his owners demonstrated. They did however need help with a couple of issues and I was delighted I was able to help.

A.G.
Salford, Greater Manchester

29th January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

From the first session with Alex, it's like we have a different puppy. We now use the techniques Alex taught us all and the passive leadership checklist is used daily. We can't wait for our next family session this weekend. Thank you Alex Fraser.

Trainer note from Alex:
Woody was your typical boisterous English Bull Terrier and when I first met him he definitely thought he ruled the roost. What really pleased me about his family was that they all wanted to learn and work with Woody. It is really important that Woody identifies all 3 members of his family as solid pack leaders, so that he listens and does as he is told for all of them. It is therefore crucial that they are all consistent so that he doesn't receive any mixed messages. I honestly couldn't believe how much calmer he was when I returned for our second session and I look forward to see what further progress has been made when I visit them again. Keep up the good work.

A.M.
whitworth, Rochdale, Lancashire

28th January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Separation Anxiety

George is our first dog. He is a rescue dog and had really not had the best start in life. We didn't know where to start or how to deal with our new hyper active addition - especially when we tried to walk him. He would bark at absolutely everything. Alex was very sympathetic to our needs and was extremely supportive. He was honest about how much work we would need to put in to make George a happy and secure little dog, but as the weeks progressed we really started to see a difference. He very quickly stopped trying to dart out of the front door when somebody came to visit and his walking on the lead has really improved. We are so happy. Thank you Alex

Trainer note from Alex:
George had some real behavioural issues which stemmed from the way he was treated during the first two years of his life. It was crucial that his family followed my instructions to the letter week in week out - and continue to do so. His behaviour quickly started to improve, but it is important to note that it can take months sometimes to reprogram a dog to make it realise where it sits in the family pack and to feel safe and secure at all times.

E.S.
Whitefield, Greater Manchester

20th January 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of A.A.'s dog

After just 1 session it was like I had a new dog! We still have a bit of work with the pulling but all in all in all a vast improvement. I cant wait for next session!!

Trainer note from Alex:
There were definite visible signs of improvement after just a few hours which was great to see. Happy customer equals happy dog and vice-versa. The walking to heel using the Bark Buster collar (communication collar) went well. It takes practise to get the technique 'spot on' using this collar and lead, but once you get it right you will never lose it (and I will help you to get it right every time). I can't wait to go back and see how they are both getting on!

A.A.
flixton, Cheshire

14th December 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger
Photo of P.D.'s dog

Fantastic. Belle our Border collie is a rescue dog all we know is she is approx. 18 months old and from Ireland. She was aggressive towards other dogs. After just two visits from Alex she is 90% calmer, beginning to walk to heel and no longer feels threatened by other dogs. Thanks Alex

Trainer note from Alex:
This is a real success story and Belle has really landed on her feet. I was so pleased with how much calmer she was after just two weeks. She showed no aggression - even when a very boisterous Pointer thwacked her on her head. Clearly her owners have worked hard with her following my first visit - I'm chuffed to bits.

P.D.
Eccles, Greater Manchester

30th November 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Puppy Management Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of M.L.'s dog

Fantastic! Alex spent a good couple of hours on my puppy Chihauhaua. I learnt so much, this is the first time I have ever had a dog. I had a couple of issues with Eddie and wanted to nipped it in the bud. Alex reasured me on most of my issues, ie feeding, toilet training. I have more of an understanding of my little boy Eddie. We look forward to Alex doing some more of his magic on Eddie. Also a massive learning curb for me as well. I feel I have more of an understanding with Eddie.

Trainer note from Alex:
I have been back to see Eddie and his owner a second time now and they are both doing really well. Eddie's owner is much more confident and has really bonded with her little man. This is one of the reasons why I get so much job satisfaction from puppy training sessions - especially when I work with first time owners. Like young children, dogs need some ground rules so that they grow up to be well-behaved adult dogs, and I can help owners achieve this. I look forward to meeting up with them both in the new year to do some lead work.

M.L.
Manchester, Lancashire

29th October 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of D.P.'s dog

Cosmo is a fun loving little boy and we like to encourage his curiosity and playful nature, so we didn't want an oppressive training which would knock the stuffing out of him. As he is a SBT, however, it is important for us to be in control as sadly SBTs have a poor and unjust reputation.

Alex explained a few simple techniques and taught us the way to make Cosmo see us as in charge and not himself!!! This was a break through and something which made complete sense to us. This allowed us to take the training on board easily and it felt intuitive once we started.

Alex himself is a star, he spent time understanding Cosmo and delivered training which he thought Cosmo would understand and respond to. It didn't feel like it was "one training fits all".

After only 2 visits we and Alex feel Cosmo has come on leaps and bounds but let's admit it now, it's John and I who have come on leaps and bounds really. We are now the pack leaders Cosmo needs so he can enjoy life understanding John and I are in control. I wonder if it will work on John too :o

Trainer note from Alex:
Cosmo, like so many other SBTs I have worked with, is an absolute delight. It's been a pleasure to work with Cosmo and his owners, retaining all the fun, just building in the boundaries all dogs want and need to be happy, confident and well adjusted.
Job well done on your part guys. Cosmo is a shining example of a SBT that will do his breed proud.

Regarding partner training, I recommend my wife. 😉

D.P.
Middlewich, Cheshire

28th October 2013

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety

Chloe was a rescue dog, 9 years old, with no history and a lot of problems. She was testing boundaries, jumping all over the place, hated other dogs and suffered from separation anxiety. My partner and I were at a loss of what to do - we adored her but her behaviour was very challenging. Just taking her for a walk was giving me a stress headache.

Alex really helped. He showed us techniques for calming her down (90% improvement in the home!) and for when we were out walking her. She really is a better behaved, happier dog.

I don't think we are ever going to completely resolve her fear of other dogs (I hate to think what happened in the past to her) but because I can control her, understand the signs and feel an awful lot calmer after working with Alex, walking her is nearly a stress free experience.

Trainer note from Alex:
Chloe has a real fear of other dogs and was extremely hyper in the home. I am delighted with how she has progressed since I have been working with her and her owners. Some behavioural issues such as fear of other dogs can take a long time to resolve, but in order to do so it is crucial that the owner manages the situation. Staying calm on walks when a dog's adrenalin kicks in is vital. With a consistent and calm approach I am confident that she will continue to improve so that both Chloe and her owners can enjoy their walks. Keep up the good work.

E.N.
Sale, Cheshire

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Ashton-Under-Lyne, Audenshaw, Bacup, Bury, Chorlton-Cum-Hardy, Davyhulme, Denton, Droylesden, Eccles, Irlam, Manchester, Milnrow, Moss Side, Old Trafford, Oldham, Prestwich, Radcliffe, Ramsbottom, Rawtenstall, Rochdale, Salford, Shaw, Stretford, Swinton, Todmorden, Urmston, Whitefield, Withington

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training