what our clients say about Alex Fraser

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Alex

9th July 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of E.W.'s dog

Alex came to us to help with some behavioural concerns we had with our elderly rescue dog Fred. Fred was very possessive of his tennis his toys and did not respond to our instructions which made it difficult to predict his behaviour in unfamiliar situations. Alex helped us to understand that we were unclear and inconsistent in how we treated Fred meaning he was unsure how to behave. We learnt some techniques for how to set boundaries for Fred and improve our communication. We are now much happier because we understand each other much better. Thanks for all your help Alex. It just shows that you can teach an old dog new tricks!

Trainer note from Alex:
I really respect people that re-home older dogs such as Fred who they re-homed when he was about 12 years old. He has come on really well with the training methods we use and finally understands where he sits in his new pack. It proves that it doesn't matter how old a dog is. If their owner can work with them in the way we show them, great results can be achieved. Keep up the good work and I look forward to catching up in the future.

E.W.
Didsbury, Greater Manchester

30th June 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead

Thanks for checking how things are going. I am pleased to say that things are still going well and I would like to thank you for all your help.

Trainer note from Alex:
Its nice to know that 12 months on, things are still going well. It is important that customers keep up with the training. it doesn't have to be too structured, but rather built in to day to day life.

G.B.
Rochdale, Greater Manchester

29th June 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead

Alfie is the second rescue staffie we have at the moment, and he is such a lovely dog. He did have 2 issues though. He pulled on his lead and he really howled when he went in the car to the park. Alex quickly helped us with his walking and he now walks really well. Alfie always seemed to be on his best behaviour when Alex came to see us and never howled the same in the car. We are pleased to say that things are so much better and we are delighted with the results

Trainer note from Alex:
The family own 2 lovely Staffordshire Bull Terriers. Both pulled on their leads and Alfie used to make a real noise when he went in the car. The pulling on the lead was easy to fix, and by the second session he was much calmer in the car. I am really pleased with the results.

A.B.
Stretford, Greater Manchester

24th June 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Toileting
Photo of N.D.'s dog

We have a 5 month old English Springer Spaniel called Rocket. Alex came to us a few weeks after we brought him home and really helped us get the basics right. That first session at our house and the local park was invaluable and helped us understand how to communicate with Rocket as well as teach him some basic puppy manners. A couple of months on and he has developed into a really sociable and well-mannered puppy. We were having some problems getting him to walk to heel recently and booked Alex in to come and visit. Since that second session the results have been great and Rocket is much more attentive and pulls less.

Trainer note from Alex:
Loved working with Rocket and his parents. They have worked really hard since my first session. I was extremely impressed when I last visited them and entered the house there was no jumping up from Rocket!! He was still a bit of a challenge on his lead, however with the right technique, he quickly learnt that he needs to be a follower not a leader and walked well. Keep up the good work Mum and Dad - you have a smashing little boy!!!

N.D.
Manchester, Lancashire

17th June 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

After only 1 session with Alex, I am seeing a remarkable change in my dogs behaviour. My 8 month old rottie pup not only listens to me but is responding to the commands already. My walks with him are becoming less stressful, and my domineering puppy is letting ME take charge!

I am looking forward to my next session with Alex as the training is great for both my dog and myself. I would definitely recommend Bark Busters to anybody who is having problems with their dog. WE finally seem to be on the road to success. Thank you Alex

Trainer note from Alex:
Although he is a very handsome young Rottweiler, he had really started to develop his minding role and was not happy when I first entered the house. He had also started to get a bit boisterous with his owner. By the end of the first session the improvement was amazing.

His owner has worked really hard with him and over future sessions he continued to improve.

He used to be a bit dog aggressive, but I was delighted to hear that following my last session, he is now walking past dogs calmly which is great news.

L.P.
Manchester, Greater Manchester

28th May 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Alex has been great. From the first session we have seen a very impressive improvement in Jack's behaviour and walking. Just had another training session and Jack was as good as gold. Thank you.

Trainer note from Alex:
On my first session with Jack, he was about as giddy as a young dog could be. He almost made me dizzy as he raced round the front room jumping up at everybody!! By the end of the first session he had really started to listen to his Mum and Dad. I've bee back to see him twice now and what an improvement. I don't know who was more chuffed - me or his parents?!

Keep up the good work!!

C.L.
Bury, Lancashire

7th April 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called
Photo of P.H.'s dog

Our dog Dexter overall was generally well behaved apart from some nagging areas like barking at visitors, over-excitement on walks and general recall, so we were pleased to hear that we could train Dexter without lots of treat bribery!

Training was very well consulted and coordinated. Initially we received a call to ask for some further details on what areas of Dexter's behaviour we would like to address, which we found helpful and set expectations of what could be achieved

In our session Alex gave us a thorough overview of what was the likely cause of Dexter's behavioural problems and introduced us to a series of techniques to use in problematic scenarios. Our session covered how and when to give praise and how to reinforce the techniques, which we learned was an important part of improving Dexter's behaviour.

Dexter responded pretty quickly in our first session, and overall began to act more calmly within the house, and also on the lead when out walking. After our first training session we kept repeating the techniques and continued to see further improvement. Our follow up session again demonstrated further improvement, so overall we're really happy with the results seen and the security of having Alex on hand for further queries and support if we need it within the next year.

Trainer note from Alex:
Dexter used to be very excitable when he went for a walk (possibly a little too excitable) - which resulted in him barking at any other dog he saw. It's important to ascertain why any dog I work with is behaving the way it is, hence the first hour or so of the first session is an in depth chat about the owners dog. This also allows me to observe how the dog interacts with their owner. Following our chat I showed Dexter's owners how to work with Dexter and even after the first session, we saw a great improvement. I was even more impressed when I visited them again in regards to how he behaved - especially when out walking. Keep up the good work!

P.H.
Manchester, Greater Manchester

30th March 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

We were quite nervous about Vin's 1st session with Alex due to Vin's size. Alex had a very calm approach to Vin and sat me and my partner down to discuss what we wanted from the sessions and the history of Vin so far. We asked questions and Alex answered every one with confidence. Then Alex met Vin. As soon as Vin entered the room, you could see the Alex immediately wanted to help him. Alex has a true passion for dogs and this shows whenever Alex works with us and Vin. After our 1st session we were given 'homework' and within a matter of days Vin was improving!!!! Every session with Alex is made to feel easy and nothing he asks us to do is too much. Vin's sessions are ongoing and we are so happy we chose bark busters for our learning journey; more so that Alex is our trainer :-)

Trainer note from Alex:
Vin is without doubt the biggest dog I have ever worked with weighing in at approximately 13 stones, but he is an amazing dog and it was love at first sight! However due to his size, it is imperative that Vin listens to his Mum and Dad, both inside and outside of their home. Speaking from experience, I now fully appreciate the power of a dog Vin's size when they jump at you or take you for a walk!! Due to medical reasons they were unable to socialise him as a puppy, so when he was finally able to go out walking he really used to pull like a train, especially if he saw another dog. He now walks really well to heal and he is getting much better with other dogs. I can't wait to go back and see them all again for another session!!

L.M.
Swinton, Greater Manchester

25th March 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called
Photo of K.A.'s dog

Alex set to work straight away & we were delighted that we had made progress with Toby even within the first hour. We liked the fact that Alex role modelled everything for us first then gave us feedback & corrected us as necessary when we tried the techniques.

Alex stayed with us for several hours so really got the measure of Toby and our weak spots! We achieved far more with Toby than we expected from the first visit.

Two weeks later, we have had real success with much of what Alex taught us but are ready for a second visit to reinforce where we need to make further progress.

Trainer note from Alex:
I went back to visit Toby and his family earlier this week and I couldn't believe the difference in his behaviour. He was SOOO much calmer - I was delighted!! I always expect to see an improvement, but sometimes even I am blown away by he difference in a dogs behaviour, and this was one of those dogs. There is still some work to be done in some areas, but I am confident they will get there, now that I have seen how well he is doing. Keep up the good work.

K.A.
Rochdale, Lancashire

11th March 2015

Alex Fraser dealt with: Puppy Management

Sorry for taking so long to do this - but better late than never!!

Alex is a friend of a friend and when we heard about what he did we checked out some of his feedback. His reviews were excellent!! We knew that for first time dog owners such as ourselves he would be the best person to help us give our puppy the best start in life - and boy were we right. Alex was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions - of which there were many!! We now have a very well behaved little girl who makes us all proud. Thank you Alex

Trainer note from Alex:
I love working with puppies. It is important however that their owners take on board how they need to communicate with their dog, and more importantly - the training is ongoing to ensure the dog grows up knowing their position in the pack. Clearly her owners have worked hard and I am delighted with the results. Keep it up!!

N.S.
Mobberley, Cheshire

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Ashton-Under-Lyne, Audenshaw, Bacup, Bury, Chorlton-Cum-Hardy, Davyhulme, Denton, Droylesden, Eccles, Irlam, Manchester, Milnrow, Moss Side, Old Trafford, Oldham, Prestwich, Radcliffe, Ramsbottom, Rawtenstall, Rochdale, Salford, Shaw, Stretford, Swinton, Todmorden, Urmston, Whitefield, Withington

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training