what our clients say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

What our Clients are saying about us

10th November 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Other

Where do we start.. Graham came to see us as we had introduced a 2 year old miniature schnauzer to our family 6 months ago and could NOT integrate her with our cats. We have never owned dogs before and were not aware of quite how badly we were struggling. Graham started our session with a very informative reason for why dogs behave the way they do and just why Lola was suffering as she was. He observed her quietly whilst listening to us and getting to know how our household works. We then had very comprehensive command training, taking us right back to basics and getting the heirarchy of the house back in the right order!

By the end of the session, he actually had us bring one of the cats into the room with her and she did not make a sound, UNBELIEVABLE! We now have a very comprehensive training programme to follow for the next few weeks before our next session but more importantly the security of being able to contact Graham whenever we need.

What started out with us gulping at the cost, we have very quickly learned that this is unbelievable value for money and extremely well spent.

First class service which has led us to think we may well actually be able to live in harmony with all of our beloved pets!


K.K.
Banstead, Surrey

21st October 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other

Graham was very thorough. The first session lasted 3hr 15min.

We had identified two additional problems, namely, getting stressed in the car and refusing to get in and an inability to climb stairs!.

Graham helped us with these issues. Alfie now happily travels, the stairs are still a problem.

Alfie is responding quickly to the exercises he showed us and we are doing daily practise.


C.P.
Orpington, Kent

16th October 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Separation Anxiety Other

Felt that Jo had lots of practical experience to draw on, was good with me and with Sinbad. Worthwhile session

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner has taken on a 9 year old Border Terrier that she knew had issues with being left on his own. He has had several homes in his lifetime and has become very fearful of being abandoned as a result. Separation Anxiety is very distressing for both owner and dog and unfortunately there is not a "quick fix". Sinbad is also scared of men coming to the home which is common with fearful and anxious dogs. Sinbad's is very fortunate to have found a new owner who is committed to training him so that he learns to be comfortable on his own and that men are not a threat to him.

L.B.
London

24th September 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of K.S.'s dog

Graham was incredible. Mila is a rescue from Thailand and is just learning to trust people and be comfortable around them. He showed us so many techniques and was so encouraging. He explained everything and answered all of our questions so thoughtfully. We are so excited to continue working with him and so grateful for what he has taught us, although we all still have a long way to go.


K.S.
London

12th September 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise

Very thorough and helpful. I will definitley be calling again for a top up


S.R.
London

12th September 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Separation Anxiety

We have needed to see Jo on several occasions in relation to our Yorkie Buster (a rescue dog) and Pixie our Westipoo. Jo has been brilliant. She taught us techniques to help our Yorkie and also let us know what he was feeling. We are first time dog owners and Jo has taught us where we have been going wrong and what would help our dogs. On this occasion the solution was a t-shirt! Who knew a t-shirt could achieve so much. As a result of Jo's teachings we have a more content Yorkie and a more happy household.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners had a lot of issues to deal with. Buster was found tied up at a Bus Station. He is very fearful and had bitten several extended family members. Both himself and Pixie were territorial and barked at all passers by and in the garden. Buster was also very noise sensitive at night, often getting his owner up with his barking. Both dogs have responded really well to training and Busters anxiety has been helped with an anti-anxiety wrap/t shirt. This can give a dog a sense of security and help them cope with stressful situations when used alongside a confidence building training program. Buster has been very fortunate to find a family prepared to help him overcome his fears and enjoy his life with Pixie.

S.S.
Belvedere, Kent

29th August 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Puppy Management Other
Photo of C.V.'s dog

We called in Jo because we were very concerned about Buddy's prey drive with our (five!) cats. We had collected Buddy a week before and felt it was best to get help early- even though our friends and family thought we were jumping the gun- and we were right! Jo was fantastic: she immediately identified that Buddy had a strong prey drive. Her methods worked instantly. Without her support and guidance we would not have developed the confidence to train Buddy and manage his behaviour. We have already seen a vast improvement. Jo was very warm, friendly, and clearly knew what she was doing; she demonstrated, in a non- judgemental, professional manner how to turn our little terror into a bundle of joy we have now developed a positive relationship with. We are more than happy to contact her in the future and we know that she will be able to help us should any issues arise. We highly recommend her services and are so glad we asked for help before things got worse, not to mention the other advice we had regarding nutrition and further training. Would highly recommend. Amazing!!!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners rescued Buddy from Romania so he came to them several weeks older than many pups do. Most puppies want to play with cats when very young. Some can be very scared of cats and unfortunately some will treat cats as prey and will chase with intent. If this is not nipped in the bud quickly it is dangerous for both the cat and the puppy. These owners took the right steps and followed good advice given on integrating their cats and new puppy but Buddy was always on edge around the cats, barking and lunging constantly and trying to chase at any opportunity. They recognised the dangers and undertook the intervention and training needed to make Buddy safe around the cats. Their very quick action means that the prognosis is excellent for Buddy (and the cats!)

C.V.
Hornchurch, Essex

5th August 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Toileting Other
Photo of L.P.'s dog

Alfie had a lot of issues, nipping, chewing, urinating and pooping indoors and seemingly aggressive behaviour especially towards other animals and visitors. Jo showed us how to "get control" of the front door and making Alfie pay attention to us. Once we had obedience in the house a lot of his issues resolved themselves. (This process took approx 1 hour!). We are currently working on his "outside" issues and are having good results. Jo was fantastic and offered lots of useful and practical advice. We felt well supported and are looking forward to our third visit to work on socialising Alfie with other dogs. Thanks Jo!!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Alfie is a Border Collie/Fox Terrier Cross stray dog that came from Ireland via the Dogs Trust. He was believed to be approximately 2 years old, but a lot of his behaviour in the home has proved to be that of a much younger adolescent. (It is very difficult to guess a dogs age when they are not microchipped.) In addition to his adolescent issues, he was fearful of visitors, running and barking at them would do the same with the family late at night. He did not have the confidence to "guard" the house and needed to know that the family would do the job. Once boundaries were in place Alfie has relaxed and is becoming an obedient, loving and friendly family dog. It always take time with rescue dogs but given that time they make wonderful companions.

L.P.
Chelmsford, Essex

1st August 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Other
Photo of D.W.'s dog

Big improvement all round. Most so with his biting. Lots better when when walking near traffic as is the barking when he gets over excited. He has now been on a fresh diet which suits Rafferty much better.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Rafferty is a very active Welsh Terrier puppy. His owner has previously always owned large dogs and was struggling with his behaviour rather than his training which she is experienced in doing. Lunging at traffic was particularly difficult because she lives in the country on a very fast road and has to walk along it to get to her local common. Puppies are always a work in progress but he was significantly better behaved on my second visit and his owner was enjoying training her puppy, rather than getting frustrated at his bad behaviour.

D.W.
Westerham, Kent

30th July 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety Other

Jo was friendly & knowledgeable and listened to understand fully what our problems were & she explained and made it easy to understand why the behaviour was happening. She suggested simple, manageable and constructive solutions to try in the first instance. She never judged us or our dogs & nothing she said felt like she was criticising what we'd done up to now. We have noticed instant improvements although know & understand that we've a long way to go. A few days after Jo's visit I needed some advice about a particular situation with our dogs, I text Jo & within an hour she was on the phone giving her invaluable help & suggestions. We know its early days but we are now feeling positive about the future behaviour of our dogs.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner has a particularly difficult set of problems to deal with. She has two girl siblings who are fearful and when they get frustrated can sometimes squabble with each other. They are pretty well behaved dogs and listen to their owner, but they have unpleasant neighbours who believe dogs should never bark (which is unrealistic) and have taken to yelling over the fence at the dogs and scaring them. The dogs are also scared of some dogs when out so there is work to do both inside and outside the house plus in the garden. Fortunately they have a very committed family who put their dogs first and I am confident they will get the results they want and need.

J.O.
Brentwood, Essex

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training