what our clients say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

What our Clients are saying about us

14th February 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety
Photo of T.C.'s dog

Here is a photo of Toby and Jack after a muddy run in the park. They are great friends and we all continue to benefit from the great help from Graham and Jo.


T.C.
London

5th February 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management

Very nice relaxed lesson and a good introduction. Lots to get on with and put our minds at ease.

Looking forward to the next lesson!


J.C.
london, London

25th January 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Toileting Other
Photo of N.A.'s dog

We got a new puppy and had no confidence after having major behavioural problems with our previous dog. Our family and friends made us think it was our fault so we didn't want to make the same mistakes again. It is good to have someone observe you and tell you what you are doing right and wrong in a non judgemental way. We can have the advice of a professional rather than get confused by lots of different conflicting opinions. I think Jo is worth every penny as she has instilled confidence in us and we have a really lovely well behaved puppy now.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners had a dog previously that was dog and people aggressive. They stayed in touch with the breeder so knew that rest of the litter had been put to sleep for both health and behavioural issues plus their own dog died young from health issues as well. They loved their dog and kept him despite lots of criticism and did their best in very difficult circumstances. As a result they have actually become very skilled dog owners and have done a fabulous job with their French Bulldog puppy. He is great with children, people and other dogs and is very quick to learn. He is a credit to them and their hard learned dog skills.

N.A.
Ongar, Essex

24th January 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

Excellent. We got very good advice, felt supported, were given clear and informative instructions.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner has a beautiful Chocolate Labrador that is particularly large for his breed. He was pulling his owner heavily on walks which made it almost impossible for her to walk him. He was also jumping at the grandchildren and trying to be "one of the gang" without realising his own size and strength. He needed to learn good manners and proper walking discipline. The owner and her son are well on their way to achieving this and getting a well behaved dog.

M.B.
Bexleyheath, Kent

24th January 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting
Photo of O.H.'s dog

We looked for Jo to help us with our St Bernard puppy. Bruno has been a different dog since Jo advised us on feeding and changing his food. She also gave us loads of tips on house and outdoor training which has worked really well. Whenever I text Jo she always replies with answers. We would highly recommend Jo

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
When I first saw Bruno he was 7kgs and when I saw the family again less then 2 months later he had grown to 25kg. Keeping up with feeding is really important for fast growing breeds and his owner has stayed in touch as she was getting conflicting advice from people who did not understand how to deal with giant breeds. Bruno is coming on in leaps and bounds. His training is going really well. His owners always keep in mind that he may be big but he still is a puppy so give him the right guidance when he shows wariness and encourage him at all times.

O.H.
Southminster, Essex

23rd January 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise
Photo of S.M.'s dog

I found the training session really helpful in giving me the exercises to address Maurice's behaviour problems. They were not what I expected but were really effective and left me feeling reassured that I would be able to work towards an improvement. Jo visited me at my place of work later in the week (18th Jan) which I found extremely helpful so I could get a sense of how to use the exercises in context. I found the first home visit quite long but was good to feel I'd had the time to ask all my questions and practice the exercises with Jo. As my flat isn't very big however, I found the onsite visit to my work (Cafe in Deptford) better suited for the 'Watch me' cue. I was really impressed with how well Maurice reacted to the cues so quickly.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Maurice is a 3 year old French Bulldog and has become increasingly anxious over time walking on the lead with certain people who approach him. When worried he will lurch towards the person barking. He was generally very friendly in the cafe, but would also very occasionally bark at certain people. This was very worrying for his owner as she was not sure why he was behaving in this manner, especially as he had been very well socialised as a puppy. He is also very popular at the cafe with many people coming in specifically to see him. We do not always have the answer as to why a dog becomes anxious, but the key to reducing a dogs fears and anxiety is for the owner to take charge and gets the dogs focus. This is not quick as you are reprogramming a dog to look to the owner for guidance. In Maurice's case, he was very relieved for his owner to take the lead and give him clear instructions.

S.M.
London

14th January 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

Graham has made life so much for enjoyable for Toby the Brittany spaniel and for us his owners. Toby's behaviour improved from the first home visit. Graham gave us clear, practical advice to socialise Toby and work through his lack of confidence and frustration with other dogs. Graham provided reassurance and gave us the confidence to continue to work with Toby, even though he is a mature dog. Both Graham and Jo run an invaluable pack walk for their clients whose dogs have similar concerns. It allows the dogs to socialise in a safe environment with other understanding owners. The sessions allow owners to also share tips and advice. I would highly recommend Graham and Jo to all dog owners who want to understand their pets more and just enjoy the time with them more.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners took on a very fearful 7 year old rescue Brittany Spaniel. Toby could not cope around other dogs and would try to drive them away by barking and would nip them if they came too close. This made walks very stressful. There is no quick fix for this and his owners have been diligently working with him building his confidence by practicing training techniques every day. The change has been remarkable. Toby has gone for a dog that could not be trusted to behave around other dogs to a dog that can run off lead and enjoy life. His owners have now taken on another rescue dog and both dogs live very happily alongside each other. Toby is not perfect and he needs keeping an eye on, but his owners can now enjoy their dog.

T.C.
London

5th December 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Fantastic - we needed support introducing Jasper to my cat Bardo. Graham was excellent and after giving some very useful insights into dog psychology he provided us some very helpful training techniques to help the introductory process.

Overall, we were very impressed and would highly recommend - Jasper is a changed dog!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Jasper is 4 year old Bichon Frieze who was rescued as a puppy from a Dumpster in New York City. This delightful little dog has been overwhelmed by his move to the UK and having a new home. He has never shared a home with another animal and the owners were finding it hard to introduce him to Bardo the cat. Once I had explained how to communicate with Jasper the introduction went quite smoothly and Japer and Bardo are now coming to terms with each other.

N.H.
London

29th November 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety Other
Photo of M.G.'s dog

A breath of fresh air after a stressful couple of weeks ! Jo arrived to having Buddy come out of another room to him barking and quite threatening. He calmed down quite quickly. Buddy is a rescue dog , Maltese, we have for 7 weeks. After 3 weeks he had bitten a grandchild and 3 weeks later a second grandchild. 2 nights before the visit he had bitten my partner and the night before the visit had bitten me.

Jo identified his problems, he was ‘ resource guarding ‘ when he bit my partner ( he had approached his bed and food ) and when I was trying to clean his teardrop stains Jo identified that he didn’t like handling and was scared. Buddy had been groomed 2 weeks previously. This had obviously stressed him.

He would get very stressed when we were leaving him, so we thought, but Jo told us this was excitement as he thought he was going out with us. We have been given detailed exercises to carry out with Buddy. Lots of information and tips.Jo was very relaxed during visit, made us feel at ease, took time to listen and answer all of our questions. Never did we feel her time was up ! she was supportive encouraging and very professional. Didn’t know when we booked if this was the right path for us, but would highly recommend this to anyone who has any concerns about their dogs behaviour. Thank you Jo !

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Buddy was a "pound dog" who was picked up off the street and rehomed by a rescue once his 7 days were up. His fur was horribly matted and he was in a very poor condition when he came to his new owners. Rehomed dogs have often been traumatised and it takes time for new owners to build the trust of their dog and for the dog to be confident in meeting visitors. Handling can be very scary and Buddy had been very distressed by the essential grooming he previously needed. He clearly loves to spend time with his new owners so it will take time to break it down so he can learn that handling will not hurt him. He is worried by the male owner approaching what he regarded as precious (his bed and toys). This is not personal. Dogs often guard important items like bones and the solution is to make approaches to him safe and non threatening. Rehomed dogs do often have separation anxiety as they fear abandonment, but Buddy does settle when he is left. However, he gets very excited when people leave. He jumps and nips rather like a young puppy does and can also do this to get his owners attention. The owner did not see the biting of the grandchildren but he was trying to get attention after playing at the time. Safety precautions have been put in place (play pen and dog gates) so that Buddy can be supervised closely alongside training to get his focus. These owners have taken on a dog who has a lot of needs, but are willing to do the large amount of work that is required. He responded extremely well on the day and I am confident that over time they will have a much happier and more settled dog. They acknowledge that they will always have to take precautions so that he is not triggered to bite and are happy to do so as responsible dog owners.

M.G.
London

27th November 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead Other

Graham spent 4 hours with us -it was a very thorough, focused and useful session. I liked how Graham tailored it to what we needed most and took a holistic approach to all the factors affecting Archie's anxiety. He was very careful, thoughtful and affectionate with Archie which is the most important thing for us.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Archie is a 10 month old Whippet. He became very nervous after castration which can happen when a dogs testosterone levels are reduced. He found it particularly challenging to meet strange dogs especially when on the lead. His owners are now rebuilding his confidence and teaching him how to behave appropriately. This is not a quick fix for fearful dog, but he is making good progress.

C.C.
Hackney, London

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2018 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training