what our clients say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

21st November 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Toileting
Photo of D.F.'s dog

Between the two dogs, Rosalie and Emily I had virtually every problem going. Now we have dogs that behave significantly better. They are so much better than they were with visitors, strangers and dogs. Emily has stopped toileting in the house and they both listen to me now. Thank you Jo for helping so much with helpful ideas and support.


D.F.
Maldon, Essex

20th November 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management Separation Anxiety
Photo of S.W.'s dog

Jo is an absolutely fabulous trainer! I first contacted Jo as my new maltese puppy was showing some signs of separation anxiety and also getting into some habits that needed attention. When I first met Jo she immediately put me at ease. She provided me with easy to follow training tips as well as showing me all sorts of amazing techniques that have worked wonders on Scampi. Now 9 months old I contacted Jo again as Scampi was showing a few new tricks and I needed Jo's help. We went to meet Jo who again gave invaluable advise even before we got home! I can't rate Jo enough she has helped me and scampi and I would recommend her to anyone who is having trouble with their dog. Thanks Jo!


S.W.
London

20th November 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting Other
Photo of T.N.'s dog

After being woefully under prepared for the arrival of Lulu aged 8 weeks into our family it was in somewhat of a state of desperation we started our search for help. We didn't think traditional once a week dog training classes would be up to the task or have an immediate enough effect.

We knew immediately we had made the right choice upon Jo's first visit. The initial assessment was extensive and covered all aspects of puppy care and management. Most importantly for us Jo focused on where we had concerns. We have a 2yr son and the nipping was of particular concern to us. After showing us few simple techniques we were able to effectively manage it going forward. Jo was also able to give us some insights into the care of Lulu which you wouldn't necessarily receive from your vet. For example the choice of feeding a raw food diet. Something which we intend to do.

We have subsequently called Jo back a couple of times to help us with some of common doggy issues that Lulu has. Each time Lulu has responded quickly and positively to each session and using what Jo has taught us we have been able to correct the problem. What is particularly good for us is that we are able to arrange a visit with Jo in good time and don't have to wait forever for an appointment. Jo's techniques are always tailored to you, the owner, and there is no 'one size fits all' approach. We've used a whistle, a clicker, a harness, treats, and good old praise all to good effect.

Lulu is now well on her way to becoming the model dog. She's brilliant with our 2yr old son and is his constant, nipping-free, companion.

The reassurance to know that, should you have any problems, help is just a phone call away is in my view invaluable. The world of dog training is full of contradictory information and it can seem overwhelming when faced on your own without any prior experience of dogs like us. With Jo we can cut through all of that, get to the heart of an issue, and manage it right away.


T.N.
Romford, Essex

17th October 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Recall or not coming when called
Photo of C.F.'s dog

The first session covered a huge amount which we found hard to absorb. This may well be due to our ages (60's and 70's) and not due to Jo's explanations which were very thorough. We obviously take longer to get things on board these days. We have been practicing what we were taught and our friend said it took her 6 months to teach her dog what we have managed with Jeeves in a few weeks. Our second session gave us more help and practice so that we know what to do in difficult situations and we are much more confident now.


C.F.
Rainham, Essex

4th October 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

Jo identified the problem on our first visit and helped me to come over it. She gave my confidence back and transformed our life for the better. Since then I can enjoy my walks with my two dogs again. Sometimes thats all we need, a professional advice and some direction. It made a huge difference for us. THX!!


S.B.
ILFORD, Essex

21st September 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Toileting Other
Photo of M.C.'s dog

When Jo first came Poppy was out of control. She was weeing everywhere, jumped on everybody, nipped visitors, chewed remote controls plus mobile phones, wouldn't come when called, pulled me off my feet when walking and simply wouldn't listen to me. I have had Rottweilers for 38 years and have never had a dog like this. Poppy is now so well behaved. She is great walking, clean in the house, listens to me and I can have visitors again. My dog is such a happy dog now and we have finally bonded together. Thank you so much.


M.C.
Isleworth, London

14th September 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise
Photo of P.S.'s dog

We have had Ollie since he was 7 months, he is now 6 years old. When we first got him we took to the vets (whom he bit). It was then we were told of Bark Busters and our first trainers arrived and did exactly what "they said on the tin" and taught us how to control our dog. We then had trouble with Ollie barking in garden and front door and our new trainer arrived, Jo. She made such a difference to ours and Ollie's life with her compassion and showing us how nervous our little dog was and showed us a positive route to go down. We have had much success using the "clicker training" she showed us and we now are a more positive household. Ollie is showing signs of being a calmer dog whilst out on walks, his behavior to other dogs has improved, he no longer snarls and growls when another dog approaches, he lets them sniff and I then call him away and he comes ready for his reward. What can we say Jo, thank you for helping us to achieve to turn this little dog into a calmer and more of a delight to own. I look forward to your next visit and hopefully to show you how well we have progressed. Ollie too thanks you, he is a happier dog and grooming him has become a pleasure and not a chore thanks to the help you gave us.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Ollie is a delightful little Terrier cross with bags of personality. His owners had done a brilliant job with his original training, but he struggled to cope in some areas. He is very nervous and would get aggressive when frightened so the "clicker" is to help his owners tell him precisely when he gets it right in a way he understands. They are making amazing progress with this. He also had a terrible skin condition which his owners have now been treating successfully with herbal medication, but every time they tried to groom him, he tried to bite them. The wonderful side effect of the training they have been doing with Ollie is that he has got his confidence back and they have been able to use the "clicker" to convince him that grooming is not such a terrible thing.

P.S.
Sutton, Surrey

26th August 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Separation Anxiety

We approached Jo to assist us with some severe aggressive behavioural problems we had with our rescue Yorkshire Terrier. He had a known abusive past by his previous owner and came to us with anxiety, aggression and possessiveness. His behavioural patterns were complicated and exceedingly difficult to fully overcome. In spite of this, Jo greatly assisted us in attempting to conquer the problems by visiting us at home and providing sensible and direct guidance to help us all counteract our problem with Pip. Jo asked many questions to gain a full understanding of the situation and the problem with the dog. Jo's patience, knowledge and constant communication helped to improve the situation and gave us peace of mind! We fully recommend Jo and thank her for all her assistance.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Pip's is a very damaged dog who struggled with visitors, strangers, children and dogs and often became aggressive as a result. This was particularly difficult for his owners who live in very a busy part of London without a private garden so couldn't provide him with the quiet life he needed and made following a training program extremely hard - even though the family did make every effort to do so. Fortunately for Pip, after reviewing all the options and appropriate consultation, including with their Vet, they recognised that he could be helped in the right environment and re-homed him to a lady who is experienced in rehabilitating small dogs. This was a painful decision for the family who truly love him, but they have put Pip first which is all that can be asked for in these circumstances.

J.L.
London

18th August 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of C.C.'s dog

Before we met Jo, Dolly did not respond to any commands and could not be walked off the lead. She was very mischievious! She now is very responsive to commands and can happily be walked off lead and return when called. She had issues with cars and cyclists but she has responded so positively and is now far calmer. Jo has made a huge impact and Dolly is now a far improved version of her lovely self.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Dolly is a Swedish Valhund which is a similar breed to our Corgis. When I first saw her she was 8 months old and as is typical with most "teenagers" (which is what she was equivalent to at the time) there was a long list to tackle. She liked to chew and shred things plus dig up plants. She pulled on the lead, jumped on people and lunged at passing cars and cyclists. She had got so bothered by cars that she didn't want to go out for a walk and ran away rather than have the lead put on. She also wouldn't come back when called. She also hated being left on her own. Dolly's owner has patiently worked with her tackling everything bit by bit rather than trying to do everything at once and 9 months later she now has a dog that she has a great bond with and is a total delight to be around.

C.C.
Chelmsford, Essex

18th August 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of P.M.'s dog

Great way of training. With 3 children it is hard to take Mac to training. It also means he is trained in obedience in the house before outside. Jo made it very easy and explained everything very well. If you want to stop your dog being a pest with chickens and children call Jo!!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
I first saw Mac who is a black Golden Doodle when he was 11 weeks old. He lives on a farm with a very busy family who were very keen to get it right from the outset. Macs training was halted when he broke his leg badly and had to spend 10 weeks in the Vets healing. He went in as a puppy and came out as a teenager who was keen to test all the boundaries set before his accident. Fortunately his owner had spent lots of time every week visiting him so the bond was still strong and he is now settling back into the family routine.

P.M.
Ingatestone, Essex

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training