what our clients say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

22nd April 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Recall or not coming when called
Photo of R.D.'s dog

Jo has helped us so much in a short space of time. She gave us simple advice and tips for helping to control and become leader to our 'minding' dog Tilly. She is extremely knowledgeable and helped us to understand why Tilly was behaving in the way she was. She is very easy to get on with, makes you feel comfortable and is understanding regarding any training issues - also she is always on hand with advice! Although Tilly is still a work in progress (it's early days and she's a very strong willed little girl!) I would recommend Jo to anyone having behaviour problems with their pooch.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Tilly is a lovely little Yorkshire terrier/poodle cross who insists on "minding" her owners and their home. This is a type of guarding so she barks out of the windows to chase people away and constantly demands attention from her owners to the point of exhausting her owners with her game playing. When she isn't getting them to play or pay attention to her she is digging at the floors and furniture and chewing. Dogs like Tilly don't have an "off" switch and they need good leadership (i.e. the sort of good parenting a boisterous child needs)so she can learn to behave appropriately. She is fortunate to have owners who are prepared to train and educate Tilly and they have thrown themselves whole heartedly into teaching Tilly good behaviour rather than simply telling her off for bad behaviour. They have made great progress to date and I have every confidence that they will continue to do so.

R.D.
Romford, Essex

14th April 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Recall or not coming when called Toileting
Photo of K.M.'s dog

We had had Benji for about 9 months when we had our first meeting with Jo. Benji was a rescue dog and although we didn't know when we got him we are his 4th home including the kennels so he has the best start as he was about 9 months when we got him. Initially Benji settled in well though I should have realised there maybe problems as when I collected him from the kennels he ran around the inside of my car! It was a few months after we had him when problems developed. Benji became more aggressive, particularly to people coming to our house. He had to be put on a lead when I answered the door. He was also becoming more aggressive to other dogs while we were out walking. I had tried dog training classes but this didn't really help as he didn't seem to cope with these well. We had also visited a local behaviourist for a consultation who gave us some suggestions. When Jo came our house it really seem to make a difference to see him at home, she was able to explain his behaviour to us and give us exercises to help regain control and make him feel more secure. It is also useful to know sometimes there are some situation you can't control but that we can do the right things to calm Benji and regain control. It is going to take a long time with Benji but I think with Jo's help we are making progress now.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This Jack Russell Terrier has some very severe behavioural problems and has been fortunate to find owners who are truly committed to rehabilitating him. His fear makes him aggressive in any situation that he feels threatened in and his owners are patiently working with him to build up his confidence and train appropriate behaviour in a given situation. There is no quick fix with dogs as damaged as Benji. He has had numerous homes and has finally found owners who are willing to take the time and make the effort to help him. It is delight to see a dog who is increasingly looking to his owners for guidance rather than trying to deal with what frightens him on his own. I have every confidence that over time he will trust his owners entirely and react calmly to situations he finds difficult.

K.M.
Shoeburyness, Essex

11th April 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management Separation Anxiety
Photo of R.E.'s dog

Jo is simply excellent. Separation anxiety was the main issue for us at first, Michael being a new puppy; and me being a first time puppy mummy, I was also anxious to get it right! We've all being sleeping well since Jo got involved with us, Michael is calm at bed times and we are all sleeping through the night! Jo is an excellent trainer and is ever ready to answer any questions and offer reassurance and guidance as necessary. She is patient, kind, knowledgeable and clearly loves what she's doing. No wonder she does it so well!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner has a lovely little Bolognese puppy. Michael is a little shy and needs time to get to get to know new people and settle into new situations. His owner has been very diligent in building her puppy's confidence so he can feel secure on his own and comfortable when presented with new experiences. He is a bright little boy and eager to please his new family. It is a delight to see him progressing so well with his kind and caring owner.

R.E.
Ilford, Essex

4th April 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety
Photo of D.F.'s dog

Jo is fantastic, we can't recommend her highly enough to anybody who is struggling with dog behavioural problems. We have two Yorkshire Terrier x Jack Russell males who barked and behaved uncontrollably whenever anybody came to the house. We also had separation anxiety issues and Jo completely identified both sets of problems we were having and has given us excellent advice on ways to address the bad behaviour. She also explained why the dogs behave the way they do which makes it easier use the techniques in the right way. For us, it is still a 'work in progress' but Jo is always available to give advice and support. Jo has shown us how to be in control of our dogs which immediately made our dogs happier and more settled.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners have a tough job on their hands. One of their dogs is really struggling with his constant drive to protect his owners and the house at all costs and will take every opportunity he can to go back to what he sees as "his job" of guarding. This means his owners have to be persistent and consistent when trying to resolve this. Fortunately he has owners who are prepared to do the work and recognise that this isn't a "quick fix". They have progressed really well. Both dogs are happier, more settled and prepared to listen to their owners and respect the boundaries put in place. The long term outlook for these dogs is good and I have every confidence that these owners will achieve their aims.

D.F.
Ingrave, Essex

19th March 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Teddy & Derek didn't have the best start in life being in a rescue centre in Spain for the first 5 months of their lives and having very little human contact. We felt we had made good progress in integrating these frightened little dogs into the family and giving them a happy and stable home. However, there were still a few things they did that we were not happy with, in particular they would jump up and bark at small children. Jo explained to us, why the dogs reacted the way they did to children. She also pointed out how they reacted to one another, to us and more importantly how we reacted to them, and what we were doing wrong!. She explained what needed to be done to overcome the problems we are having and left us with some exercises to get us started. We are already seeing a difference in the way 'the boys' react to each other and to us and we are looking forward to continuing to work with Jo to resolve the issues we have. I have already recommended Jo to a number of people and wouldn't hesitate to do so in the future.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These terrier cross breed dogs were lucky enough to find the right family from the outset. They have patiently integrated the dogs slowly but surely into their family lives and nurtured the relationship to the point where the dogs were ready to pay attention and listen to them instead of scurrying behind the sofa. They have done amazingly well and just needed to know how to keep progressing with the dogs. When dogs have had such little human contact as these there is no "quick fix". Everything has to be done patiently without rushing, so the dogs are confident that "their humans" will protect them from what scares them (children) and look after them. They really are delightful dogs and are an advertisement for what can be done with very damaged dogs when they find the right homes.

J.W.
Hockley, Essex

14th March 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Toileting

After receiving a letter from the council regarding a complaint about my dogs barking especially late at night, I contacted Jo at Bark Busters. Within days I had my dogs barking under control and so life is much less stressful for myself, my dogs and my neighbours. Jo has addressed every issue I have with my dogs explaining fully why they do it. I have been retrained in my approach and handling of my dogs and they have responded beautifully. I recommend Jo to all dogs and their owners!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner was distraught to find that she was upsetting her neighbours and quickly put everything she needed in place to get her dogs (Jack Russell Terriers/Chihuahua crosses) to stop barking and listen to her. Particular credit is due as one of her dogs has a very serious medical condition and his ill health was the main reason for her allowing bad behaviour in the first place. She has had such good results she is now methodically tackling other problems such as submissive weeing in the house and dog to dog aggression with very good effect. It is a delight for me to see such happy and settled dogs.

W.L.
Herongate, Essex

3rd March 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other

I am very pleased with the progress of the training that Jo has suggested. I was not at all sure whether calling in Bark Busters was a good idea but I am really happy that I did. Jo has given me a lot of advice not only on behaviour but on feeding as well. She makes our meetings very enjoyable. I would not hesitate to recommend Bark Busters to friends. In fact I already have.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This lady has two lovely rough collies who are very nervous and barked constantly. One of the dogs lunged for joggers and cyclists and their owner found it very difficult to take them both out for a walk together. She is an experienced dog owner and has done very well resolving her dogs problems despite bouts of ill health. She can now take them out confidently and enjoy her walks.

I.G.
Chelmsford, Essex

15th February 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

Excellent. Millie has made tremendous progress in the 10 days since Jo visited.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Millie is a Cockerpoo who's owners needed a training program in place before going with her to France and Spain for several months. Millie was hyperactive and constantly attention seeking making it difficult for her owners to safely take her in their camper van and on their boat. She would also escape and run off and not come back. In a very short time she has truly made the "tremendous progress" her owners have commented on and they can now enjoy their extended holiday with their lovely dog.

M.S.
Shoeburyness, Essex

5th February 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Separation Anxiety Other

We took on a Battersea rescue Staffie Cross, called Coco in August 2012. As relatively experienced dog owners we thought that when she presented any behavioural issues that we would be able to deal with it.

We were wrong, in reality, Coco was a very scared little dog, who if we left her alone in the house would chew her way through crates, eat and scratch our internal doors, be terrified of loud noises (fireworks and thunder storms) and in general looked very unhappy and unsettled whilst living with us. Outside of the house she would kill any ball within her eyesight and bark and jump at any dog larger than herself, all without us being able to distract or calm her. We had thrown every little tip and trick we had learnt with our previous dogs but had little to no success with these methods.

In January 2013, we could no longer deal with seeing our beautiful little dog looking so miserable with her life. I saw that Jo had worked with my local rescue, Hornchurch Animal Rescue with some success so as we had literally nothing to lose decided to make the phone call. This was one of the wisest decisions we had ever made.

Jo visits your home for a few hours and quickly assesses your dog by their body language. We had a very anxious dog and we were making her worse by not addressing her bad behaviour and reassuring her when she was really fearful. Jo leaves you with a given a tailored program of re-training her and reinforcing her good behaviour. As she is such an intelligent little girl she really took to the new regime like a duck to water. Jo really proves that if you are willing to put in a little of your time every day in training your dog that you will get repaid a thousandfold. We have a happy relaxed little dog who is now seen in the local neighbourhood as an ambassador for her breed.

Thank you Jo x

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This family had taken on a beautiful Staffordshire Bull Terrier cross who was so anxious she found it hard to handle everyday situations. It is impossible to know if her time in rescue caused these problems or if she was in rescue because of them, but the end result meant that Coco spent her time reacting to situations she couldn’t handle with some pretty unpleasant consequences for her loving family. The worst of this being her separation anxiety where she would destroy the house if left on her own. Her owners have worked hard to build Cocos confidence and she has blossomed into a lovely friendly dog who now looks to them to look after her and is a dog who is enjoying her life to the full. An amazing turn around in this little dogs life.

N.R.
Hornchurch, Essex

2nd February 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

Before Jo became our trainer I almost could not walk my own dog on leash. Pepper would jump at me, bite the leash and at his worst he bit me in his over excited frenzies. As a 31kg boxer, this was becoming dangerous for us all, as well as heartbreaking

as all I wanted was to walk and jog with my boy. The previous (non Barkbusters) training we received in Germany (where we had been living) involved some overly harsh methods, meaning Jo had to undo and put right some bad learned behaviours (both Pepper and mine). Jo has some great training techniques and identified the areas that Pepper and I needed to work on. Not everything works for every dog, so Jo always had alternative training methods if our initial efforts did not go well and kept going until we found the solution. Jo gives very clear instructions and always leaves you with a clear plan of what you need to work on with your dog. The result? I can now walk, jog, run with Pepper and I can fully enjoy the benefits of dog ownership, like everyone should be able to. I know that Jo will continue to support us throughout our 12 month agreement and always responds quickly to any questions i have in between our meetings. One final comment, Jo recommended we shift to a raw food diet, which we did. Pepper loves it and looks really well for the diet change. I second her recommendation and advise dog owners to research and consider a raw food diet for their pet.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner had a really tough job on her hands. She had tried numerous ways to resolve the problem without success. Her Boxer Pepper is a really confident dog and although his general level of training was very good he would simply do what he wanted to do with no heed to his owner when over excited. Pepper has proved to be an extremely intelligent dog and his owner has worked very hard at getting her dog to listen to her in all situations and respond to her instruction even when distracted. This work means that Pepper is much calmer and his owner is now able to re-focus him onto her so that he doesn't run off after other dogs balls and more to the point doesn't treat the lead as a big game to play tug-of-war with. A fantastic result.

J.F.
Basildon, Essex

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training