what our clients say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

28th January 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

We didn't know what to expect,but after a chat and an explanation to why Bonnie was acting the way she was (trying to be pack leader over the men in the family), we was told she was a frightened little pup who didn't want the responsibility that she had taken on. After a few training tasks set by Jo, it was amazing to see Bonnie react well. We have been doing the tasks for 2 weeks now and Bonnie is no longer pushing past us up and downstairs, she comes when called indoors and from the garden and growling is down to 2-3 times a week rather than countless times per day.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This lovely family adore Bonnie their collie cross dog and treated her as queen in the home, but Bonnie was uncomfortable with this and spent her time constantly growling at the men and would only listen to her female owner. Bonnie has thrived knowing what her boundaries are now and her true dog nature is showing through. Congratulations to her owners who have worked very hard to put rules in place for Bonnie and stick to them. She is a testament to their hard work and commitment.

S.G.
Hornchurch, Essex

28th January 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Other

Third time lucky. Should have gone to Bark Busters the 1st time round. Been telling everyone about Jo our Trainer, even if they don't have a dog! The training is just what I have been looking for. Jo comes round to your house and spends time with you and your dog and that is great. Don't need to explain a lot as she can see what your dog is like and training is put in place straight away (and done from your own home). Jo makes it so easy. You can ask anything and Jo will help you solve the problem. I was helped with Tips diet which I have had trouble with since I have had him. Thank you Jo. Thank you Bark Busters.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner has a very active border collie and simply wanted to know how to deal with his problems quickly and efficiently. Tip was so hyperactive she struggled to get him to stop to try to learn anything and a series of health issues when he was a pup meant that general training had been almost impossible. Tip has responded brilliantly to the training. His owner simply needed to know what to do and she has stuck at it and now has a dog she can truly be proud of. Top marks!!!

L.D.
Chadwell Heath, Essex

6th January 2013

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Having never had a dog before I never realised how hard it would be to train one. My Pomeranian Marley was a terror, every bad behavioural trait you could expect in a dog he had, aggression, chewing, barking, attention seeking you name it. After my first phone call with Jo I knew she would be exactly what we needed, not only was she experienced she immediately made me feel at ease with her. From our first session Marley was a different dog, everyone who knew him was noticing the difference. Not only had his behaving improved dramatically it was clear to see that he was a happier dog. This is all thanks to Jo. She has shown me that with a few simple changes I can have the loving well behaved dog I thought I was getting in the first place.

Thank you Jo

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Marley was an extremely nervous dog and almost all his behaviour came from fear. This owner got her whole family involved in his rehabilitation and took great delight in the amazing changes she saw in Marley as the training progressed. She enjoyed it so much she has even gone on to do additional obedience training with him and Marley is now confident enough to entertain family and friends rather than to bark and try and bite them. A truly amazing result.

M.C.
Chadwell Heath, Essex

18th December 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting

Jo was brilliant. She showed us that our puppy could be trained quite easily with the right knowledge. She also showed us that we were at fault in lots of ways and gave us great guidance in how to resolve these issues. Bailey is coming along a treat and whilst it's work in progress, we can see light at the end of the tunnel. Thanks Jo

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Bailey is a lovely little Bichon Frieze puppy who has had some health problems which made his issues harder to deal with. He didn't like to be on his own and was very demanding of attention to the point where he would bite his owners if they didn't give in. A lot of work has been done by his owners to make him more confident and settled and he is now very obedient and well behaved. The final issue - still toileting on puppy pads - has had to be put on hold owing to his ill health, but I am confident his owners will do a great job when he is well enough to tackle this.

S.B.
Romford, Essex

17th November 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

We have been astounded by the change in our German Shepherd puppy, Blue, since starting the training with Jo. He used to spend a lot of time outdoors as we were not sure how to integrate him properly within our home, even though he was already house trained and always sleeps indoors. Jo identified that Blue was very anxious and worked on techniques to help him overcome this. Since her first visit, Blue spends most of his time indoors and we all feel so much more confident with him and him with us. Jo also advised us of what he should be eating and this change in diet has really benefitted him. Blue still has more training to do in terms of lead walking etc but we are confident now that we are on the right track. We always look forward to seeing Jo as her input and training has been invaluable. We just wish we had contacted her sooner.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This lovely family wanted their dog to be part of their family and were disappointed to find that Blue seemed to prefer to be outside. Blue had few social manners and simply wanted to do his own thing so it was a case of them all working hard to teach him what was acceptable manners and to actually listen to his owners. He has come on in leaps and bounds and now prefers to be inside with his owners rather than outside and has become a loving and obedient family pet. He is a true credit to his owners.

MF
Ilford

8th November 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Pulling on the Lead

Wow... What an impressive trainer. I had a problem dog and was pregnant with twins and panicked about how I could turn things around so that my dog would accept the babies and how I could correct/change her behaviour problems. Not only did the trainer help me turn my dog around but she also taught me how to be the owner/pack leader that I had always wanted to be. Her continued support has been soooooo helpful and has ensured that we don't regress. Jo has not only supported me and cassey at a very difficult/challenging time but has extended this support to my dog walker and family members.

I would recommend Jo and Bark Busters to all family and friends and have been that impressed that my friend has also enlisted the help from Bark Busters for her dogs. My dog is sooooo content and completely different from before Jo came.

I have recently had my twins and cassey has instantly accepted them as her pack members (as I religiously followed Jo's instructions). I had a small blip with cassey becoming protective of the babies but that was made worse as I had not recovered fully from the op, so Jo came for a follow up visit and now we're changing this behaviour and cassey seems happier for it. I will always be indebted to Jo for her expertise/compassion and continued support.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner is has done everything she can to ensure that her dog and new babies live happily together. She had previously invested time in the training of her dog and had a very good relationship with cassey, but cassey felt that she had to protect at all times and was acting like a guard dog rather than a family pet. Everyone has pitched in and Cassey is now able to accept visitors and relax around strangers and is able to show her true loving personality without over stepping the mark.

KM
Woodford Green, Essex

11th October 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety

I was sceptical at first about whether this would work. After the first appointment I felt much happier in what was needed to achieve the results we needed. I didn't think we had made much progress but on the second visit it was surprising how far we had come. This is still an ongoing process but I feel that with Jo's help we have achieved so much. My two dogs still have their 'naughty' moments and I always have my water bottle handy in case they start to fight again. I am at last beginning to enjoy the dogs instead of thinking how stupid I was to have 2 dogs. I have to say a big thank you to Jo and have that reassurance that should I need her in the next year she is only a phone call away.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owners dogs were constantly fighting. It would start off as over-exuberant playing and rapidly degenerate into scrapping and fighting. When left on their own it would include destruction and the neighbours were complaining about the noise. The owner and her family have put in a lot of hard work to get the dogs to listen and without them having to shout or physically pull the dogs apart any more. The dogs true personalities are now showing through and they can be enjoyed now rather than constantly told off. This is a major achievement in a very short period of time.

JA
Chelmsford Essex

3rd October 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

I wasn't sure how much I would get from the training but was very surprised at how quickly there was an improvement in behaviour. Jo gave simple, easy to follow instructions and they work! I have to constantly reinforce what I have learnt but the dogs are responding - even Sam who is 11. It is hard work but I am getting results even with Charlie stealing food! Thank you Jo, look forward to our next session walking with food in the woods!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These 2 lovely labradors have great temperaments but were really frustrating their owner with some annoying and embarrassing habits. The worse of which was Charlie who would dive into the dishwasher, steal any food he could and take shopping bags and food off anyone who walks past him. Despite having a very busy lifestyle this lady has had some real results with her dogs and it is a pleasure to see them happily responding to her and her commands rather than going off and doing their own thing. The owner has done fantastically well in getting great results in such a short time!!

GB
Woodford Green, Essex

20th September 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

Jo was a lovely lady and made the time she was with us very enjoyable. She gave us lots of advice and good tips which we are using to help out 2 puppies easier to handle and train. The older of our 2 dogs is now taking notice of what we say to her and not being such a nuisance when people visit or walk past the house. Because the younger puppy is only 4 months old he will take a bit longer but is already responding well. We may need another visit in the future but at the moment are continuing with the advice Jo gave. I was recommended Jo by my hairdresser and have already recommended her to other friends.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner had already worked hard with her two dogs, but was struggling a little owing to physical disability and 2 fast young dogs scampering around the place. It was helpful that the older of her two dogs alerted her to visitors but she wouldn't stop barking when the visitors came in. She has responded very well to guidance as to what she can and can't do and is a much happier and settled dog as a result. The younger puppy was starting to copy the older dog, but is now learning good behaviour at his own pace.

JD
Hornchurch, Essex

12th September 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead

Jo was amazing and still is! If I have any questions she is more than happy to advise me on the phone! It was so interesting to understand why my dogs are behaving the way they are.... Things are a lot easier now at home although being on my own with two big dogs is difficult! But me and the dogs are a lot happier now we all know our places! I loved the whole experience and want to say thank you so much! X

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner struggled to take her dogs out together as they were competitive with each other and pulled her down the road. One of her dogs was rescued and although they looked to have settled in well together they competed for her attention in the home and refused at times to listen to her. Once she knew exactly why it was happening she took the necessary steps and her dogs responded immediately. She has done a fantastic job with her 2 big and powerful dogs and they are a credit to her patience and persistence in training them.

NL
Hornchurch, Essex

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training