what our clients say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

29th August 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Puppy Management Other
Photo of C.V.'s dog

We called in Jo because we were very concerned about Buddy's prey drive with our (five!) cats. We had collected Buddy a week before and felt it was best to get help early- even though our friends and family thought we were jumping the gun- and we were right! Jo was fantastic: she immediately identified that Buddy had a strong prey drive. Her methods worked instantly. Without her support and guidance we would not have developed the confidence to train Buddy and manage his behaviour. We have already seen a vast improvement. Jo was very warm, friendly, and clearly knew what she was doing; she demonstrated, in a non- judgemental, professional manner how to turn our little terror into a bundle of joy we have now developed a positive relationship with. We are more than happy to contact her in the future and we know that she will be able to help us should any issues arise. We highly recommend her services and are so glad we asked for help before things got worse, not to mention the other advice we had regarding nutrition and further training. Would highly recommend. Amazing!!!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners rescued Buddy from Romania so he came to them several weeks older than many pups do. Most puppies want to play with cats when very young. Some can be very scared of cats and unfortunately some will treat cats as prey and will chase with intent. If this is not nipped in the bud quickly it is dangerous for both the cat and the puppy. These owners took the right steps and followed good advice given on integrating their cats and new puppy but Buddy was always on edge around the cats, barking and lunging constantly and trying to chase at any opportunity. They recognised the dangers and undertook the intervention and training needed to make Buddy safe around the cats. Their very quick action means that the prognosis is excellent for Buddy (and the cats!)

C.V.
Hornchurch, Essex

5th August 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Toileting Other
Photo of L.P.'s dog

Alfie had a lot of issues, nipping, chewing, urinating and pooping indoors and seemingly aggressive behaviour especially towards other animals and visitors. Jo showed us how to "get control" of the front door and making Alfie pay attention to us. Once we had obedience in the house a lot of his issues resolved themselves. (This process took approx 1 hour!). We are currently working on his "outside" issues and are having good results. Jo was fantastic and offered lots of useful and practical advice. We felt well supported and are looking forward to our third visit to work on socialising Alfie with other dogs. Thanks Jo!!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Alfie is a Border Collie/Fox Terrier Cross stray dog that came from Ireland via the Dogs Trust. He was believed to be approximately 2 years old, but a lot of his behaviour in the home has proved to be that of a much younger adolescent. (It is very difficult to guess a dogs age when they are not microchipped.) In addition to his adolescent issues, he was fearful of visitors, running and barking at them would do the same with the family late at night. He did not have the confidence to "guard" the house and needed to know that the family would do the job. Once boundaries were in place Alfie has relaxed and is becoming an obedient, loving and friendly family dog. It always take time with rescue dogs but given that time they make wonderful companions.

L.P.
Chelmsford, Essex

1st August 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Other
Photo of D.W.'s dog

Big improvement all round. Most so with his biting. Lots better when when walking near traffic as is the barking when he gets over excited. He has now been on a fresh diet which suits Rafferty much better.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Rafferty is a very active Welsh Terrier puppy. His owner has previously always owned large dogs and was struggling with his behaviour rather than his training which she is experienced in doing. Lunging at traffic was particularly difficult because she lives in the country on a very fast road and has to walk along it to get to her local common. Puppies are always a work in progress but he was significantly better behaved on my second visit and his owner was enjoying training her puppy, rather than getting frustrated at his bad behaviour.

D.W.
Westerham, Kent

30th July 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety Other

Jo was friendly & knowledgeable and listened to understand fully what our problems were & she explained and made it easy to understand why the behaviour was happening. She suggested simple, manageable and constructive solutions to try in the first instance. She never judged us or our dogs & nothing she said felt like she was criticising what we'd done up to now. We have noticed instant improvements although know & understand that we've a long way to go. A few days after Jo's visit I needed some advice about a particular situation with our dogs, I text Jo & within an hour she was on the phone giving her invaluable help & suggestions. We know its early days but we are now feeling positive about the future behaviour of our dogs.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner has a particularly difficult set of problems to deal with. She has two girl siblings who are fearful and when they get frustrated can sometimes squabble with each other. They are pretty well behaved dogs and listen to their owner, but they have unpleasant neighbours who believe dogs should never bark (which is unrealistic) and have taken to yelling over the fence at the dogs and scaring them. The dogs are also scared of some dogs when out so there is work to do both inside and outside the house plus in the garden. Fortunately they have a very committed family who put their dogs first and I am confident they will get the results they want and need.

J.O.
Brentwood, Essex

7th July 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead
Photo of E.P.'s dog

Hello Bark Busters! I do apologise for taking so much time to leave you the review.

We are very happy with your services! Mrs Jo literally changed our lives!!! After speaking with Jo we understood where we were making mistakes and after applying Jo's advises Zuza changed her behaviour in matter of few days and finally we are at the point where it's just a pleasure to take her on the walks and spend time together outdoors, even in company of other dogs! I'm missing the words to express our gratitude for understanding and help which Jo gave to us!!!

I will be definitely recommending your services to all people I know! Wish You all the best!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Zuza is a 3 year old female British Bulldog. She is a very active dog and is miserable when not exercised sufficiently. To keep her happy and occupied her owners were ball throwing for her. This is excellent exercise for many dogs but for some it triggers their prey instinct and they can become aggressive. This is not the common "its mine" ball aggression we often see. It is the hunting instinct kicking in and the dog becomes very alert to all animals and its surroundings. Dogs in this state are not relaxed and can be difficult to control. They have to be re-trained to focus on their owners, walk calmly on the lead and to behave appropriately around other dogs and people. Zuza was already a well trained dog. Her owners just needed to know what to do to help her.

E.P.
Acton Town, London

4th July 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Other

The training was explained well,Jo was very kind and patient.

I have a peace of mind now,as I was left with things to do,to help correct the problem,

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner has two young girl Cavachons. They are very well trained and obedient but 6 months ago the younger girl had a bad experience with a dog and since then she has got more and more fearful around dogs. This has been very stressful for her owner. She responded really well to her initial training and we have a further confidence building session planned. Update: On the second session I arranged for her to meet a calm young dog. Her owner reported that in the interim she had become much happier around other dogs and she was able to be with this dog and not panic. Fear takes time to overcome, but she is starting to realise that she can be around other dogs and that she will be safe with her owner.

P.B.
Basildon, Essex

2nd July 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger
Photo of R.G.'s dog

Firstly, what really helped from the start was that I was told that Jo could help Dudley; this immediately made me feel more relaxed and that there was light at the end of the tunnel.

When Jo arrived, she put us both and Dudley at ease.

There was an immediate improvement with how Dudley greeted people at the door and when Jo explained how stressed he felt by having to answer the door, it all made sense. There is still work to do, but there was an immediate improvement, so thank you.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Dudley is a young miniature schnauzer. He is very anxious around meeting new people both in the home and outside and it got to the point where he nipped someone. This behaviour is common when a dog is trying to drive away what they are scared of. Although it is possible to avoid meeting dogs it is almost impossible to avoid seeing people when out on walks so it will take time and effort on his owners part to rebuild his confidence. He is very keen to listen to his owners so I believe that they will be able to make a huge difference to Dudley's life.

R.G.
Basildon, Essex

30th June 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger

The lesson was very enlightening and helpful. Not only did Jo explain how to perform the training she also explained the thorough reasoning behind it to give us a full picture. Jo herself was polite, patient and understanding which we greatly appreciated. Lottie responded so well to her calming influence and we saw marked improvement on the first lesson! We also learnt so much more than we have ever learnt from dog training classes before.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Lottie is a young Lakeland and Patterdale Terrier cross and is a very active young dog who needs lot of exercise. She has been well trained by her owners but sadly she has been attacked and badly injured twice by other dogs. As a result, over time she has steadily become more aggressive towards dogs. Her owners are very practical and walk her on a muzzle and lead for safety, but she lunges and barks when near any other dogs which is embarrassing for her owners. At this point we are working on getting control of Lotties lunging and barking but she has shown clear signs that she can be more relaxed around other dogs so we will do future work on this.

E.L.
Shooters Hill, London

15th June 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management

Very good and useful - we have never had a dog puppy before and Jo gave us a lot of tips, guidance and information - we are looking forward to our next session.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners have an absolutely delightful Miniature Schnauzer boy. They booked their session before they got the puppy which proved to be fortunate as they had unexpected problems with separation anxiety. It is common for puppies to have this when they first come to their new home but their little boy puppy had it worse than most and was keeping them up every night. It is important that pups with this problem are safe and secure with their new owners and are then taught to separate properly. He was too young to go outside on the first visit so we will be doing lead walking on the follow up.

H.S.
London

11th June 2017

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger
Photo of C.D.'s dog

On the very first meeting with Jo she noticed straight away how it had affected my husband and explained how it can be helped and put his mind at ease, a program was put in place and when she came back a week later could not believe how well penny had responded and my husband was a lot less stressed. We are both more calm in ourselves knowing in time her resource guarding will stop.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners have a 4 year old rescue Jack Russell girl. Penny was with them for over six months without any problem but then became aggressive to the male owner after she was spayed. She started to guard food and also the female owner so her husband couldn't enter the room without Penny lunging and barking at him. Resource guarding is a common behaviour in dogs. They will often guard their food, chews, toys, beds etc and can guard people. This is not personal. Penny showed similar behaviour with visitors. Dogs can be trained that humans are not a threat to them with calm and patient commitment from the owners. Although we cannot say why the possible trigger was when she was unwell after her spaying and it had then become a habit. Fortunately Penny has a great male owner who once he realised what was going on was prepared to tackle it. On my second visit Penny was developing a strong bonded relationship with him. It was great to see them both much happier.

C.D.
Romford, Essex

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training