what our clients say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

11th October 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety

I was sceptical at first about whether this would work. After the first appointment I felt much happier in what was needed to achieve the results we needed. I didn't think we had made much progress but on the second visit it was surprising how far we had come. This is still an ongoing process but I feel that with Jo's help we have achieved so much. My two dogs still have their 'naughty' moments and I always have my water bottle handy in case they start to fight again. I am at last beginning to enjoy the dogs instead of thinking how stupid I was to have 2 dogs. I have to say a big thank you to Jo and have that reassurance that should I need her in the next year she is only a phone call away.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owners dogs were constantly fighting. It would start off as over-exuberant playing and rapidly degenerate into scrapping and fighting. When left on their own it would include destruction and the neighbours were complaining about the noise. The owner and her family have put in a lot of hard work to get the dogs to listen and without them having to shout or physically pull the dogs apart any more. The dogs true personalities are now showing through and they can be enjoyed now rather than constantly told off. This is a major achievement in a very short period of time.

JA
Chelmsford Essex

3rd October 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

I wasn't sure how much I would get from the training but was very surprised at how quickly there was an improvement in behaviour. Jo gave simple, easy to follow instructions and they work! I have to constantly reinforce what I have learnt but the dogs are responding - even Sam who is 11. It is hard work but I am getting results even with Charlie stealing food! Thank you Jo, look forward to our next session walking with food in the woods!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These 2 lovely labradors have great temperaments but were really frustrating their owner with some annoying and embarrassing habits. The worse of which was Charlie who would dive into the dishwasher, steal any food he could and take shopping bags and food off anyone who walks past him. Despite having a very busy lifestyle this lady has had some real results with her dogs and it is a pleasure to see them happily responding to her and her commands rather than going off and doing their own thing. The owner has done fantastically well in getting great results in such a short time!!

GB
Woodford Green, Essex

20th September 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

Jo was a lovely lady and made the time she was with us very enjoyable. She gave us lots of advice and good tips which we are using to help out 2 puppies easier to handle and train. The older of our 2 dogs is now taking notice of what we say to her and not being such a nuisance when people visit or walk past the house. Because the younger puppy is only 4 months old he will take a bit longer but is already responding well. We may need another visit in the future but at the moment are continuing with the advice Jo gave. I was recommended Jo by my hairdresser and have already recommended her to other friends.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner had already worked hard with her two dogs, but was struggling a little owing to physical disability and 2 fast young dogs scampering around the place. It was helpful that the older of her two dogs alerted her to visitors but she wouldn't stop barking when the visitors came in. She has responded very well to guidance as to what she can and can't do and is a much happier and settled dog as a result. The younger puppy was starting to copy the older dog, but is now learning good behaviour at his own pace.

JD
Hornchurch, Essex

12th September 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead

Jo was amazing and still is! If I have any questions she is more than happy to advise me on the phone! It was so interesting to understand why my dogs are behaving the way they are.... Things are a lot easier now at home although being on my own with two big dogs is difficult! But me and the dogs are a lot happier now we all know our places! I loved the whole experience and want to say thank you so much! X

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner struggled to take her dogs out together as they were competitive with each other and pulled her down the road. One of her dogs was rescued and although they looked to have settled in well together they competed for her attention in the home and refused at times to listen to her. Once she knew exactly why it was happening she took the necessary steps and her dogs responded immediately. She has done a fantastic job with her 2 big and powerful dogs and they are a credit to her patience and persistence in training them.

NL
Hornchurch, Essex

31st August 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

I work for Hornchurch Animal Rescue and was at my wits end with Lulu my foster dog who had been with me for 3 months and already returned to rescue once at just 6 months old. Lulu was incredibly hard work - hyperactive, food possessive, would steal food from my 4yr old, pulled on the lead, was constantly mouthing and basically had no social manners. Long term dog experienced friends dreaded visits to my house. We saw Jo on 2 occasions after she very kindly offered to help with Lulu who I should've mentioned was a JRT x Dalmatian. After the first visit we saw a difference in her behaviour with immediate effect, after 10 minutes to be precise. We persevered with the 'baah' training which meant training me just as much as Lulu as we had both developed naughty habits and the results have been fantastic. Lulu has now been successfully re-homed to a lovely family with 3 children and 2 cats whom she adores. She walks much better on the lead, is no longer food possessive, has calmed down greatly and has settled in so well they can't imagine life without her. Big thank you to Jo for all of your help I didn't think Lulu would ever find a home and I couldn't have done it without your help.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This lady is an extremely experienced dog fosterer and has rehabilitated a series of troubled dogs over the years. She also works tirelessly matching new families with the dogs, cats and other animals that come into the rescues care. Although Lulu was very young she had significant behavioural issues and it was a full time job keeping her safe and under control. As her fosterer this lady wanted the best chance for Lulu to be homed and was prepared to spend significant time and effort in training her, which she duly did. The successful homing of Lulu is a testament to her commitment to giving every dog a chance, no matter what their problems and that damaged dogs can be rehabilitated.

KU
Hornchurch, Essex

31st July 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead

We have a Miniature Shnauzer named Star. She is nearly 2 years old and we got her form a puppy. She is a well mannered dog but began to have barking issues especially towards adults and children when she is on the lead after we were burgled at 3.00am in the morning whilst we were asleep, she chased the horrible criminals out of our house. I got very anxious walking her and Jo came to the rescue. Have seen Jo twice in the space of 2 weeks so far and Star no longer barks as people enter the house and she "heels" whilst walking. I am learning through simple techniques how to take away her protectiveness/fear and this is showing Star that "we protect her" NOT THE OTHER WAY ROUND. Thanks to Jo and her guidance, help and practical techniques, our lovely dog can now become the "Star" that she is. It's amazing!!!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This lovely little dog has bags of personality and tried to take on a bit more than she could handle after the burglary. She felt she had to chase everyone away both in and outside the house. Her owners have worked hard to make sure she knows that she doesn't have to do this and she is now a much more settled and happy dog who can enjoy her life rather than being constantly on guard. Particular credit goes to her young owner who has really helped her parents with Star.

JW
Basildon, Essex

19th July 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

Jo is a lovely friendly lady who put us all at ease, made us feel that the problems can be rectified quite easily. My dogs have improved far beyond my wildest dreams and its all down to Jo. Thank you!!! I can now walk my dogs for pleasure with no stress and I love the bond I now have with Charlie.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners have 2 border collies very close in age The dogs couldn't be walked together and they were often fighting and squabbling between themselves. This wasn't soft play and the owners were rightly concerned that one could get really hurt. To add to the problem, Charlie was more interested in Nellie than he was with his owners so wouldn't listen. These owners have done a fabulous job of turning this around. Charlie has now bonded with his owners and both dogs are listening and have stopped fighting. A truly great result.

TG
Basildon, Essex

17th July 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

Jo was brilliant. She helped me with everything and I didn't feel patronised or stupid. Everything she said was very clear and has worked so well. Cara is a perfect puppy. I would recommend Jo to anyone. Massive thanks to Jo

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This client has a beautiful Sharpei puppy. Cara is a very high energy puppy who was quick to use her teeth and jump all over everybody. Her owners both work from home and have regular work related visitors so it was important that she listened to them and behaved well. She responded very well to the training and was keen to please her owners. She will grow to be a dog that they can be really proud of.

AH
Chelmsford Essex

14th July 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Jo was the first behaviourist that I talked to and immediately knew through our first phone conversation that she was the trainer for us. Bella was displaying typical guarding behaviour and was making home life disruptive and walks a chore. From the very first session I was amazed at the change in my dog. Not only are most of our issues resolved, she is happier to be led and more settled in her new role. Jo was superb and I cannot praise her highly enough. She helped us understand our dog and our lives have been transformed. Even those sceptical of the ability to change Bella are converted!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner sought help as her sister was moving back home to have her baby and there were general concerns about Bella and her behaviour especially as she wasn't keen on new people in the home. Bella has responded really well to the training and is now a joy to be around. She was happy to give up her guarding and to simply enjoy life with her family. The best result being that the family can look forward to their new arrival and not worry about Bella and her behaviour.

RL
Barking, Essex

29th May 2012

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Hyperactivity Puppy Management

Excellent service and detailed attention to our problems.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This labrador puppy was very hyperactive and was constantly biting and nipping both the owners and their 5 year old daughter. She responded very well to training and was happy to have the new house rules to be put in place.

BA
Hornchurch, Essex

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training