what dog owners say about Alex Fraser

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Alex

17th May 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

The session was great! I must admit, I had been a little apprehensive - after a year of shielding and a very clingy dog, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Alex put us at ease straight away, and was supportive and informative.

Betty responded really well (once she got over her initial grumble!), and we have lots of useful info to take away and be practicing.

We wanted to help Betty be the best she could be, and we’re certainly getting there (she’s a super clever dog, it was us that needed training!).

Would definitely recommend to others!

Trainer note from Alex:
Even those customers who tell me their dog is not the smartest tend to have a different opinion by the end of the initial session and realise that the dog has been training them rather than the other way round. My job is definitely people training, not dog training.

S.L.
Ashton-under-Lyne, Lancashire (Testimonial)

16th May 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger

I contacted Alex by phone, dog training was very new to me and wasn't even really sure what I was asking for.. from the moment Alex answered the phone, he explained things in a way I could understand and also made me feel alot calmer about everything. My dog got bitten by another dog in the park and since then has turned aggressive towards other animals. I was so worried about what to do for the best as everything I had tried failed. Alex came to my house and was great with my dog.. by he taught me so many things I was unaware of, and helped me learn to handle situations differently.. we have only had our first 3 hour training session and I am already noticing such a big difference in him! I would recommend Alex 100%.

Trainer note from Alex:
I honestly didn’t think we would achieve what we did on the first session following the the initial phone call with the customer. The session went really really well and I’ve had feedback since that his sister (who is nervous and barks at people entering her home) has been so much calmer and has allowed people to stroke her which is amazing. The issues they have whilst out on walks will generally take longer to improve than issues within the home, but I am really looking forward to catching up with them all to see how they are all doing. Keep up the good work!

S.P.
Bury, Greater Manchester (Testimonial)

13th May 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called
Photo of P.C.'s dog

Three hours well spent!

We got in touch with Alex for our six month old working cocker spaniel puppy Oti.

Alex was great, he listened to our concerns, really got to understand us all and gave us simple and effective methods to try out.

We covered house manners, lead walking, recall and more in the first session and we could see improvements straight away.

We’ve also been given lots of extra info so we can keep up all the training.

Cannot recommend enough - Thank you so much Alex!

Trainer note from Alex:
Another great session and very happy owners! It’s amazing what can be taught in such a small time period.

P.C.
Bury, Greater Manchester (Testimonial)

12th May 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Hyperactivity Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Before our first meet with Alex, it’s safe to say, as “parents”, we were both nervous! We’d experienced behavioural issues with both of our miniature Daxies for some time and feared it was a case of not being able to teach an old dog new tricks.

Despite our initial reservations, Alex immediately put us all at ease. We were given lots of very helpful information on how our attitudes and behaviours were affecting our pets and how to deal with them appropriately when they would respond to stimuli.

Highly, highly recommend. Relaxed yet informative session and we saw a difference within a few hours...Now just a case of keeping up our end of the bargain, with Alex on hand if we need further assistance and support.

Don’t do what I did and put it off for yonks; it’ll make your life so so much easier! I’m looking forward to implementing the techniques and continuing to see improvements.

Trainer note from Alex:
Dog parents love their dogs, and it wasn’t until I had been doing this job for a number of years that I was made aware that some customers were really worried about me visiting them. There is honestly nothing to worry about. I just want to help all owners make their dogs the best they can be me I certainly never pass any judgement. This session exceeded my expectations and I was delighted with how well both dogs did. Can’t wait to catch up with them all soon!

L.H.
Ramsbottom, Greater Manchester (Testimonial)

18th April 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Separation Anxiety
Photo of N.L.'s dog

Alex was a pleasure to have in our home & managed to get our very nervous & vocal dog Olive to seem as if she wanted to sit in his lap by the end of the session which is remarkable for a dog who is not a fan of strangers, men in particular. We are continuing to follow all of Alex’s advice & have seen a real change in Olive already. She is much calmer, sleeping more & is barking much less. Thanks Alex!

Trainer note from Alex:
I really enjoyed this session and Olive did really well. Initially she was very stressed when I first entered their home, but towards the end of the session she had certainly started to relax with me around. Early days, but I’m confident that if her parents are consistent she will continue to improve.

N.L.
Oldham, Greater Manchester (Testimonial)

28th February 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead
Photo of S.Y.'s dog

We have a different dog already. Alex was very knowledgeable. Lily was a terrible barker, jumping at people when we were out walking but very nervous around the house. I should mention she was a rescue dog so we have no idea what she has been through before. We went for a walk with Alex, on a new harness and where she would normally be pulling we learnt techniques to stop that. The biggy was seeing our neighbours. She barked, Alex controlled her, we stood and chatted. I had to keep checking she was still there, amazing.

With other training techniques Lily is a lot more chilled and even walks from one room to the other with more confidence.

She’s not perfect (what dog is) but we’re confident we’ll get there with her now and that helps her as well.

Absolutely recommend Alex Fraser.


S.Y.
Oldham, Lancashire (Testimonial)

26th February 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

Having used various dog trainers, which havnt been the best experiences, I was slightly hesitant when first getting in touch with Alex.

First impressions were great and any questions I had were explained before I went forward with the booking the session. Alex was polite when entering my home and my dog Deizel was very pleased with the new visitor.

Having had a rough start in life Diezel needed quite a bit of reassurance when I first bought him home with me and strangers he can still sometimes be reserved but he was instantly up for his tummy to be scratched which was very surprising.

Diezel had a rough start in life before I found him. I began my own work with him but due to a personal decline in my health I began to struggle with keeping up with some things and he began running circles around me especially with walks. Deizel is so strong for his size and will easily drag me to whatever he would like to have a sniff of and that seems to be absolutely everything. Im sure hes just making up for lost time but even so it was becoming too much and began taking a toll on me. This meant I wasnt able to take him out as much as I would have liked to for both Diezel and my safety incase I accidently dropped the lead or me getting pulled over.

Alex showed me how to build up Diezels attentiveness towards me which will hopefully help with his concentration on walks as he is easily distraced and is aways on the go which is fine for him but not so much my shoulders and hands.

Whilst I explained everything Alex was very understanding and patient. I felt comfortable which is not something ive had in the past with dog trainers. I was able to go over everything that I would like help on and it was all answered and explained so I could implement the different techniques into daily life.

All in all I was extremely pleased with the help and advice. Deizel also had a great time eating lots of treats and getting all the extra attention.

I feel confident again in going forward and working with Diezel but even if I feel like things are becoming difficult I would be more than happy to get back in touch with Alex for any help that may be needed in the future.

If you are in areas that Alex covers and you need any help with your dog I am more than comfortable in saying the help you would get would be top class!

Trainer note from Alex:
Deizel is a really lovely dog - but can jump as high as my head and has amazing strength which makes walking him extremely difficult. Although not fixed, he responded really well to the training we did and I’m confident with the ongoing training, he will make his Mum very proud.

Keep up the good work

N.H.
Rochdale, Lancashire (Testimonial)

26th February 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks
Photo of S.H.'s dog

We had the BEST session with Alex:)

Chuck was already a less stressed little chihuahua by the end of just one session! The support/training we have been emailed is incredible and we have such a clear view of what we need to do to progress with him!! Everything was explained perfectly and we were left with such a sense of more confidence:)

Thank you so much!!!!

Trainer note from Alex:
Really enjoyed meeting Chuck and his family today. He was a little stressed when I first turned up, but by the end of the training session he was far more chilled and no longer barked at me when I came in or moved around. Generally we can make a difference by the end of the initial session, but even I was pleasantly surprised with how relaxed Chuck was by the time I left.

S.H.
Manchester, Greater Manchester (Testimonial)

25th February 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Puppy Management

As soon as Alex arrived our puppy made us look like liars; from being a boisterous, bold, willful and unruly puppy,he suddenly became very well behaved and listened! I believe it was Alex' demeanour, he is very calm and for the rest of the day we had a lovely well behaved Bruno.

Alex is very patient and knowledgeable, he clearly loves dogs and advised us on all things doggy from food recommendations to poop.

We are under no illusions that this is a work in progress. You watch dog programs on the telly and miraculously get a dog that is 'trained' in minutes. He is a baby and still learning, as are we. I am confident with the guidance from Alex we will get there.

I would 100% recommend Alex to anyone looking for a dog trainer.

Trainer note from Alex:
Bruno is a lovely puppy - but he is going to be a very big puppy. Big puppies are always more of a challenge than smaller breeds for obvious reasons. He did really well on his first training session, but it is early days as the first 12 months with any puppy can have it’s challenges as well as many joyful moments. I love big dogs, so I’m looking forward to watching him grow up.

C.F.
Middleton, Manchester, Lancashire (Testimonial)

22nd February 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Other

Jack was an only pup and hasn't had the opportunity to socialise with other dogs. He is over-excited if we try to walk him outside the house, barking at everything and everyone and pulling constantly on the lead. The added restrictions of the pandemic lockdowns haven't helped us to be able to address the issue. It was good to meet our trainer, Alex. He took the time to chat with us and asked about the issues we were having with Jack. He advised us on feeding, sleep requirement and demonstrated basic training commands. Alex then saw Jack's behaviour when we try to walk him. He answered all our queries and gave us commands to practice and a plan to take things at a steady pace. We are hopeful that we can overcome the issues with Jack's excited behaviour in time and with Alex's support.

Trainer note from Alex:
Jack is a really lovely puppy, but very nervous when he steps out of the front door. Nerves / excitement takes over and it’s very difficult to get his focus. Training needs to take place around the home and back garden and slowly introduce him to areas that worry him.Also need to increase his confidence in his owners. I’m really looking forward to catching up with Jack in few weeks.

J.T.
Thornham, Greater Manchester (Testimonial)

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Ashton-Under-Lyne, Audenshaw, Bacup, Bury, Chorlton-Cum-Hardy, Davyhulme, Denton, Droylesden, Eccles, Irlam, Manchester, Milnrow, Moss Side, Old Trafford, Oldham, Prestwich, Radcliffe, Ramsbottom, Rawtenstall, Rochdale, Salford, Shaw, Stretford, Swinton, Todmorden, Urmston, Whitefield, Withington

© 2021 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training