what dog owners say about Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Graham

24th June 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Other

Jo was very patient and took time to understand Stan's behaviour before diagnosing him. She has promised us some follow up context on dog anxiety and left some detailed notes as well so was very helpful

Trainer note from Graham:
Stan is young Cockerpoo who constantly barks for attention. This happens when friends and family visit, when phone calls are made and can even happen when one of his owners come back in the room. The barking is loud and he keeps going for extensive periods of time even when they are giving him attention. Dogs can use attention seeking as a way to cope with stress and Stan is an anxious dog. This is not an easy fix. His owners have clearly been trying very hard to stop it but Stan has learnt what works and knows if he keeps going he will get the attention he craves. At the time of my visit I realised that they were expecting a baby so in addition to dealing with the attention seeking I have forwarded information on preparing Stan for this event which will be essential as he is anxious. In particular his owners can get him used to a crying baby (with a recording) and the fact that they will be occupied with a baby in the near future. Stan is wonderful in all other ways and has been very well trained by his owners so I have every confidence that they will succeed.

D.D.
Leytonstone, London (Testimonial)

7th June 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other
Photo of P.S.'s dog

Graham was excellent , he took his time to explain everything and answered all of our questions . We felt very at ease , and Archie responded to him very well.


P.S.
Sutton, Surrey (Testimonial)

18th May 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Puppy Management

Jo was very friendly and easy to talk to. She gave very good advice and was very reassuring that Hollie's behaviour would improve with some adjustment to her training. Jo also asked if we had considered feeding Hollie a raw diet as this would benefit her, natural food with no additives. I ordered some raw puppy food for her and started her on this (she absolutely loves it) interspersed with her normal food until she gets used to raw.

We are so grateful to Jo for her help and knowing that we can contact her at any time is also very reassuring. Hollie's behaviour has started to improve and I feel very hopeful that this will continue.

Trainer note from Graham:
Hollie is a very highly active Cockerpoo with no "off switch", constantly nipping and barking at her owners for attention. Hollie was also very destructive licking and chewing on carpet and furniture daily and refusing to stop despite having finished teething. All dogs benefit from a good quality diet as do humans, but when they are "bouncing off the walls" as Hollie was doing they may be reacting to additives, preservatives or even the manufacturing process in conventional dog foods, in which case natural food is worth considering. Her owners were very open to both training and ways to manage Hollies behaviour and have already had a lot of success in dealing with her unruly behaviour. Hollie has a delightful nature. She is very friendly with people and dogs and is already showing that she will become a dog her owners can be proud of.

S.S.
Welling, Kent (Testimonial)

15th May 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of V.F.'s dog

Jo listened to our concerns and gave practical advice and strategies on how to manager Betsy's behaviour which has shown vast improvement . Good training pack provided. Jo was friendly , approachable and we have been able to work well with her.

Trainer note from Graham:
Betsy is a friendly young French Bulldog who also lives with a very elderly terrier. She is typical of many adolescent dogs in that she didn't listen, jumped on people, refused to come in from the garden, pulled on the lead etc but this was coupled with some more extreme attention seeking behaviour including trying to pull the curtains down if she didn't get her own way which was very wearing for her owners. She was also impolite with the other dog so he had to keep telling her off. Her owners had made a lot of effort to deal with her bad behaviour, but struggled to enforce the boundaries she needed as they felt guilty. Betsy responded very well to training and was a much calmer and happier dog on my follow up visit.

V.F.
London (Testimonial)

4th May 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises

Very informative and look forward to the next lesson


J.W.
Chelmsford, Essex (Testimonial)

24th April 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety

Worth every penny. You don't just get trained and that's it, you get looked after. The program is friendly and safe and kind on you and your dog.

Absolutely amazing, Graham helped my family and me with my dog Marley.

She had separation anxiety, kept barking everything that moved outside the window and to my front door, she would pull on the lead and behaved badly towards guests that would come to my home. She would demand attention all the time...... But apart from all of that she is a beauty, she's 7 years old and has had a bad past.

She was used for breeding and had a litter before the age of 1. She was never walked and kept in a cage under the stairs, so she was in a bad way but has come along way.

Graham had a lot of amazing advice, tricks, and help.

What would of taken 2 months was corrected in 3 hours. Today it's day 3 after the bark buster training and what a difference.

I am truly happy but got to keep up the hard work.

Graham was so caring and understanding like he was friends with Marley for years, Graham was my third dog trainer I got and will be the last.

The tricks on relaxing the dog to get better results I practice on my 3 month old baby and she went to sleep on the first run..... Which is amazing because it takes 5 goes over 4 hours to get her to sleep.

The whole package is brilliant and more than I had thought. So professional and has 100% results.

Don't think about doing this....... My advice is, what are you waiting for?, call them and have a better life with your dog but remember you have to put in the work and don't let your dog down by getting lazy.

10 out of 10 and even though I had hours of training Graham will still visit me another 2 times to check up and see how I am coming along.


N.S.
Leytonstone, London (Testimonial)

15th April 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

I was so anxious about the first lesson as I expected my dog to work hard to get rid of Graham but by the end of the lesson both the dog and myself were relaxed, this was thanks to Graham being so understanding and putting us both at ease. I no longer felt like a terrible dog owner and am really looking forward to the next lesson.

Trainer note from Graham:
This owner has a 6 year old Rottweiler who uses his weight and size to intimidate visitors. This breed does guard by nature and needs clear boundaries and training as to what is expected. He owner has done a good job with a difficult dog and his dog responded well to the training.

M.D.
Woodford green, Essex (Testimonial)

2nd April 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety
Photo of E.M.'s dog

The initial training was very comprehensive and adequate to what our dog needed. I learnt a lot in the session with Jo and felt confident that the exercises she recommended were something I could perform and teach my husband to do with our dog. A week later, when we had our follow up session with Jo and my husband, we also had a very good training session that further helped our dog to gain the confidence he needed to travel and evolve with us.

Jo's recommendations and interest in helping our dog have been fantastic.

Trainer note from Graham:
These owners have a Bernese Mountain Dog puppy. Their business is on two continents and it is important that their puppy can travel safely on an aeroplane. Unfortunately it has proved that their puppy is fearful. This is not unusual in young dogs and a lot can be done to increase a dogs confidence but to do this, these owners have had to undertake an intensive program to build his confidence sufficiently to travel without being damaged by the experience. He has made very significant progress already and his owners have gone out of their way including changing travel plans to give their dog the best chance possible.

E.M.
London (Testimonial)

26th March 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Other

Very friendly and explained everything in an easy understandable way. Have now changed her diet and her coat is gleaming and Cassie has put on weight. We are still having a few problems but have taken on board what we were told and things are slowly improving

Trainer note from Graham:
Cassie is a very small Cocker Spaniel and is physically developmentally a little bit behind. This is not unusual and puppies generally catch up over time, but it does mean that extra time and attention is needed to help these pups. It can be frustrating for owners as their attention span is short for learning but they can also be attention seeking. Cassie frequently demands attention, hates being on her own, jumps up constantly, mouths and bites, lead pulls, struggles to learn/retain basic commands and her toileting is very hit and miss. This can describe pretty much any puppy, but it is that little bit harder for the owners when their puppy is slow to develop as the issues take so much longer to resolve. Fortunately Cassie has owners who are prepared to work with her and provide the boundaries and training she needs while taking into account that she needs that extra bit of time.

M.R.
Carshalton, Surrey (Testimonial)

26th March 2018

Photo of N.M.'s dog

Jo was absolutely lovely. She calmed our "new puppy parent" anxiety and answered the thousands of questions we had for her. She also had a plethora of useful tips outside our questions, things to look out for, toys specific to our puppy breed, and how to travel with him etc. She has a very loving approach but it gets results. We were dealing with issues such as toilet training, responding to being called, playing with other dogs, basic discipline and chewing. We felt the information given by Jo came from personal experience both in her own home and professionally, it was nothing that one could simply read up online, so we really felt lucky with our trainer. Her training is also very useful as she has several dogs herself all different sizes, so Benzo could train with different breeds and sizes.

Trainer note from Graham:
Benzo is a Jack Russell puppy and lives with his owners in a particularly busy part of London so needs to be a real "urban dog" capable of coping with busy streets where everyone wants to meet him and also the wide expanses of a park full of tourists on hired bikes, horse riders, lakes and also lots of water birds. He is a friendly confident dog that loves people and dogs and is very responsive to his owners, but as with many pups doesn't always recognise danger and needs appropriate guidance in his interactions. Recall is important to every puppy and dog, but is essential with such a high level of distractions on a daily basis and his owners have prioritised this knowing that Jack Russell's are generally faarless independent dogs that were not bred to be under close command of their owner. He has met our German Shepherd and I am looking forward to introducing him to more of our dogs in the future so we can do more "live" practice.

N.M.
London (Testimonial)

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Angel, Baker Street, Balham, Barbican, Barking, Barnsbury, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Belgravia, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Bloomsbury, Bow, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Catford, Central London, Charing Cross, Charlton, Chelsea, Chislehurst, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clerkenwell, Covent Garden, Crayford, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dartford, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Dulwich, E1, Earls Court, East Balham, East Ham, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Eltham, Embankment, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Golders Green, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Hayes, Herne Hill, Highbury, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hoxton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Islington, Kennington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Lambeth, Lavender Hill, Lee, Lewisham, Limehouse, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Maida Vale, Marylebone, Mayfair, Mottingham, N1, N5, New Cross, Norbury, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Orpington, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Regents Park, Rotherhithe, Russell Square, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, Smithfield, Soho, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South West London, Southborough, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stockwell, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Walthamstow, Walworth, WC1, WC2, Welling, West Brompton, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Wickham, Westminster, Woolwich

© 2021 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training