what dog owners say about Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Graham

25th March 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety
Photo of M.S.'s dog

As always, Graham is quick to pick up on what exactly is the root of the problem we are dealing with, our Joe is being overly protective and not listening to us on walks, making it extremely difficult to walk with him. He offered several ways to dealing with the issue, and demonstrated to us. We then went out to practice this live and the results are amazing, there was such a difference after one session. Over the years we've tried many different trainers, and from the start, Jo & Graham have helped us resolve anxiety and separation issues with our other dog Nicki too, and also helped us through some difficult times before and after she passed away. They have done so with incredible dedication, support and understanding, even after the lessons and on the phone when needed, they are always happy to help. We would highly recommend them to anyone with any kind of issues with their dogs.

Trainer note from Graham:
We met this family when Joe was an adolescent Golden Retriever and they had an older sight hound Nicki as well. They had been through a very rough time as they had been evicted for the barking their dogs did when they were out, but were determined to put their dogs first and get to the bottom of what was going wrong. They were very open minded even though they had had other dog training advice which directly contradicted Jo's initial advice. (The barking was separation anxiety not territorial barking as advised)and were able to resolve the issues both dogs were experiencing. They also dealt with other issues they were experiencing with Nicki and she became a much happier and more settled dog. She had a truly lovely nature and unfortunately died of cancer while she was still relatively young. Joe has grown up into a fabulous dog but pregnancy has brought out the protective side of his nature. This is much more common than people think and can be dealt with when owners know how to behave when their dog is guarding. Needless to say we know these owners will put Grahams advice into effect and will keep in touch if they need further help.

M.S.
London, Middlesex (Testimonial)

18th March 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Other
Photo of D.M.'s dog

We have had 1 3hr session so far with a follow up beginning of april. Jo is very positive that Indie's problems can be corrected and left us with training to inforce and behavior to correct. looking forward to her next visit.

Trainer note from Graham:
Indie is a lovely looking small Bearded Collie Cross. She had a very uncertain start in life and had at least two homes before she was rehomed from a dog pound by her current owners. She has always been very fearful of men and unfortunately has nipped several male family visitors. For safety her owners have been locking Indie in the bedroom but she then becomes very distressed and destructive when visitors come. They have got to the point where they are reluctant to have visitors as she constantly barks at the same time. Her owners are very experienced dog owners and want to work on handling her fears. They are very open to how to handle Indie effectively and are willing to muzzle train her so that they can allow her to be with a man without the risk of injury while working on keeping her calm and under their control. She has responded very well and the next session we will be practicing with a volunteer man.

D.M.
southend on sea, Essex (Testimonial)

2nd March 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises
Photo of G.E.'s dog

Absolutely brilliant, noticed a difference after 3 hour session. She is still having her moments but doing so well and is much calmer.


G.E.
Brentwood, Essex (Testimonial)

14th February 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety
Photo of T.C.'s dog

Here is a photo of Toby and Jack after a muddy run in the park. They are great friends and we all continue to benefit from the great help from Graham and Jo.


T.C.
London (Testimonial)

5th February 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management

Very nice relaxed lesson and a good introduction. Lots to get on with and put our minds at ease.

Looking forward to the next lesson!


J.C.
london, London (Testimonial)

25th January 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Toileting Other
Photo of N.A.'s dog

We got a new puppy and had no confidence after having major behavioural problems with our previous dog. Our family and friends made us think it was our fault so we didn't want to make the same mistakes again. It is good to have someone observe you and tell you what you are doing right and wrong in a non judgemental way. We can have the advice of a professional rather than get confused by lots of different conflicting opinions. I think Jo is worth every penny as she has instilled confidence in us and we have a really lovely well behaved puppy now.

Trainer note from Graham:
These owners had a dog previously that was dog and people aggressive. They stayed in touch with the breeder so knew that rest of the litter had been put to sleep for both health and behavioural issues plus their own dog died young from health issues as well. They loved their dog and kept him despite lots of criticism and did their best in very difficult circumstances. As a result they have actually become very skilled dog owners and have done a fabulous job with their French Bulldog puppy. He is great with children, people and other dogs and is very quick to learn. He is a credit to them and their hard learned dog skills.

N.A.
Ongar, Essex (Testimonial)

24th January 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

Excellent. We got very good advice, felt supported, were given clear and informative instructions.

Trainer note from Graham:
This owner has a beautiful Chocolate Labrador that is particularly large for his breed. He was pulling his owner heavily on walks which made it almost impossible for her to walk him. He was also jumping at the grandchildren and trying to be "one of the gang" without realising his own size and strength. He needed to learn good manners and proper walking discipline. The owner and her son are well on their way to achieving this and getting a well behaved dog.

M.B.
Bexleyheath, Kent (Testimonial)

24th January 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting
Photo of O.H.'s dog

We looked for Jo to help us with our St Bernard puppy. Bruno has been a different dog since Jo advised us on feeding and changing his food. She also gave us loads of tips on house and outdoor training which has worked really well. Whenever I text Jo she always replies with answers. We would highly recommend Jo

Trainer note from Graham:
When I first saw Bruno he was 7kgs and when I saw the family again less then 2 months later he had grown to 25kg. Keeping up with feeding is really important for fast growing breeds and his owner has stayed in touch as she was getting conflicting advice from people who did not understand how to deal with giant breeds. Bruno is coming on in leaps and bounds. His training is going really well. His owners always keep in mind that he may be big but he still is a puppy so give him the right guidance when he shows wariness and encourage him at all times.

O.H.
Southminster, Essex (Testimonial)

23rd January 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises
Photo of S.M.'s dog

I found the training session really helpful in giving me the exercises to address Maurice's behaviour problems. They were not what I expected but were really effective and left me feeling reassured that I would be able to work towards an improvement. Jo visited me at my place of work later in the week (18th Jan) which I found extremely helpful so I could get a sense of how to use the exercises in context. I found the first home visit quite long but was good to feel I'd had the time to ask all my questions and practice the exercises with Jo. As my flat isn't very big however, I found the onsite visit to my work (Cafe in Deptford) better suited for the 'Watch me' cue. I was really impressed with how well Maurice reacted to the cues so quickly.

Trainer note from Graham:
Maurice is a 3 year old French Bulldog and has become increasingly anxious over time walking on the lead with certain people who approach him. When worried he will lurch towards the person barking. He was generally very friendly in the cafe, but would also very occasionally bark at certain people. This was very worrying for his owner as she was not sure why he was behaving in this manner, especially as he had been very well socialised as a puppy. He is also very popular at the cafe with many people coming in specifically to see him. We do not always have the answer as to why a dog becomes anxious, but the key to reducing a dogs fears and anxiety is for the owner to take charge and gets the dogs focus. This is not quick as you are reprogramming a dog to look to the owner for guidance. In Maurice's case, he was very relieved for his owner to take the lead and give him clear instructions.

S.M.
London (Testimonial)

14th January 2018

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

Graham has made life so much for enjoyable for Toby the Brittany spaniel and for us his owners. Toby's behaviour improved from the first home visit. Graham gave us clear, practical advice to socialise Toby and work through his lack of confidence and frustration with other dogs. Graham provided reassurance and gave us the confidence to continue to work with Toby, even though he is a mature dog. Both Graham and Jo run an invaluable pack walk for their clients whose dogs have similar concerns. It allows the dogs to socialise in a safe environment with other understanding owners. The sessions allow owners to also share tips and advice. I would highly recommend Graham and Jo to all dog owners who want to understand their pets more and just enjoy the time with them more.

Trainer note from Graham:
These owners took on a very fearful 7 year old rescue Brittany Spaniel. Toby could not cope around other dogs and would try to drive them away by barking and would nip them if they came too close. This made walks very stressful. There is no quick fix for this and his owners have been diligently working with him building his confidence by practicing training techniques every day. The change has been remarkable. Toby has gone for a dog that could not be trusted to behave around other dogs to a dog that can run off lead and enjoy life. His owners have now taken on another rescue dog and both dogs live very happily alongside each other. Toby is not perfect and he needs keeping an eye on, but his owners can now enjoy their dog.

T.C.
London (Testimonial)

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Angel, Baker Street, Balham, Barbican, Barking, Barnsbury, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Belgravia, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Bloomsbury, Bow, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Catford, Central London, Charing Cross, Charlton, Chelsea, Chislehurst, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clerkenwell, Covent Garden, Crayford, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dartford, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Dulwich, E1, Earls Court, East Balham, East Ham, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Eltham, Embankment, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Golders Green, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Hayes, Herne Hill, Highbury, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hoxton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Islington, Kennington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Lambeth, Lavender Hill, Lee, Lewisham, Limehouse, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Maida Vale, Marylebone, Mayfair, Mottingham, N1, N5, New Cross, Norbury, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Orpington, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Regents Park, Rotherhithe, Russell Square, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, Smithfield, Soho, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South West London, Southborough, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stockwell, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Walthamstow, Walworth, WC1, WC2, Welling, West Brompton, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Wickham, Westminster, Woolwich

© 2021 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training