what dog owners say about Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Graham

2nd February 2013

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

Before Jo became our trainer I almost could not walk my own dog on leash. Pepper would jump at me, bite the leash and at his worst he bit me in his over excited frenzies. As a 31kg boxer, this was becoming dangerous for us all, as well as heartbreaking

as all I wanted was to walk and jog with my boy. The previous (non Barkbusters) training we received in Germany (where we had been living) involved some overly harsh methods, meaning Jo had to undo and put right some bad learned behaviours (both Pepper and mine). Jo has some great training techniques and identified the areas that Pepper and I needed to work on. Not everything works for every dog, so Jo always had alternative training methods if our initial efforts did not go well and kept going until we found the solution. Jo gives very clear instructions and always leaves you with a clear plan of what you need to work on with your dog. The result? I can now walk, jog, run with Pepper and I can fully enjoy the benefits of dog ownership, like everyone should be able to. I know that Jo will continue to support us throughout our 12 month agreement and always responds quickly to any questions i have in between our meetings. One final comment, Jo recommended we shift to a raw food diet, which we did. Pepper loves it and looks really well for the diet change. I second her recommendation and advise dog owners to research and consider a raw food diet for their pet.

Trainer note from Graham:
This owner had a really tough job on her hands. She had tried numerous ways to resolve the problem without success. Her Boxer Pepper is a really confident dog and although his general level of training was very good he would simply do what he wanted to do with no heed to his owner when over excited. Pepper has proved to be an extremely intelligent dog and his owner has worked very hard at getting her dog to listen to her in all situations and respond to her instruction even when distracted. This work means that Pepper is much calmer and his owner is now able to re-focus him onto her so that he doesn't run off after other dogs balls and more to the point doesn't treat the lead as a big game to play tug-of-war with. A fantastic result.

J.F.
Basildon, Essex (Testimonial)

1st February 2013

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Separation Anxiety

Our Dog Archie had very bad separation anxiety. The training was hard but fun and we kept on with the recommendations until eventually Archie stopped! Whilst we are still fearful of leaving him and record him while we are out, so far he has been brilliant.

Trainer note from Graham:
This family had a very tough job. Their Cocker Spaniel had severe separation anxiety and became distressed as soon as they left the house. They managed the situation with family help and doggy daycare but wanted their dog to be settled and happy when they were out and have worked hard to get to where they are now. Archie can now be left without him howling, barking and pacing the house waiting for them to come back. A wonderful transformation they can be truly proud of.

K.B.
Basildon, Essex (Testimonial)

28th January 2013

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

We didn't know what to expect,but after a chat and an explanation to why Bonnie was acting the way she was (trying to be pack leader over the men in the family), we was told she was a frightened little pup who didn't want the responsibility that she had taken on. After a few training tasks set by Jo, it was amazing to see Bonnie react well. We have been doing the tasks for 2 weeks now and Bonnie is no longer pushing past us up and downstairs, she comes when called indoors and from the garden and growling is down to 2-3 times a week rather than countless times per day.

Trainer note from Graham:
This lovely family adore Bonnie their collie cross dog and treated her as queen in the home, but Bonnie was uncomfortable with this and spent her time constantly growling at the men and would only listen to her female owner. Bonnie has thrived knowing what her boundaries are now and her true dog nature is showing through. Congratulations to her owners who have worked very hard to put rules in place for Bonnie and stick to them. She is a testament to their hard work and commitment.

S.G.
Hornchurch, Essex (Testimonial)

28th January 2013

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Other

Third time lucky. Should have gone to Bark Busters the 1st time round. Been telling everyone about Jo our Trainer, even if they don't have a dog! The training is just what I have been looking for. Jo comes round to your house and spends time with you and your dog and that is great. Don't need to explain a lot as she can see what your dog is like and training is put in place straight away (and done from your own home). Jo makes it so easy. You can ask anything and Jo will help you solve the problem. I was helped with Tips diet which I have had trouble with since I have had him. Thank you Jo. Thank you Bark Busters.

Trainer note from Graham:
This owner has a very active border collie and simply wanted to know how to deal with his problems quickly and efficiently. Tip was so hyperactive she struggled to get him to stop to try to learn anything and a series of health issues when he was a pup meant that general training had been almost impossible. Tip has responded brilliantly to the training. His owner simply needed to know what to do and she has stuck at it and now has a dog she can truly be proud of. Top marks!!!

L.D.
Chadwell Heath, Essex (Testimonial)

6th January 2013

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Having never had a dog before I never realised how hard it would be to train one. My Pomeranian Marley was a terror, every bad behavioural trait you could expect in a dog he had, aggression, chewing, barking, attention seeking you name it. After my first phone call with Jo I knew she would be exactly what we needed, not only was she experienced she immediately made me feel at ease with her. From our first session Marley was a different dog, everyone who knew him was noticing the difference. Not only had his behaving improved dramatically it was clear to see that he was a happier dog. This is all thanks to Jo. She has shown me that with a few simple changes I can have the loving well behaved dog I thought I was getting in the first place.

Thank you Jo

Trainer note from Graham:
Marley was an extremely nervous dog and almost all his behaviour came from fear. This owner got her whole family involved in his rehabilitation and took great delight in the amazing changes she saw in Marley as the training progressed. She enjoyed it so much she has even gone on to do additional obedience training with him and Marley is now confident enough to entertain family and friends rather than to bark and try and bite them. A truly amazing result.

M.C.
Chadwell Heath, Essex (Testimonial)

18th December 2012

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting

Jo was brilliant. She showed us that our puppy could be trained quite easily with the right knowledge. She also showed us that we were at fault in lots of ways and gave us great guidance in how to resolve these issues. Bailey is coming along a treat and whilst it's work in progress, we can see light at the end of the tunnel. Thanks Jo

Trainer note from Graham:
Bailey is a lovely little Bichon Frieze puppy who has had some health problems which made his issues harder to deal with. He didn't like to be on his own and was very demanding of attention to the point where he would bite his owners if they didn't give in. A lot of work has been done by his owners to make him more confident and settled and he is now very obedient and well behaved. The final issue - still toileting on puppy pads - has had to be put on hold owing to his ill health, but I am confident his owners will do a great job when he is well enough to tackle this.

S.B.
Romford, Essex (Testimonial)

17th November 2012

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

We have been astounded by the change in our German Shepherd puppy, Blue, since starting the training with Jo. He used to spend a lot of time outdoors as we were not sure how to integrate him properly within our home, even though he was already house trained and always sleeps indoors. Jo identified that Blue was very anxious and worked on techniques to help him overcome this. Since her first visit, Blue spends most of his time indoors and we all feel so much more confident with him and him with us. Jo also advised us of what he should be eating and this change in diet has really benefitted him. Blue still has more training to do in terms of lead walking etc but we are confident now that we are on the right track. We always look forward to seeing Jo as her input and training has been invaluable. We just wish we had contacted her sooner.

Trainer note from Graham:
This lovely family wanted their dog to be part of their family and were disappointed to find that Blue seemed to prefer to be outside. Blue had few social manners and simply wanted to do his own thing so it was a case of them all working hard to teach him what was acceptable manners and to actually listen to his owners. He has come on in leaps and bounds and now prefers to be inside with his owners rather than outside and has become a loving and obedient family pet. He is a true credit to his owners.

MF
Ilford (Testimonial)

8th November 2012

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Pulling on the Lead

Wow... What an impressive trainer. I had a problem dog and was pregnant with twins and panicked about how I could turn things around so that my dog would accept the babies and how I could correct/change her behaviour problems. Not only did the trainer help me turn my dog around but she also taught me how to be the owner/pack leader that I had always wanted to be. Her continued support has been soooooo helpful and has ensured that we don't regress. Jo has not only supported me and cassey at a very difficult/challenging time but has extended this support to my dog walker and family members.

I would recommend Jo and Bark Busters to all family and friends and have been that impressed that my friend has also enlisted the help from Bark Busters for her dogs. My dog is sooooo content and completely different from before Jo came.

I have recently had my twins and cassey has instantly accepted them as her pack members (as I religiously followed Jo's instructions). I had a small blip with cassey becoming protective of the babies but that was made worse as I had not recovered fully from the op, so Jo came for a follow up visit and now we're changing this behaviour and cassey seems happier for it. I will always be indebted to Jo for her expertise/compassion and continued support.

Trainer note from Graham:
This owner is has done everything she can to ensure that her dog and new babies live happily together. She had previously invested time in the training of her dog and had a very good relationship with cassey, but cassey felt that she had to protect at all times and was acting like a guard dog rather than a family pet. Everyone has pitched in and Cassey is now able to accept visitors and relax around strangers and is able to show her true loving personality without over stepping the mark.

KM
Woodford Green, Essex (Testimonial)

11th October 2012

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety

I was sceptical at first about whether this would work. After the first appointment I felt much happier in what was needed to achieve the results we needed. I didn't think we had made much progress but on the second visit it was surprising how far we had come. This is still an ongoing process but I feel that with Jo's help we have achieved so much. My two dogs still have their 'naughty' moments and I always have my water bottle handy in case they start to fight again. I am at last beginning to enjoy the dogs instead of thinking how stupid I was to have 2 dogs. I have to say a big thank you to Jo and have that reassurance that should I need her in the next year she is only a phone call away.

Trainer note from Graham:
This owners dogs were constantly fighting. It would start off as over-exuberant playing and rapidly degenerate into scrapping and fighting. When left on their own it would include destruction and the neighbours were complaining about the noise. The owner and her family have put in a lot of hard work to get the dogs to listen and without them having to shout or physically pull the dogs apart any more. The dogs true personalities are now showing through and they can be enjoyed now rather than constantly told off. This is a major achievement in a very short period of time.

JA
Chelmsford Essex (Testimonial)

3rd October 2012

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

I wasn't sure how much I would get from the training but was very surprised at how quickly there was an improvement in behaviour. Jo gave simple, easy to follow instructions and they work! I have to constantly reinforce what I have learnt but the dogs are responding - even Sam who is 11. It is hard work but I am getting results even with Charlie stealing food! Thank you Jo, look forward to our next session walking with food in the woods!

Trainer note from Graham:
These 2 lovely labradors have great temperaments but were really frustrating their owner with some annoying and embarrassing habits. The worse of which was Charlie who would dive into the dishwasher, steal any food he could and take shopping bags and food off anyone who walks past him. Despite having a very busy lifestyle this lady has had some real results with her dogs and it is a pleasure to see them happily responding to her and her commands rather than going off and doing their own thing. The owner has done fantastically well in getting great results in such a short time!!

GB
Woodford Green, Essex (Testimonial)

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Angel, Baker Street, Balham, Barbican, Barking, Barnsbury, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Belgravia, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Bloomsbury, Bow, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Catford, Central London, Charing Cross, Charlton, Chelsea, Chislehurst, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clerkenwell, Covent Garden, Crayford, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dartford, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Dulwich, E1, Earls Court, East Balham, East Ham, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Eltham, Embankment, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Golders Green, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Hayes, Herne Hill, Highbury, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hoxton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Islington, Kennington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Lambeth, Lavender Hill, Lee, Lewisham, Limehouse, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Maida Vale, Marylebone, Mayfair, Mottingham, N1, N5, New Cross, Norbury, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Orpington, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Regents Park, Rotherhithe, Russell Square, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, Smithfield, Soho, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South West London, Southborough, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stockwell, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Walthamstow, Walworth, WC1, WC2, Welling, West Brompton, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Wickham, Westminster, Woolwich

© 2021 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training