what dog owners say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

2nd November 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Puppy Management

I am just giving an update to my review on 18 May 2018. At that time Hollie was almost out of control, chewing the furniture and carpets, wouldn't listen to any commands and was generally so naughty that we were going to give her back to the breeder until a friend stopped us. I made an appointment with Barkbusters and thank goodness Jo came into our lives with reassurance and good advice and was so friendly and easy to talk to. She assured us that Hollie's behaviour wasn't due to anything we had done and that she was just a very naughty puppy with no off switch. We followed Jo's advice and continued with Hollie's training knowing that we could contact Jo at any time. I can't pretend it was easy and it took time, Hollie was very wilful, but gradually we started to see an improvement in her behaviour and she started to listen to us. Hollie is 13 months old now and is a happy, friendly, beautiful little girl who loves people and other dogs. I am so glad that our friend stopped us giving her back to the breeder, we wouldn't have known the lovely dog she is now. I just wanted to reassure anyone with a naughty puppy please persevere, it is sometimes an uphill struggle, but with continuity of training there is light at the end of the tunnel as we have discovered. A million thanks to you Jo.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Many puppies are relatively easy once an owner knows how to handle them and what to do with them, but some puppies can be like Hollie.  On the go constantly and into everything.  This is totally exhausting for owners and they often feel “it must be my fault” that their puppy is so difficult.  However, some pups are simply very high energy and have very short attention spans.  They can be difficult to train initially because they can’t focus and no amount of “no” will stop them getting into mischief.  Having the knowledge of what to do, and when, is the key to dealing with these puppies. As they mature the owners reap the benefits of all the groundwork the owner has put in. Hollie is brilliant with other dogs, very friendly with people, obedient to her owners and her owner has had many admiring comments about what a well-behaved dog she is. As she says, “there is light at the end of the tunnel” and Hollie is a dog that they can be truly proud of.


S.S.
Welling, Kent (Testimonial)

1st November 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Puppy Management
Photo of B.K.'s dog

Compassionate, knowledgeable and always learning are just some of the words I would use to describe Jo. Our experience with her thus far has been excellent! After just two sessions with our 6 month old miniature schnauzer (Sonne) we have seen massive improvement and now have the tools not found on the intranet to work with her in the right way. Ultimately we are feeling like we are on our way to making our lives much more calm and happy. Compassion, Jo is always fully engaged and her approach is sympathetic, yet equally firm in highlighting the areas that are very important. Knowledgeable, she was able to pick up straight away on many of the problems that we were encountering (at home and out) and able to answer our questions with a true reasoning and detail. I should also add she is quite patient. Always learning - One can always tell when someone is passionate about what they do, thus knowing Jo is currently in a Masters in Animal Behaviour and Training is incredibly reassuring and commendable. We highly recommend Jo’s services to anyone looking to help you deal with puppy/dog problems or just improve an already great one's behaviour to make for a happy home. - Brian, Yen and Sonne

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Sonne is a delightful little girl pup who has been struggling with meeting people in the home and public places such as cafes.  She gets fearful and can alarm bark for long periods of time.  Her owners had been doing everything right with her, but it is not a simple problem to fix and she was getting to the point where she would run at some people and try to nip at their legs or feet.  This was complicated by the fact that when excited and happy she would also run after feet and nip at legs so it was very difficult to tell when she was getting over excited and when she was scared. Most upsetting for her owners was her wariness around even the calmest and most friendly children.  Puppies like Sonne need careful handling and training. They need clear instruction as to how to behave and have to be trained to look to their owners for guidance. Sonne’s owners have been working on building her confidence and teaching how to make the right decisions when she is fearful.  She has made significant progress and I am confident that she will continue to do so.


B.K.
London (Testimonial)

19th October 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Digging Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Toileting
Photo of A.R.'s dog

We were struggling with our puppy Teddy on several issues and desperately needed help with toileting and puppy management. Jo arrived and spent 4 hours teaching us how to deal with Teddy. He was exhausted when we finished but responded really well. We have to have a further session on recall when he is outside he does get distracted but we are working on this with the 35 foot lead Jo supplied which gives us the confidence and teddy the freedom to walk further away from us. Looking forward to the next visit. Thanks Jo

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Teddy is a wonderfully bright little Shih Tzu who had been taken to puppy training and had done very well, but his very brightness meant that he recognised if someone did something slightly different and as far as he was concerned it was "I don't do that". Dogs literally learn what we teach them and are not very good at generalising so if you teach them to sit with a hand action and/or with a treat they will often not do the command without the hand action/ treat.  This leads a lot of owners to say "my dog won't do it without a treat" which is not entirely correct.  It is just because that was the way they were taught originally..  Once owners know this is how a dog thinks they can then help their dog get it right and lots of training problems can be solved quickly.   


A.R.
Tooting, London (Testimonial)

30th September 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management

Jo gave us confidence to train our first puppy, Kelly. She provided us with lots of information and allowed us to decide what was best for us. She is very friendly and it was easy to ask about the things we were concerned with. Kelly is doing really well and we are happy that we can give her the training she requires. One of the visits she brought along Rosie, another puppy, to help Kelly socialise.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Kelly is a very bright little Chihuahua girl puppy.  She is confident, but like many small dogs, she can potentially get hurt trying to negotiate peoples feet, steps/stairs, holes in the ground and all the other obstacles that small dogs have to deal with in life. Owners can worry about "babying" their small dogs, but Kelly's owners have just the right attitude.  They understand the difference between keeping Kelly safe while she meets people, dogs etc while not preventing her from experiencing the world and are doing an excellent job of training and socialising their puppy.


W.H.
Bromley, Kent (Testimonial)

22nd September 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

Graham is an excellent trainer and Pearl was very receptive with him, in fact she did everything he said. Graham never raised his voice and taught us lots of solid advice. We really enjoyed the session and look forward to seeing him again. Very happy and we’ve already recommended Graham to a friend.


J.B.
Brentwood, Essex (Testimonial)

10th September 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety
Photo of F.M.'s dog

We are very happy with the training provided by Graham and Jo. They are very familiar with the specific needs of a greyhound and they are very supportive with the ongoing training. We highly recommend their service. Many thanks! Flor and Tara

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Tara is a retired Greyhound.  Racing Greyhounds are usually kept in pairs in kennels so when they come to our homes they have to adjust to home life (which a Greyhound always loves!!).  They also have to adjust to being without another dog and can have separation anxiety as a result.  Greyhounds can struggle with stairs and different floor surfaces simply because they haven't experienced it before.  They also tend to react to seeing small animals when out on a walk as they have been trained to chase them.  Tara's problems were typical and her owners have been working diligently on overcoming her anxieties. She is slightly unusual in that most Greyhounds are really interested in their owners so can seem aloof to family, visitors and people they meet, but Tara is very friendly and delights in having attention as well as obviously adoring her owners.   


F.M.
London (Testimonial)

6th September 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Recall or not coming when called
Photo of D.W.'s dog

We are extremely pleased with the advice and training techniques shown and applied to our Dog BENJI He has responded very positive to all command's and is now showing to be a very nice and happy dog, we now look forward to taking him out and continuing with his training Thanks to BARK BUSTERS.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Benji is a very fearful Cavalier King Charles/Pug cross who was getting very upset and behaving as if he had to protect his owners against visitors and when visiting other peoples houses.  He also couldn't cope with going to cafes because people would constantly approach him as he is such a good looking dog.  Once his owners were able to demonstrate to Benjii that this wasn't needed and instead he should focus on them and follow their lead he became a much more relaxed and happy dog.  He still has fears so it will take time and lots of practice to build up his confidence, but his owners now have the training techniques to help Benji and have been working hard to turn the problem around with good results so far.  


D.W.
DARTFORD, Kent (Testimonial)

3rd September 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

Jo gave me a lot of time to introduce ways I could work with Perry. She was a good listener and gave me tips to keep Perry’s attention.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Perry is a lovely natured long haired miniature Dachshund.  Now he has got to his adolescence he has been exhibiting some common bad behaviours such as barking, pulling on the lead and not listening when he is called.  He lives on a very busy road and as he loves people he tries to get out of the front door to greet people and try to visit the neighbours which is dangerous for any dog.  He responded really well to training and I am looking forward to seeing him and his owner again.    


A.A.
London (Testimonial)

31st August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety Other

Graham was very helpful. Everything was explained in details. A great trainer. Very pleased I contacted Barkbusters. As this was the first visit. Bruno has improved. There is room for improvement. Trust this wool be sorted on the 2nd visit. Thank you Graham. Best wishes Myrtle

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Bruno is a French Bulldog puppy who was getting over excited, mouthing his owners feet and generally not listening.  As he is their first dog they weren't quite sure how to tackle this and communicate with Bruno so he understood what they wanted.  They have worked hard with their training and Bruno was behaving significantly better on the follow up visit.  I look forward to seeing him as he grows up.  


M.P.
Bromlry, Kent (Testimonial)

30th August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Other

We have a West Highland Terrier puppy named Daisy, whom we believe came to us from a puppy farm. She is very nervous and has lots of issues with noise and encountering other dogs and humans. Jo came to visit us and we immediately felt that she understood Daisy. She gave us fantastic advice and pointed out lots of areas where we could help Daisy and make her happier in her day-to-day routine. Jo was extremely knowledgeable and we felt confident about following her advice and tips for dealing with Daisy. There wasn't anything we asked Jo which she could not answer and we felt, for the first time since Daisy joined us, that we weren't bad owners and that Daisy wasn't unhappy being with us. Jo stayed with us beyond her allotted time and we were so grateful that she did not rush off when the session was due to come to an end. She was so kind, patient and informative; we instantly felt at ease with her and that we were supported. Daisy really took to Jo and after a few minutes of being on her guard at the fact there was a stranger in the house, Daisy enjoyed the training sessions and was really relaxed. We really appreciated the time and care that Jo put into her session with us. Unlike the one-size-fits-all approach that you find in books and on internet dog-training videos, Jo's advice was tailor-made for Daisy and her specific problems. Since Jo's visit, we have been following the advice she gave us, along with all the extra material which she took the trouble to e-mail us directly afterwards. Along with changing Daisy's vet and her food, we have noticed a dramatic improvement in her behaviour. This would never have been possible without Barkbusters' wonderful Jo. We are so very grateful to Jo. She is a great ambassador for Barkbusters and we look forward to seeing her again soon. Thank you

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

The kennel club describe puppy farming as follows: “A puppy farmer's main intent is profit.  As a result they typically separate puppies from their mothers too early, ignore guidelines about the maximum frequency of litters, provide inadequate socialisation of puppies, sell puppies through third parties i.e. away from the environment in which they are raised, keep puppies in poor husbandry conditions and fail to follow breed specific health schemes or to apply basic, routine health measures such as immunisation and worming. As a result, the puppies bred by puppy farmers are more likely to suffer from common, preventable, infectious diseases, painful or chronic inherited conditions, behavioural issues and shorter life spans”.


Daisy owners are very caring people, who took home a very fearful puppy who has had serious health issues resulting in constantly reoccurring sickness.  She has serious behavioural issues exhibiting aggression to strangers both in and outside the home and attacking her owners when she is frustrated. She is also noise sensitive and barks constantly at noises she perceives as a threat.  Puppy Farm puppies are not raised around people and do not experience everyday life so these type of health and behaviour issues are all too common. I saw Daisy at 11 months old and her owners had taken her to training and had worked very hard to help Daisy. I put a behaviour modification program in place to help them manage and tackle Daisy’s more difficult problems that were not responding to general training.  She is fortunate to have owners who are willing to go the extra mile and I have every confidence that they will continue to make good progress with her.     


C.Q.
London (Testimonial)

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2018 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training