what dog owners say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

17th August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management

The transformation of hephzibah is amazing she is like a different dog. When people walk in the house she no longer jumps up at them she waits for them to embrace her first. She is listening and responding to commands I.e watch me, wait, touch. I was not confident when commanding hef and taking her for walks as she would pull and not listen. Seeing me as a little sister in the pecking order. However, now I myself feel so much more confident and am able to take control and have noticed the difference in how she responds to me. We purchased a canny collar to assist with her pulling and have used it a few times and I am finding when she has only her harness and lead she no longer pulls and will walk alongside you. My opinion before the training was that she would be impossible to train, and in 4 hours Graham turned that around and showed me that she could be obedient. She needed the right guidance from me and with my improved confidence thanks to Graham I could do that for her.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Hephzibah is a delightful English Bull Terrier. She is an adolescent so was testing a lot boundaries and not listening to her owner.  This is a very typical adolescent behaviour but is hard to manage when you own a large powerful dog and it is also easy to get pulled over as young dogs struggle with self control and can be over friendly when they want to meet and greet people and other dogs. The Canny Collar is a face collar that allows owner to prevent heavy lunging and pulling. It has to be introduced properly as dogs do not like a strap over their nose and they have to be taught to walk alongside the owner keeping the nose strap loose. Because it encourages walking to heel, owners of large pulling dogs can use it to teach their dogs the right position to walk in while remaining in full control of their dog. This owner has advanced very quickly with her dog.  Hep loved the training and was really happy to know what she should do.  She still has a bit of growing up to do, but is already a dog her owner can be proud of


E.M.
Woolwich, London (Testimonial)

17th August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety Toileting

Jo was very calm and I quickly felt at ease on her arrival. She was able to quickly recognise issues and her visit, despite only being less than a week ago has made a huge difference to our home. Jo has kept in contact with me by text and I am looking forward to learning much more from her. Thanks Jo.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

This owner had a lot to deal with. An elderly Patterdale Terrier girl who was struggling with the very friendly Miniature Dachshund girl puppy and a puppy who was very fretful if left on her own at any time.  Dogs are generally very good at living with each other.  There may be a bit of grumpiness, but they are pack animals and it is not in their interests to do anything that might weaken the pack. However, a young puppy can have poor social skills and owners have to intervene at times to allow their older dog a bit of peace. This family had got a huge amount right and it was a case of confirming this and advising on how to ease the issues they were having. A week later the dogs are getting on much better and the puppy is starting to learn to be on her own. I am looking forward to seeing this family again as their puppy grows.  


A.B.
Essex (Testimonial)

13th August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called
Photo of A.S.'s dog

Graham was patient and great and gave us some wonderful tips for our hyper active chocolate Labrador Roxi. Some of the tips were eye openers, even after having 4 dogs.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Roxi is a very friendly bouncy young dog. She responded really well to having some boundaries putting in place and some new commands to follow. Her owners are experienced dog owners who just needed a little bit of extra guidance to fill in the gaps in their knowledge.  The handling of their dog was very good and I am confident that they will go from strength to strength,


A.S.
SOUTHALL, London (Testimonial)

2nd August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger
Photo of A.P.'s dog

Training was really good and helped to understand our dogs reactions. They have been improving their social skills, to the point that in about two weeks, Ana is able to be around other dogs and be herself and be confident. Maura is still a work in progress, she doesn't immediately react to dogs now, but still, it's not trusting right away. They are getting better at socializing and taking cues from us, according to their training, even if sometimes it takes a few tries to happen. This has been very useful for us and them, making our communication and reaction a lot better.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Ana and Maura are two lovely natured Whippet Crosses.  Unfortunately, both dogs had been attacked by other dogs when they were living in Brazil which has left them wary and fearful.  Ana is the more confident of the dogs and is coming on in leaps and bounds.  Maura is still nervous but responding well to her owner’s guidance.  Both dogs are now able to cope much better with meeting other dogs and are able walk alongside other dogs as well now.   


A.P.
London (Testimonial)

20th July 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead

The relationship between myself and Hatch had broken down and I felt scared of him at times. Since my first meeting with Jo, we have noth changed so much. Hatch responds to me and I feel confident to give instructions and to manage him. I understand him better and he therefore respects me. Hand feeding was a key turning point for us both and a great suggestion from Jo. Thank you so much.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Hatch is a Nova Scotia Duck Toller and was bought as they are generally very good family dogs, however, Hatch was badly behaved with both the female owners and her children when he would happily listen to the male owner. This is not uncommon in adolescent dogs, but he had got to the point of growling as well as not listening so the owner relationship had completely broken down as a result. When a dog has no respect and/or has no bond with his owner, making him work for his food while training can rebuild the bond. Everything comes from the owner and the owner becomes important to the dog. Training therefore becomes a pleasure rather than a source of conflict. This is not a "cure all". Owners have to understand what is happening with their dog and Hatch's owner went out of her way to see things from Hatch's point of view as well as her own. In return Hatch responded really well once he understood what was expected from him.

A.W.
Croydon, Surrey (Testimonial)

6th July 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Hyperactivity Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting

Graham is excellent. Informative, patient and obviously loves his job and the dogs he trains. Highly recommended.


C.F.
London, Middlesex (Testimonial)

26th June 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Other

Excellent technique, learnt how to control the mouthing. Still a work in progress but delighted with the results after one session. Titan is learning this is not acceptable behaviour and will calm down. Would recommend without any hesitation as so impressed with the results.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Titan is a lovely natured Staffordshire Bull Terrier that his owners rehomed from the RSPCA. As a breed it is not uncommon for Staffies to be mouth orientated and lick, mouth and sometimes even nip when they are excited. In Titans case this was so excessive that his owners had to muzzle him when they had visitors. It is not easy to stop this behaviour and his owners have been very committed to teaching him good behaviour as well as dealing with his bad behaviour so friends and family can see what a truly wonderful dog he is.

K.V.
Sutton, Surrey (Testimonial)

24th June 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Other

Jo was very patient and took time to understand Stan's behaviour before diagnosing him. She has promised us some follow up context on dog anxiety and left some detailed notes as well so was very helpful

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Stan is young Cockerpoo who constantly barks for attention. This happens when friends and family visit, when phone calls are made and can even happen when one of his owners come back in the room. The barking is loud and he keeps going for extensive periods of time even when they are giving him attention. Dogs can use attention seeking as a way to cope with stress and Stan is an anxious dog. This is not an easy fix. His owners have clearly been trying very hard to stop it but Stan has learnt what works and knows if he keeps going he will get the attention he craves. At the time of my visit I realised that they were expecting a baby so in addition to dealing with the attention seeking I have forwarded information on preparing Stan for this event which will be essential as he is anxious. In particular his owners can get him used to a crying baby (with a recording) and the fact that they will be occupied with a baby in the near future. Stan is wonderful in all other ways and has been very well trained by his owners so I have every confidence that they will succeed.

D.D.
Leytonstone, London (Testimonial)

7th June 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other
Photo of P.S.'s dog

Graham was excellent , he took his time to explain everything and answered all of our questions . We felt very at ease , and Archie responded to him very well.


P.S.
Sutton, Surrey (Testimonial)

18th May 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Puppy Management

Jo was very friendly and easy to talk to. She gave very good advice and was very reassuring that Hollie's behaviour would improve with some adjustment to her training. Jo also asked if we had considered feeding Hollie a raw diet as this would benefit her, natural food with no additives. I ordered some raw puppy food for her and started her on this (she absolutely loves it) interspersed with her normal food until she gets used to raw.

We are so grateful to Jo for her help and knowing that we can contact her at any time is also very reassuring. Hollie's behaviour has started to improve and I feel very hopeful that this will continue.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Hollie is a very highly active Cockerpoo with no "off switch", constantly nipping and barking at her owners for attention. Hollie was also very destructive licking and chewing on carpet and furniture daily and refusing to stop despite having finished teething. All dogs benefit from a good quality diet as do humans, but when they are "bouncing off the walls" as Hollie was doing they may be reacting to additives, preservatives or even the manufacturing process in conventional dog foods, in which case natural food is worth considering. Her owners were very open to both training and ways to manage Hollies behaviour and have already had a lot of success in dealing with her unruly behaviour. Hollie has a delightful nature. She is very friendly with people and dogs and is already showing that she will become a dog her owners can be proud of.

S.S.
Welling, Kent (Testimonial)

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2018 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training