what our clients say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

26th March 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Other

Very friendly and explained everything in an easy understandable way. Have now changed her diet and her coat is gleaming and Cassie has put on weight. We are still having a few problems but have taken on board what we were told and things are slowly improving

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Cassie is a very small Cocker Spaniel and is physically developmentally a little bit behind. This is not unusual and puppies generally catch up over time, but it does mean that extra time and attention is needed to help these pups. It can be frustrating for owners as their attention span is short for learning but they can also be attention seeking. Cassie frequently demands attention, hates being on her own, jumps up constantly, mouths and bites, lead pulls, struggles to learn/retain basic commands and her toileting is very hit and miss. This can describe pretty much any puppy, but it is that little bit harder for the owners when their puppy is slow to develop as the issues take so much longer to resolve. Fortunately Cassie has owners who are prepared to work with her and provide the boundaries and training she needs while taking into account that she needs that extra bit of time.

M.R.
Carshalton, Surrey

26th March 2018

Photo of N.M.'s dog

Jo was absolutely lovely. She calmed our "new puppy parent" anxiety and answered the thousands of questions we had for her. She also had a plethora of useful tips outside our questions, things to look out for, toys specific to our puppy breed, and how to travel with him etc. She has a very loving approach but it gets results. We were dealing with issues such as toilet training, responding to being called, playing with other dogs, basic discipline and chewing. We felt the information given by Jo came from personal experience both in her own home and professionally, it was nothing that one could simply read up online, so we really felt lucky with our trainer. Her training is also very useful as she has several dogs herself all different sizes, so Benzo could train with different breeds and sizes.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Benzo is a Jack Russell puppy and lives with his owners in a particularly busy part of London so needs to be a real "urban dog" capable of coping with busy streets where everyone wants to meet him and also the wide expanses of a park full of tourists on hired bikes, horse riders, lakes and also lots of water birds. He is a friendly confident dog that loves people and dogs and is very responsive to his owners, but as with many pups doesn't always recognise danger and needs appropriate guidance in his interactions. Recall is important to every puppy and dog, but is essential with such a high level of distractions on a daily basis and his owners have prioritised this knowing that Jack Russell's are generally faarless independent dogs that were not bred to be under close command of their owner. He has met our German Shepherd and I am looking forward to introducing him to more of our dogs in the future so we can do more "live" practice.

N.M.
London

25th March 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety
Photo of M.S.'s dog

As always, Graham is quick to pick up on what exactly is the root of the problem we are dealing with, our Joe is being overly protective and not listening to us on walks, making it extremely difficult to walk with him. He offered several ways to dealing with the issue, and demonstrated to us. We then went out to practice this live and the results are amazing, there was such a difference after one session. Over the years we've tried many different trainers, and from the start, Jo & Graham have helped us resolve anxiety and separation issues with our other dog Nicki too, and also helped us through some difficult times before and after she passed away. They have done so with incredible dedication, support and understanding, even after the lessons and on the phone when needed, they are always happy to help. We would highly recommend them to anyone with any kind of issues with their dogs.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
We met this family when Joe was an adolescent Golden Retriever and they had an older sight hound Nicki as well. They had been through a very rough time as they had been evicted for the barking their dogs did when they were out, but were determined to put their dogs first and get to the bottom of what was going wrong. They were very open minded even though they had had other dog training advice which directly contradicted Jo's initial advice. (The barking was separation anxiety not territorial barking as advised)and were able to resolve the issues both dogs were experiencing. They also dealt with other issues they were experiencing with Nicki and she became a much happier and more settled dog. She had a truly lovely nature and unfortunately died of cancer while she was still relatively young. Joe has grown up into a fabulous dog but pregnancy has brought out the protective side of his nature. This is much more common than people think and can be dealt with when owners know how to behave when their dog is guarding. Needless to say we know these owners will put Grahams advice into effect and will keep in touch if they need further help.

M.S.
London, Middlesex

18th March 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Other
Photo of D.M.'s dog

We have had 1 3hr session so far with a follow up beginning of april. Jo is very positive that Indie's problems can be corrected and left us with training to inforce and behavior to correct. looking forward to her next visit.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Indie is a lovely looking small Bearded Collie Cross. She had a very uncertain start in life and had at least two homes before she was rehomed from a dog pound by her current owners. She has always been very fearful of men and unfortunately has nipped several male family visitors. For safety her owners have been locking Indie in the bedroom but she then becomes very distressed and destructive when visitors come. They have got to the point where they are reluctant to have visitors as she constantly barks at the same time. Her owners are very experienced dog owners and want to work on handling her fears. They are very open to how to handle Indie effectively and are willing to muzzle train her so that they can allow her to be with a man without the risk of injury while working on keeping her calm and under their control. She has responded very well and the next session we will be practicing with a volunteer man.

D.M.
southend on sea, Essex

2nd March 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise
Photo of G.E.'s dog

Absolutely brilliant, noticed a difference after 3 hour session. She is still having her moments but doing so well and is much calmer.


G.E.
Brentwood, Essex

14th February 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety
Photo of T.C.'s dog

Here is a photo of Toby and Jack after a muddy run in the park. They are great friends and we all continue to benefit from the great help from Graham and Jo.


T.C.
London

5th February 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management

Very nice relaxed lesson and a good introduction. Lots to get on with and put our minds at ease.

Looking forward to the next lesson!


J.C.
london, London

25th January 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Toileting Other
Photo of N.A.'s dog

We got a new puppy and had no confidence after having major behavioural problems with our previous dog. Our family and friends made us think it was our fault so we didn't want to make the same mistakes again. It is good to have someone observe you and tell you what you are doing right and wrong in a non judgemental way. We can have the advice of a professional rather than get confused by lots of different conflicting opinions. I think Jo is worth every penny as she has instilled confidence in us and we have a really lovely well behaved puppy now.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners had a dog previously that was dog and people aggressive. They stayed in touch with the breeder so knew that rest of the litter had been put to sleep for both health and behavioural issues plus their own dog died young from health issues as well. They loved their dog and kept him despite lots of criticism and did their best in very difficult circumstances. As a result they have actually become very skilled dog owners and have done a fabulous job with their French Bulldog puppy. He is great with children, people and other dogs and is very quick to learn. He is a credit to them and their hard learned dog skills.

N.A.
Ongar, Essex

24th January 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

Excellent. We got very good advice, felt supported, were given clear and informative instructions.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
This owner has a beautiful Chocolate Labrador that is particularly large for his breed. He was pulling his owner heavily on walks which made it almost impossible for her to walk him. He was also jumping at the grandchildren and trying to be "one of the gang" without realising his own size and strength. He needed to learn good manners and proper walking discipline. The owner and her son are well on their way to achieving this and getting a well behaved dog.

M.B.
Bexleyheath, Kent

24th January 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Toileting
Photo of O.H.'s dog

We looked for Jo to help us with our St Bernard puppy. Bruno has been a different dog since Jo advised us on feeding and changing his food. She also gave us loads of tips on house and outdoor training which has worked really well. Whenever I text Jo she always replies with answers. We would highly recommend Jo

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
When I first saw Bruno he was 7kgs and when I saw the family again less then 2 months later he had grown to 25kg. Keeping up with feeding is really important for fast growing breeds and his owner has stayed in touch as she was getting conflicting advice from people who did not understand how to deal with giant breeds. Bruno is coming on in leaps and bounds. His training is going really well. His owners always keep in mind that he may be big but he still is a puppy so give him the right guidance when he shows wariness and encourage him at all times.

O.H.
Southminster, Essex

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2018 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training

#### GOOGLE ANALYTICS ##### ##