what dog owners say about Kevin McDonnell

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Kevin

What dog owners are saying about us

10th March 2019

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety
Photo of I.G.'s dog

My male cockerspainiel Bow is nearly 5 years old. We have had him since he was 8 weeks old. Bow has always responded well to my husband, but has never listened to my commands. He has always suffered from separation anxiety, which had become worse whilst I was on maternity leave. He would pick up on ques when I was leaving the house e.g putting my coat on, picking up car keys and nappy bag. He would then begin to become very anxious, he would bark incisively, poop, wee and be very destructive. It got to the point I dreaded leaving the house as it upset me to see him get so anxious, we also started getting complaints from the neighbors. We decided to try behavioural training. When Kevin rung me back we discussed the behavioural traits Bow had been showing, Kevin helped me to understand that other behaviours that Bow was showing was interlinked with the separation anxiety. Kevin cake to our house and worked on Bow barking when people came in the house, his constant need for attention from myself and visitors. We then did lead training as it felt my dog was always walking me, we also worked on Bows barking in cars. We then went for a walk and for the first time ever I was able to let Bow off the lead and he listened to me when I called him back. Me and my husband are so grateful for the training and information Kevin gave us. We are aware that we will have to continue the training to ensure Bow and our family get the best results.


I.G.
Barnstaple, Devon (Testimonial)

2nd March 2019

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management

Excellent training for us and Reggie. Kevin explained the Barkbuster techniques with ease and clarity. He was patient and answered all our questions comprehensively. Reggie responded immediately to the corrections and we saw an instant improvement in his behaviour. WE are confident we can keep up the training.


I.B.
Exmouth, Devon (Testimonial)

11th February 2019

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

Why we booked Kevin: Chubby our dog was barking and lunging at dogs on walks, jumping up on people, barking at the door and her recall wasn’t great either. See seemed to be quite a stubborn and pushy dog. I had many sessions with other dog trainers. We tried their approach for around 2 years, it felt that we were working around her issues rather than addressing the reason for them. Kevin was brilliant. He took the time to learn about the problems we had with our dog. Kevin sat down with us and explained his concept of training and why Chubby is behaving the way she is. He showed us their very simple method to address unwanted behaviour but also made clear that we must praise her for good behaviour, so she learns what is expected and what not to do. I can honestly say she was a different dog by the end of the day. She was calm and respectful, and she listened to us within hours. We had her playing nicely with a dog she snapped at before. We are now two weeks in, and I can walk her pass dogs on the pavement, she is leaving our guests alone, she comes when I call her, and she is a much calmer and happier dog. I can highly recommend Kevin and his training methods.


C.H.
Exmouth, Devon (Testimonial)

10th February 2019

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called
Photo of S.A.'s dog

Kevin explained everything very clearly so that we understood the reasons for Alfie’s behaviour and how we needed to change our behaviour. He worked with us and Alfie initially in our home and we were impressed to see how quickly Alfie responded to the training - he very quickly let go of his dominant behaviour. Our biggest issue with Alfie was barking at other dogs and people when out and about. We went outside for the second part of the training and introduced Alfie to Kevin’s dog, Bruno. Alfie ran over to him barking as usual but one ‘word’ from us and he stopped immediately- amazing! We are off to a really good start and we know the responsibility lies with us to keep up with the training but so far, so good! We know that we have Kevin at the end of a phone line to help if we have any further issues. Thank you Kevin and Bark Busters!


S.A.
Totnes, Devon (Testimonial)

10th February 2019

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Other
Photo of L.S.'s dog

Amazing results in such a short time. Kevin was very professional and informative throughout the session. Would highly recommend.


L.S.
Taunton, Somerset (Testimonial)

27th January 2019

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Kevin was given a very vocal welcome by Daisy our Bichon Frise who does not like visitors, especially men! We were amazed that within a few minutes of interaction following the training we saw results. Kevin was friendly and informative and we would not hesitate to recommend him.


E.R.
Exeter, Devon (Testimonial)

26th January 2019

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Toileting

I had been worried about Kevin's visit. Alice ( a young GS) was so difficult for me to control with her non stop jumping up. Also walking her had become a problem when encountering other people and dogs - and her lead tugging. I really thought it would be a very difficult 4 hours. Within a short time Kevin had assesed the situation - and explained simple small changes for me to implement. Amazing - I have gained confidence that given my application to her training and time she will become a well behaved dog. I will no longer have to avoid difficult situations. Thank you Kevin I really enjoyed the training


M.B.
Nr. Watchet, Somerset (Testimonial)

17th December 2018

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called
Photo of D.P.'s dog

Kevin was a pleasure to talk with and really knows his stuff. In no time during his visit we had a 'new' dog who was obedient and actually came to us despite distractions such as blackbirds, crows etc. Not only that but, to my surprise he has continued to behave very well in the house, out in the garden and even out on his walk. We are now confident that in spite of his breed traits (wire haired dachshund) he will behave like an obedient retriever in time. Needless to say we are delighted with the results and very much looking forward to seeing the 'new' Archie growing to maturity a happier more confident but obedient gentleman that we believe he is deep down. If I hadn't seen it with my own eyes I would not have believed it possible. A MA ZING!


D.P.
East Putford, Devon (Testimonial)

7th December 2018

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

fantastic to meet kevin, after just having a baby our jack Russell was very unsettled, lots of anxiety with a new baby, got himself very stressed. he also started barking at people when they entered the house and wanted to be all over them. kevin worked with us for about 4 hours teaching us the technique to calm and control Tank, and his technique really worked well, teaching us how to become the leader to Tank rather than the other way around, he is a much happier, calmer dog now we still use the techniques and they are really helping. highly recomend Kevin and his services thank you


L.L.
kingsteignton, Devon (Testimonial)

31st October 2018

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household

Kevin worked extremely well with the dogs and his technique showed immediate effect with a lot of the problems. By the end of the session we were confident with our roles and the dogs were where we wanted them regarding their behaviour and relationships with us as owners and with each other.The training is now up to us to continue as we have been shown by Kevin and so far it is really working! Kevin was very good with the dogs and had a very kind but firm manner with them.


C.W.
Exeter, Devon (Testimonial)

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Ashburton, Ashprington, Ashwater, Axminster, Babbacombe, Bampton, Barnstaple, Beaworthy, Beer, Bickington, Bickleigh, Bideford, Bishopsteignton, Bovey Tracey, Bradworthy, Bratton Fleming, Bridestowe, Brixham, Broadclyst, Buckfastleigh, Bude, Chagford, Cheriton Bishop, Chudleigh, Churston Ferrers, Clyst St Mary, Colaton Raleigh, Crediton, Cullompton, Cullompton , Dartington, Dartmouth, Dawlish, Dawlish Warren, Denbury, Dittisham, Drewsteignton, Exeter, Exmouth, Honiton, Ilfracombe, Ivybridge, Kenn, Kennford, Kentisbeare, Kenton, Kingsbridge, Kingskerswell, Kingsteignton, Kingswear, Littlehempston, Lustleigh, Manaton, Marldon, Minehead, Modbury, Moretonhampstead, Newton Abbot, Newton Poppleford, Newton St Cyres, North Bovey, Okehampton, Otterton, Ottery St Mary, Paignton, Plympton, Plymstock, Plymtree, Rackenford, Rattery, Salcombe, Sampford Courtenay, Seaton, Shaldon, Sidford, Sidmouth, Slapton, South Brent, South Molton, Spreyton, Starcross, Staverton, Stoke Fleming, Stoke Gabriel, Tedburn St. Mary, Teignmouth, Thorverton, Thurlestone, Tiverton, Topsham, Torquay, Torrington, Totnes, Uffculme, Wembworthy, Whiddon Down, Whimple, Winkleigh, Woodbury, Woodbury Salterton, Yealmpton

© 2019 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training