Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

22nd June 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Separation Anxiety
Photo of M.B.'s dog

Jo first came out to see us when we first took on our rescue Vizla Hugo, in November 2011. Hugo had some serious issues with dog aggression and we were finding it very difficult to come into contact with any dogs. Jo came out to our home,listened to our concerns, spent time with us and Hugo to really get a sense of the negative behavior Hugo was displaying. Jo was brilliant and spent lots of time explaining the reasons why Hugo may be behaving in this way, and what steps we can start to take to change and improve this behavior. Jo took us through some initial training and left us with lots of tips and tricks in our pack to start to work on Hugo dog aggression.

More recently, on June 1st 2012, my wife, Hugo and I all attended one of Jo's workshops. Working with Jo were some wonderful helpers and trainers, along with a number of dogs which (real and stuffed!) we used to work with Hugo and practice being up close with other dogs. The session was brilliant, the people Jo had helping were so good and it really helped Hugo to realize that not all dogs are to be attacked! We would like to personally thank Georgia the trainer and behaviorist, her granddaughter Amber for all your help, Jenny the T-touch practitioner (who Hugo was very fond of!) and Graham for all your help. We personally also left with a new confidence and felt that with further work, and taking all the great advice and guidance we had been furnished with, all is not lost!. Both my wife and I would recommend attending these types of sessions, along with the professional advice and guidance Jo is giving us, Hugo is coming on very well. THANKS GUYS!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
When I first saw Hugo a good description would be "a bag of bones". He was very under weight and very nervous. When a dog is put under pressure adrenaline kicks in and they have two options - fight or flight. Despite his lack of confidence he had learnt that "fight" worked and scared other dogs off so his default action meant that he would "attack first ask questions later". This made it impossible for his owners. He only had to see a dog and he would start to get aggressive. His owners have done a huge amount of work with him and got him to point where he could be let off around other dogs and not immediately go for whatever dog bothered him. In fact he took a shine to one of our dogs and she had to tell him to leave her alone! With a dog with as many problems as Hugo it isn't a case of "ok he is fixed". He still doesn't trust other dogs and his nervousness means that his owners will always have to keep a close eye on his signals and if he is not coping, take him away and let him calm down. He is now the most spectacular Vizla to look at and looks to his owners for guidance rather than making his own decision. His owners have done a tremendous job with a dog that many people would simply have given up on long ago and they can be truly proud of both theirs and Hugo's achievements.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


M.B.
Southend on sea, Essex

20th June 2014

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called

The training was clear and easy to implement. The desired behaviour changes occurred almost immediately.

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


M.P.
Stithians, Cornwall

20th June 2014

Lee Hardy dealt with: Puppy Management
Photo of M.M.'s dog

Absolutely fantastic training! Lee helped me with all areas of puppy management and it was a great refresher as it has been quite a few years since we have had a pup in the house.

More reviews about Lee Hardy


M.M.
Solihull, West Midlands

20th June 2014

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise
Photo of J.R.'s dog

Flabbergasted! The change was very nearly instant even if Dolly did seem "shell shocked". I am sure that we can keep up the training of both ourselves and Dolly to all of our benefits.

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


J.R.
Exeter, Devon

18th June 2014

Andy Waterhouse dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety

we had our first session with andy last week and already we can see a difference just by using the techniques andy showed us

and by switching both dogs to a healthier raw food diet

we are happier both our dogs seem happier

cant wait for our second training session again today and progress further

andy is a amazing trainer and we look forward to working with him for the year

there is nothing that seems to phase andy at all and he has techniques to overcome situations that dont seem possible

so thank you andy and bark busters were looking forward to our journey continuing with you


A.B.
Woolwich, London

18th June 2014

Linda Dodsworth dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Other

Linda is very good, everything she told us was in plain English and easily understandable, her hands on approach and demonstrations made it easy to understand and follow her directions. Duke is progressing well, and although we still have plenty to do, with Linda's continued guidance I am confident we will get to the state we wanted and that Duke will continue to be a happy but well trained member of our family.

More reviews about Linda Dodsworth


N.O.
Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire

18th June 2014

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

Alex the therapist was very friendly and made me feel at ease with him - thank you. My dogs after only one session were like different dogs. Before Alex left I asked him "if he had swapped Molly for a different dog whilst I wasn't looking" - thats how much better she was behaving!! A BIG thank you

Trainer note from Alex:
When I arrived to carry out the first session I couldn't believe the noise her 3 little dogs were making - it was impossible to have a conversation whilst they were in the same room. However, once we had completed the first session, all 3 were really starting to listen to their new pack leader! I am confident that they will continue to behave with a consistent approach from their owner.

More reviews about Alex Fraser


S.R.
Rochdale, Greater Manchester

17th June 2014

Liz Johnson dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead
Photo of S.B.'s dog

Liz did a fantastic job with Dexter. Previously he pulled so hard on the lead he would cough and choke, making going for a walk frustrating and embarrassing. Now walks are lovely, I'm enjoying taking him out again. Dexter is a lot better with other dogs when out on walks, we've even set up some doggy dates to see if Dexter can make some friends.

He's much calmer in general, it's easier to control him when we have guests, we no longer have to shut him away when we have people over. Before, they used to get licked half to death!

Liz taught me everything from the theory behind his different behaviours (and misbehaviours) to the importance of good nutrition. Can not recommend Liz enough, she really understands dogs and their owners.


S.B.
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear

15th June 2014

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Other

What a fantastic morning. We (and Sammi our dog) learnt so much. I had a dog on a muzzle (not dog friendly at all) working with people she had never met (apart from Jo) and in no time at all they had identified Sammi's issue. Found the start of the solution and within a couple of hours Sammi was running around with no muzzle and totally ignoring the other dogs that were around her. Her love of the little Pond kept her occupied. We have a way to go but we are feeling very positive about how this is going to go. Sammi will now sniff around some other dogs rather than attack them. We still have a few issues but with further workshops we are convinced it will all come good. After all, Rome wasn’t built in a day. We can only thank you for what you have done so far and I’m sure Sammi thanks you too !!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Sammi is a lovely Staffordshire Bull Terrier who was adopted from Battersea Dogs Home. Like many rescue dogs she came with lots of little quirks like her love of sitting on tables and chairs and her determination to look out of the window, but the thing that her owners really struggled with was her dog aggression. She is a very fearful dog and had learned that the best form of defence was offence and would attack dogs if they came to close. We started off with muzzle training for safety and then her owners started working at a distance getting her focus onto them and getting her used to dogs walking nearby. They had practiced this diligently and by the time she came to the workshop Sammi was ready for practice in a controlled environment with "friendly" dogs. Dog aggression is not an overnight fix, but these owners have proved that with hard work and determination you can make a difference to your dog.

Update: Sammi has been to a second workshop and is now being let off lead in open spaces and comes back to her owner on command if she is worried or concerned. She is still fearful and will react to dogs so is kept muzzled for safety unless her owner knows the dogs are friendly. This is an excellent common sense approach as her owners can then relax and enjoy being out and about with their dog.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


S.R.
Laindon, Essex

15th June 2014

Kim Lummis dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management

Kim obviously loves dogs! She has a wonderful rapport with our puppy. She explains the training very well so that everything is clear and easy to follow. She is very friendly and easy to talk to and I feel able to ask her questions about anything! I cannot praise Kim enough! She was recommended to me by a friend and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend her to other dog owners!


T.K.
Hove, East Sussex

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2017 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training