Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

17th January 2021

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Puppy Management
Photo of J.W.'s dog

Absolutely FANTASTIC. Both Jo & Graham are total experts. They analysed instantly what was going on with Obi's body language and where the root cause of his anxious behaviour was coming from. Jo spent hours at the initial zoom meeting really getting in depth with Obi's history and daily routine. She gave us really useful information about change of diet and other helpful tools to help us progress. Graham came over to our house and spent over two hours working with us and Obi to train us into better routines. Obi struggles with fear of the neighbours children and would growl and bark at them. Within ONE hour of graham working with them, Obi was happily sitting on the sofa with the little girl from next door. We've seen great improvement since then. Haven't stopped telling everyone I know with a dog what a god send these two are!

Trainer note from Graham:
Obi is a lovely dog but he is not confident and becomes easily unnerved. His owners got on really well with their neighbours and were concerned at his fears around their children. Many dog are fearful of young children because they are unpredictable. They can cope with older children and adults because they know what is going to happen next.  With young children it is helping a dog observe a child so they can get used to them without feeling under threat.  This does have to be undertaken carefully as it can backfire and scare a dog more.  This is why putting training in place first was so important with Jo before a hands on follow up with Graham.  Obi's owners practiced and gave Obi the best chance they could of success. It will need ongoing work, but Obi is looking to his owners now for support and help when he is scared and this will reap rewards going forward.

More reviews about Graham Milgrew


J.W.
bromley, London (Testimonial)

14th January 2021

Gina Williams dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety
Photo of J.B.'s dog

Very informative and once Gina explained his behaviour it all made sense . Gina was friendly and everything she told us was easy to understand and it didn’t matter how many questions we asked or how many times. We are constantly practicing the techniques shown to us and we all have made good progress. Also knowing that we can contact Gina if we need help is very reassuring .

More reviews about Gina Williams


J.B.
Bristol, Avon (Testimonial)

13th January 2021

Ben Jordan dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Recall or not coming when called

Found Ben very easy going. Great advice tips. Looking forward to further lessons to help us train Buster. Started to see improvements already.

More reviews about Ben Jordan


D.S.
Plymouth, Devon (Testimonial)

13th January 2021

Angela Young dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises

The initial discussion with Angela was extremely informative. She seem to know Amber’s issues straight away and could give you a range of explanations and techniques to help with her aggression and other problems that she was having. She listened very carefully to our concerns and was extremely personable and approachable. Angela certainly knows her stuff! She made you feel completely at ease and definitely made us understand how Amber was feeling and how to make her feel comfortable. Her report afterwards was also extremely helpful and for the last month, we’ve already seen a significant improvement. We are very much looking forward to her guidance again on our next progress call.

More reviews about Angela Young


N.B.
Leyland, Lancashire (Testimonial)

7th January 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises

Alex is amazing. We had our introductory lesson and already saw how we can make a difference to Pedro’s stress/reactive nature. He has given us a structure to work on regularly and we have the reassurance he is there to support us over the next year!

Trainer note from Alex:
Really enjoyed meeting Pedro and his parents, although he was a little stressed about my arrival, hence being asked to help. By the end of the first session, he was far less stressed by me being there, and didn’t seem to mind me leaving or entering the room he was in. Looking forward to catching up with him soon to see if the homework I’ve left the pays off. I’m confident it will.

More reviews about Alex Fraser


T.H.
Salford, Greater Manchester (Testimonial)

7th January 2021

Emma Barrett dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting

My family and I really enjoyed our learning experience with dog trainer Emma Barrett today. Emma took the time to listen to all our concerns with Prince, our five month old yorkie. Each issue was throughly covered with immense detail and information. As first time dog owners, we did not feel apprehensive asking any questions regarding Prince. Emma's approach is very understanding, she was able to restore clarity and confidence in our approach to Prince. Moving forward, we feel so much more optimistic with the education and professional advice given. Overall such a lovely and professional trainer. Highly recommend Emma. As it is lockdock, Emma made sure to maintain social distancing rules in our home.

Trainer note from Emma:
Hi
It was so lovely to meet you all. Thanks so much for the review and i look forward to meeting you all again soon.

More reviews about Emma Barrett


B.K.
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire (Testimonial)

5th January 2021

Neil Price dealt with: Puppy Management

Neil, sorry for the delay in replying to your mail ,we have both benefitted from your visit as it has given us a starting point to begin the training of both Bella and myself,some initial sit and wait before picking cheese up, which is as a result of your training recommendations, we have both benefitted from it and now Christmas is over we can continue it on a more regular basis. We both look forward to your next visit and we shall contact you to arrange your next visit in the coming week or so , many thanks Dave+ Bella.

More reviews about Neil Price


D.K.
liverpool, Lancashire (Testimonial)

4th January 2021

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting
Photo of L.O.'s dog

I had training on my Puppy panic! from Jo and Graham. Their service is exceptional. When they say "We will offer follow up sessions and advice whenever needed" they actually mean it! As a first time dog owner I found it reduced my anxiety a lot to know that I could keep asking questions and get help throughout Piglet's first year and that there would be continuity so I could just listen to one person (or in this case two) who knew what they were talking about. It seems anyone and everyone I came across had an opinion on what I should do with Piglet and they all contradicted each other so I was feeling overwhelmed and guilty before I signed up with Jo and Graham. I'm trained with a science background so I really appreciated having clear explanations from Jo in particular, of why and how the training tips work as this helped me have faith that things would improve - which they did! Piglet has got so much better with toilet training, crate and pen training, sleeping through the night, walking on the lead and recall. I've gone back to Jo and Graham recently only because now he's entering adolescence Piglet has started the typical things (e.g. territorial barking) and they are again being fantastic! The combination of Zoom sessions with Jo and in-person with Graham works really well. We are soon likely to do completely online sessions too with me providing live video of Piglet, which I think will work just as well. They are really flexible with appointment times and always send emails with notes and helpful documents at the end of the session. That means you don't have to scribble down your own notes you can focus entirely on what they're teaching you and you have a good resource to go back to afterwards. I have nothing but praise for this service and have already recommended it to several other new puppy owners in my local park. It is extremely good value for money. If like me you're keen to the 'right' thing by giving your dog the best experience of you as an owner, and you don't want your dog to be a pain to anyone else and you don't know which books/people/free YouTube advice to trust....just call Jo and Graham!

Trainer note from Graham:
This owner has a miniature Dachshund. Piglet has not been the easiest of puppies and his owner has had to consistently work with him to overcome his fearfulness including walking issues, alarm barking plus separation problems as well as everything else required to bring up a puppy successfully  When you do have puppy or dog issues it is natural for people to give advice and some people can scare owners no matter how well meaning the advice is.  It is particularly difficult when it come to the breeder or other people experienced with dogs, for example in rescue, giving advice on behaviour, as they are still only giving it from their own point of view and not because they work and study in the field as we do.  We know that there is no "one way" and that every dog and owner is an individual unit so any advice must be tailored to their circumstances.  It is also not as simple reading a book or reading on the internet either because it can only be general advice, even though that advice might be excellent.  Recently Piglets separation problems have re-occurred and online is invaluable for that as we can either watch live or see video of Piglet, plus also coach his owner live via phone video when he is territorially barking in his garden. This is not to replace face to face. It is the better choice in these circumstances. A dog is not going to exhibit separation problems when you are there plus he loves people so is not going to territorially bark when the Trainer is there and distracting him.  Our combination approach means that owners get the help they need delivered in the most effective way possible,

More reviews about Graham Milgrew


L.O.
South East London, London (Testimonial)

2nd January 2021

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Recall or not coming when called
Photo of C.W.'s dog

We came to Jo and Graham feeling like we were at the end of our tether with our 8 month old Chow Chow Indiana. She had started out as a very normal happy and playful puppy who loved interacting with new people and was very loving towards us. Then at about 5 months old she started to become very different, wary and aggressive towards new people, which led to her biting on multiple occasions. We were quick to realise that we needed to work on her behaviour immediately, so we sent her away to residential training in Kent, hoping for him to help with her people aggression. However the Trainers uncommunicative style and lack of openness about training methods wasn't suitable for us. Thankfully soon after this we found Jo and Graham at Barkbusters, who were helpful and reassuring with tips and advice even on our first phone call which was just to enquire about their training methods. They have continued to provide advice and information that has helped us in the journey towards sorting Indy's aggression problem. She still has a long way to go, as hers is not a problem that you can fix quickly and overnight, but we are making progress and we are thankful for the support that Jo and Graham have provided. We highly recommend.

Trainer note from Graham:
It is common to blame owners if they have an aggressive dog and especially if the breed is known to be wary of people like a Chow Chow is. The thing is that you can do everything right and still have a problem. It is how you tackle it that problem that is the most important. These owners have gone the extra mile. As well as training, they have been doing behaviour modification to convince Indy that people are not as threatening as she thinks. As she looks like a beautiful Teddy Bear people are still not respecting her and ignoring instructions even with a muzzle on, but over time she is becoming less scared and is now having good interactions. This is entirely down to the diligence of her owners who have made every effort to help Indy cope.

More reviews about Graham Milgrew


C.W.
London (Testimonial)

30th December 2020

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management
Photo of E.R.'s dog

Excellent trainer. Very happy with how Kevin demonstrated and explained what he was doing and then supported us in doing the activity ourselves.

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


E.R.
Taunton, Somerset (Testimonial)

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2021 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training