what our clients say about Jo & Graham Milgrew

Dog Training & Behavioral Therapist

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

Submit your review about Jo & Graham

10th September 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety
Photo of F.M.'s dog

We are very happy with the training provided by Graham and Jo. They are very familiar with the specific needs of a greyhound and they are very supportive with the ongoing training. We highly recommend their service. Many thanks! Flor and Tara

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Tara is a retired Greyhound.  Racing Greyhounds are usually kept in pairs in kennels so when they come to our homes they have to adjust to home life (which a Greyhound always loves!!).  They also have to adjust to being without another dog and can have separation anxiety as a result.  Greyhounds can struggle with stairs and different floor surfaces simply because they haven't experienced it before.  They also tend to react to seeing small animals when out on a walk as they have been trained to chase them.  Tara's problems were typical and her owners have been working diligently on overcoming her anxieties. She is slightly unusual in that most Greyhounds are really interested in their owners so can seem aloof to family, visitors and people they meet, but Tara is very friendly and delights in having attention as well as obviously adoring her owners.   


F.M.
London

6th September 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Recall or not coming when called
Photo of D.W.'s dog

We are extremely pleased with the advice and training techniques shown and applied to our Dog BENJI He has responded very positive to all command's and is now showing to be a very nice and happy dog, we now look forward to taking him out and continuing with his training Thanks to BARK BUSTERS.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Benji is a very fearful Cavalier King Charles/Pug cross who was getting very upset and behaving as if he had to protect his owners against visitors and when visiting other peoples houses.  He also couldn't cope with going to cafes because people would constantly approach him as he is such a good looking dog.  Once his owners were able to demonstrate to Benjii that this wasn't needed and instead he should focus on them and follow their lead he became a much more relaxed and happy dog.  He still has fears so it will take time and lots of practice to build up his confidence, but his owners now have the training techniques to help Benji and have been working hard to turn the problem around with good results so far.  


D.W.
DARTFORD, Kent

3rd September 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

Jo gave me a lot of time to introduce ways I could work with Perry. She was a good listener and gave me tips to keep Perry’s attention.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Perry is a lovely natured long haired miniature Dachshund.  Now he has got to his adolescence he has been exhibiting some common bad behaviours such as barking, pulling on the lead and not listening when he is called.  He lives on a very busy road and as he loves people he tries to get out of the front door to greet people and try to visit the neighbours which is dangerous for any dog.  He responded really well to training and I am looking forward to seeing him and his owner again.    


A.A.
London

31st August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Separation Anxiety Other

Graham was very helpful. Everything was explained in details. A great trainer. Very pleased I contacted Barkbusters. As this was the first visit. Bruno has improved. There is room for improvement. Trust this wool be sorted on the 2nd visit. Thank you Graham. Best wishes Myrtle

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Bruno is a French Bulldog puppy who was getting over excited, mouthing his owners feet and generally not listening.  As he is their first dog they weren't quite sure how to tackle this and communicate with Bruno so he understood what they wanted.  They have worked hard with their training and Bruno was behaving significantly better on the follow up visit.  I look forward to seeing him as he grows up.  


M.P.
Bromlry, Kent

30th August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Barking at people, dogs, animals, birds or where the dog barks for attention or at the slightest noise Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Other

We have a West Highland Terrier puppy named Daisy, whom we believe came to us from a puppy farm. She is very nervous and has lots of issues with noise and encountering other dogs and humans. Jo came to visit us and we immediately felt that she understood Daisy. She gave us fantastic advice and pointed out lots of areas where we could help Daisy and make her happier in her day-to-day routine. Jo was extremely knowledgeable and we felt confident about following her advice and tips for dealing with Daisy. There wasn't anything we asked Jo which she could not answer and we felt, for the first time since Daisy joined us, that we weren't bad owners and that Daisy wasn't unhappy being with us. Jo stayed with us beyond her allotted time and we were so grateful that she did not rush off when the session was due to come to an end. She was so kind, patient and informative; we instantly felt at ease with her and that we were supported. Daisy really took to Jo and after a few minutes of being on her guard at the fact there was a stranger in the house, Daisy enjoyed the training sessions and was really relaxed. We really appreciated the time and care that Jo put into her session with us. Unlike the one-size-fits-all approach that you find in books and on internet dog-training videos, Jo's advice was tailor-made for Daisy and her specific problems. Since Jo's visit, we have been following the advice she gave us, along with all the extra material which she took the trouble to e-mail us directly afterwards. Along with changing Daisy's vet and her food, we have noticed a dramatic improvement in her behaviour. This would never have been possible without Barkbusters' wonderful Jo. We are so very grateful to Jo. She is a great ambassador for Barkbusters and we look forward to seeing her again soon. Thank you

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

The kennel club describe puppy farming as follows: “A puppy farmer's main intent is profit.  As a result they typically separate puppies from their mothers too early, ignore guidelines about the maximum frequency of litters, provide inadequate socialisation of puppies, sell puppies through third parties i.e. away from the environment in which they are raised, keep puppies in poor husbandry conditions and fail to follow breed specific health schemes or to apply basic, routine health measures such as immunisation and worming. As a result, the puppies bred by puppy farmers are more likely to suffer from common, preventable, infectious diseases, painful or chronic inherited conditions, behavioural issues and shorter life spans”.


Daisy owners are very caring people, who took home a very fearful puppy who has had serious health issues resulting in constantly reoccurring sickness.  She has serious behavioural issues exhibiting aggression to strangers both in and outside the home and attacking her owners when she is frustrated. She is also noise sensitive and barks constantly at noises she perceives as a threat.  Puppy Farm puppies are not raised around people and do not experience everyday life so these type of health and behaviour issues are all too common. I saw Daisy at 11 months old and her owners had taken her to training and had worked very hard to help Daisy. I put a behaviour modification program in place to help them manage and tackle Daisy’s more difficult problems that were not responding to general training.  She is fortunate to have owners who are willing to go the extra mile and I have every confidence that they will continue to make good progress with her.     


C.Q.
London

17th August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management

The transformation of hephzibah is amazing she is like a different dog. When people walk in the house she no longer jumps up at them she waits for them to embrace her first. She is listening and responding to commands I.e watch me, wait, touch. I was not confident when commanding hef and taking her for walks as she would pull and not listen. Seeing me as a little sister in the pecking order. However, now I myself feel so much more confident and am able to take control and have noticed the difference in how she responds to me. We purchased a canny collar to assist with her pulling and have used it a few times and I am finding when she has only her harness and lead she no longer pulls and will walk alongside you. My opinion before the training was that she would be impossible to train, and in 4 hours Graham turned that around and showed me that she could be obedient. She needed the right guidance from me and with my improved confidence thanks to Graham I could do that for her.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Hephzibah is a delightful English Bull Terrier. She is an adolescent so was testing a lot boundaries and not listening to her owner.  This is a very typical adolescent behaviour but is hard to manage when you own a large powerful dog and it is also easy to get pulled over as young dogs struggle with self control and can be over friendly when they want to meet and greet people and other dogs. The Canny Collar is a face collar that allows owner to prevent heavy lunging and pulling. It has to be introduced properly as dogs do not like a strap over their nose and they have to be taught to walk alongside the owner keeping the nose strap loose. Because it encourages walking to heel, owners of large pulling dogs can use it to teach their dogs the right position to walk in while remaining in full control of their dog. This owner has advanced very quickly with her dog.  Hep loved the training and was really happy to know what she should do.  She still has a bit of growing up to do, but is already a dog her owner can be proud of


E.M.
Woolwich, London

17th August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Puppy Management Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety Toileting

Jo was very calm and I quickly felt at ease on her arrival. She was able to quickly recognise issues and her visit, despite only being less than a week ago has made a huge difference to our home. Jo has kept in contact with me by text and I am looking forward to learning much more from her. Thanks Jo.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

This owner had a lot to deal with. An elderly Patterdale Terrier girl who was struggling with the very friendly Miniature Dachshund girl puppy and a puppy who was very fretful if left on her own at any time.  Dogs are generally very good at living with each other.  There may be a bit of grumpiness, but they are pack animals and it is not in their interests to do anything that might weaken the pack. However, a young puppy can have poor social skills and owners have to intervene at times to allow their older dog a bit of peace. This family had got a huge amount right and it was a case of confirming this and advising on how to ease the issues they were having. A week later the dogs are getting on much better and the puppy is starting to learn to be on her own. I am looking forward to seeing this family again as their puppy grows.  


A.B.
Essex

13th August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called
Photo of A.S.'s dog

Graham was patient and great and gave us some wonderful tips for our hyper active chocolate Labrador Roxi. Some of the tips were eye openers, even after having 4 dogs.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Roxi is a very friendly bouncy young dog. She responded really well to having some boundaries putting in place and some new commands to follow. Her owners are experienced dog owners who just needed a little bit of extra guidance to fill in the gaps in their knowledge.  The handling of their dog was very good and I am confident that they will go from strength to strength,


A.S.
SOUTHALL, London

2nd August 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger
Photo of A.P.'s dog

Training was really good and helped to understand our dogs reactions. They have been improving their social skills, to the point that in about two weeks, Ana is able to be around other dogs and be herself and be confident. Maura is still a work in progress, she doesn't immediately react to dogs now, but still, it's not trusting right away. They are getting better at socializing and taking cues from us, according to their training, even if sometimes it takes a few tries to happen. This has been very useful for us and them, making our communication and reaction a lot better.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:

Ana and Maura are two lovely natured Whippet Crosses.  Unfortunately, both dogs had been attacked by other dogs when they were living in Brazil which has left them wary and fearful.  Ana is the more confident of the dogs and is coming on in leaps and bounds.  Maura is still nervous but responding well to her owner’s guidance.  Both dogs are now able to cope much better with meeting other dogs and are able walk alongside other dogs as well now.   


A.P.
London

20th July 2018

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead

The relationship between myself and Hatch had broken down and I felt scared of him at times. Since my first meeting with Jo, we have noth changed so much. Hatch responds to me and I feel confident to give instructions and to manage him. I understand him better and he therefore respects me. Hand feeding was a key turning point for us both and a great suggestion from Jo. Thank you so much.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
Hatch is a Nova Scotia Duck Toller and was bought as they are generally very good family dogs, however, Hatch was badly behaved with both the female owners and her children when he would happily listen to the male owner. This is not uncommon in adolescent dogs, but he had got to the point of growling as well as not listening so the owner relationship had completely broken down as a result. When a dog has no respect and/or has no bond with his owner, making him work for his food while training can rebuild the bond. Everything comes from the owner and the owner becomes important to the dog. Training therefore becomes a pleasure rather than a source of conflict. This is not a "cure all". Owners have to understand what is happening with their dog and Hatch's owner went out of her way to see things from Hatch's point of view as well as her own. In return Hatch responded really well once he understood what was expected from him.

A.W.
Croydon, Surrey

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Google+
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Areas Covered
Abridge, Acton, Addiscombe, Angel, Ardleigh Green, Asheldham, Ashingdon, Aveley, Baker Street, Balham, Banstead, Barbican, Barking, Barking, Barkingside, Barnes, Barnsbury, Basildon, Battersea, Battersea Park, Battersea Rise, Bayswater, Beckton, Becontree, Becontree Heath, Belgravia, Belmont, Bermondsey, Bexley, Bexleyheath, Bickley, Billericay, Blackfriars, Blackheath, Blackmore, Bloomsbury, Bobbingworth, Boreham, Bow, Bradwell, Brentford, Brentwood, Brixton, Brixton Hill, Broadgate, Brockley, Bromley, Brompton, Broomfield, Buckhurst Hill, Burnham-on-Crouch, Camberwell, Camden, Camden Town, Canning Town, Canonbury, Canvey Island, Carshalton, Caterham, Catford, Central Croydon, Central London, Chadwell Heath, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford Hundred, Charing Cross, Charlton, Cheam, Chelsea, Chelsea, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Chipstead, Chislehurst, Chiswick, City, City Of London, Clapham, Clapham Common, Clapham Junction, Clapham North, Clapham Park, Clapham South, Clapton, Clayhall, Clerkenwell, Collier Row, Collierswood, Corringham, Coulsdon, Covent Garden, CR0, CR1, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, CR9, Cranham, Cranham, Crayford, Croydon, Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace, Dagenham, Dagenham, Danbury, Dartford, Dengle, Denmark Hill, Deptford, Doddinghurst, Dulwich, E1, Ealing, Earls Court, Earls Court, East Balham, East Croydon, East Ham, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Eastwood, EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4, Elm Park, Eltham, Embankment, Emerson Park, Euston, Farringdon, Finchley, Finsbury, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fryerning, Fulham, Galleywood, Gants Hill, Gidea Park, Golders Green, Goodmayes, Grays, Great Baddow, Great Burstead, Great Warley, Green Park, Greenhithe, Greenwich, Grove Park, Hackney, Hadleigh, Hainault, Hammersmith, Hammersmith & Fulham, Hampstead, Harlesden, Harold Hill, Harold Park, Harold Wood, Harold Wood, Hatfield Peverel, Havering-atte-bower, Hawkwell, Hayes, Heath Park, Herne Hill, Herongate, High Ongar, Highbury, Hockley, Holborn, Holland Park, Homerton, Hornchurch, Hoxton, Hullbridge, Hutton, Hyde Farm, Hyde Park, Ilford, Ingatestone, Ingrave, Islington, Kelvedon, Kelvedon Hatch, Kenley, Kennington, Kensington, Kensington, Kentish Town, Kidbrooke, Kings Cross, Knightsbridge, Ladywell, Laindon, Lambeth, Langdon Hills, Lavender Hill, Lee, Leigh-on-sea, Lewisham, Limehouse, Little Heath, Little Warley, Liverpool Street, London, London Bridge, Loughton, Maida Vale, Maldon, Manor Park, Marks Gate, Marylebone, Mawneys, Mayfair, Maylandsea, Mitcham, Morden, Moreton, Mottingham, Mountnessing, N1, N5, Navestock, New Cross, Newbury Park, Noak Hill, Norbury, North Ockenden, North Shoebury, North Stifford, Norwood, Notting Hill, NW11, NW3, NW8, Old Street, Olympia, Ongar, Orpington, Orsett, Oval, Oxford Circus, Paddington, Penge, Petts Wood, Piccadilly, Pimlico, Pitsea, Plaistow, Plumstead, Poplar, Primrose Hill, Prittlewell, Purfleet, Purley, Purley Downs, Rainham, Rayleigh, Redbridge, Regents Park, Riddlesdown, Rochford, Romford, Rotherhithe, Rush Green, Russell Square, Sanderstead, SE1, SE11, SE19, SE21, SE24, SE25, SE27, SE5, Selhurst, Selsdon, Seven Kings, Shenfield, Shepherds Bush, Shirley, Shoeburyness, Shooters Hill, Shoreditch, Shortlands, Sidcup, Sloane Square, SM1, SM2, SM3, SM4, SM5, SM6, Smithfield, Soho, South Benfleet, South Croydon, South Hornchurch, South Kensington, South Lambeth, South London, South Norwood, South Norwood, South Ockenden, South Stifford, South West London, South Woodham Ferrers, Southall, Southborough, Southend, Southend-on-sea, Southminster, Southwark, Square Mile, St Mary Cray, St Paul's Cray, St. James, St. James Park, St. Johns Wood, St. Pancras, St. Pauls, Stanford-le-Hope, Stapleford Abbotts, Stapleford Aerodrome, Stapleford Tawney, Stock, Stockwell, Stondon Massey, Strand, Stratford, Streatham, Streatham Common, Streatham Hill, Streatham Vale, Sutton, SW London, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW16, SW17, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW8, SW9, Swanley, Swanscombe, Sydenham, Thamesmead, The Lavers, The Rodings, Thornton Heath, Thorpe Bay, Thundersley, Thurrock, Tilbury, Tillingham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tooting, Tooting Bec, Tulse Hill, Upminster, Vauxhall, Victoria, W1, W10, W11, W12, W14, W2, W8, W9, Wallington, Walthamstow, Walworth, Warlingham, WC1, WC2, Welling, Wennington, West Brompton, West Croydon, West Dulwich, West End, West Ham, West Hampstead, West Horndon, West Kensington, West Norwood, West Thurrock, West Tilbury, West Wickham, Westcliffe-on-Sea, Westminster, Wickford, Willesden, Witham, Woldingham, Woodford Bridge, Woodford Green, Woolwich, Writtle

© 2018 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training

#### GOOGLE ANALYTICS ##### ##