Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

12th April 2021

Sharon Chapman dealt with: Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Other

The zoom meeting was very helpful, there is so much for me to learn. Sharon explains things very well and I am looking forward to meeting her in person.

More reviews about Sharon Chapman


J.P.
Conway, Conwy (Testimonial)

11th April 2021

Lee Hardy dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Recall or not coming when called

Very impressed with Lee. On our first lesson he took time and care to ensure that the initial engagement with Boo was very controlled. Within 2 hours he had essentially given us a technique and the confidence to control Boo's behaviour with visitors to the house. In the weeks since this first visit this has proven very successful. On our second appointment 4 weeks later, Lee came out for a dog walk with us and has helped us with Boo's behaviour when bringing the ball back to us (with less enthusiasm and more controlled). In minutes he showed us how to walk Boo in a manner that would minimise her constant pulling. Three walks since Lee has been with us and the difference is amazing. She is now walking to heel most of the time, she needs a few reminders along the way, but huge progress and confident that it will continue to get better. Very impressed so far, we went with the 'Gold' service, glad we did, it is just nice to know that Lee is there for us long term should we need him.

More reviews about Lee Hardy


P.C.
Appleby Magna, Derbyshire (Testimonial)

11th April 2021

Shauna Hoey dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Separation Anxiety Toileting

We called Shauna amidst desperation with dealing with our very mouthy GSD puppy - even though we did a lot of research to cope with our problems she always has great advices and insights to quickly resolve any issue we have! I always jokingly say that her advices alone are worth the price we pay for a full year. She's always very kind and available when you need her and it's so nice to have someone to talk to when you have doubts. Our puppy is now 7 months, she's perfectly behaved during sleep time, her recall is strong, good obidience training, toilet training, anything you can ask for a puppy, and we are just now starting to teach her not to pull on the lead which already is going great! I'm very very pleased and contacting Shauna in particular was the best decision I could have ever made for us and the puppy. From the bottom of my heart, thank you a lot.

More reviews about Shauna Hoey


E.S.
Crawley, West Sussex (Testimonial)

8th April 2021

Gina Williams dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called Other

Gina was fun to work with and the lesson was very helpful.

More reviews about Gina Williams


K.A.
Bristol (Testimonial)

6th April 2021

Angela Young dealt with: Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Toileting

Excellent session and some invaluable guidance and advice which we have already put in practice - start as you mean to go on. Changed diet, new commands and games and new toys to start with and a longer lead to get walking under control. My only dilemma was the length of the meeting - 3 hours. Loads to take in and not Angela’s issue but I have painful tennis elbow at minute and it’s uncomfortable to get comfy after a couple of hours at table. Looking forward to the follow up meeting though and it’s great that all the notes are sent to us to remind us and saved us making notes on the evening. Highly recommended

More reviews about Angela Young


K.S.
Bolton, Greater Manchester (Testimonial)

6th April 2021

Estelle Jackson dealt with: Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

Great session very informative and simple clear training guide

More reviews about Estelle Jackson


K.R.
Sutton In Ashfield, Nottinghamshire (Testimonial)

6th April 2021

Graham Milgrew dealt with: Other
Photo of J.M.'s dog

Our Miniature Goldendoodle, Indie, is a resource guarder. As our first dog, training a puppy was utterly new to us, and while we were successful in some areas, we were also struggling in others. It wasn’t long before our lack of understanding showed, and our puppy soon developed a possessive aggressive nature over things she would pick up and find. We were at such a loss on what to do, and it was causing us a lot of stress and anxiety; cue Jo & Graham Milgrew, who – quite literally – came in and rescued us from this downward spiral. They showed us that it wasn’t an issue with her alone but with how we were handling the situation and that we needed to change to help Indie. Indie’s guarding was quite severe to give you some background, although it never happened with food or toys, her resource guarding came into play whenever she picked something up on her walk or if she found something around the flat. Instead of growling to warn us off, she would go straight to biting and with every episode, we knew the situation was getting worse. In our initial meeting with Jo, she talked us through resource guarding, explained the situation from Indie’s point of view – which was eye-opening – and gave us some steps which we could take to help the situation. We immediately followed those steps, which centred around getting Indie to trust us again, and since then, she has completely changed. It took some time to build up that trust, but it was like a sudden switch in her behaviour one day. She would allow us to stroke her when she had something she would typically guard, and then she learnt to drop and swap it for something else. Which was just amazing and a point I’d never thought we’d get to. We understand that Indie is and probably always will be a resource guarder, but we don’t take anything away from her as she listens to us and swaps it for something else. A key takeaway from the training was learning to remain calm and relaxed when she had something; if we got stressed, her guarding would worsen. We know now that dog training is not a linear process, but with both Jo & Graham’s help, it can be an easier thing to tackle. We’d highly recommend getting in contact; it’s a decision you and your best friend would never regret.

Trainer note from Graham:
Resource guarding only happens when a dog is guarding something he or she prizes.  It can be food, toys, items they like the look of (and steal), where they sleep and in some cases people they prize like their owner or owner's children.  In many cases, this can be managed successfully like leaving a dog to eat in peace.  However, that is not always possible, as in the case of Indie.  Her owners took the time to do the work to ensure that Indie no longer feels threatened by an approach from them and is happy to give up items on request.  It is well worth doing as a dog can be trained successfully and you can live in harmony with your dog.

More reviews about Graham Milgrew


J.M.
Croydon, Surrey (Testimonial)

5th April 2021

Lee Hardy dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks

The first lesson went very well Lee gave us lots of help and advice on passive leadership. We have been able to enjoy the recent sunny weather stress free having reclaimed our garden.

More reviews about Lee Hardy


A.B.
Derby, Derbyshire (Testimonial)

5th April 2021

Neil Price dealt with: Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Separation Anxiety
Photo of P.T.'s dog

Neil understands what we need and explained everything very well

More reviews about Neil Price


P.T.
Liverpool, Merseyside (Testimonial)

4th April 2021

Estelle Jackson dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Other

.

More reviews about Estelle Jackson


P.T.
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire (Testimonial)

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2021 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training