Bark Busters Reviews and Customer Testimonials

You can filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest.

8th June 2021

Kevin McDonnell dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead Separation Anxiety Other

We were recommended Kevin by a friend and as we were really struggling to manage several behaviour issues with our two cocker spaniels Elsa & Otis, we thought we’d ask him for some help. My husband Kevin used the word ‘staggering’ multiple times as almost immediately the training session began our dogs began to display the behaviour we’ve always wanted! Kevin uses a step by step approach where he actually trains the owners (not the dogs!) and the dogs respond immediately! It really was quite amazing to see. It’s made such a difference already in only one day and our dogs are relaxed, happy and comfortable knowing we are in charge. A particular behavioural issue we wanted to address was Otis travelling in the car, where he constantly whined, cried and over the journey built up to screaming and howling. It was almost impossible to concentrate on driving with him in the car so we’d practically given up taking him with us in the car - we’d tried absolutely everything beforehand to adapt this behaviour with no success. Kevin came in the car with us and guided us through employing the training he’d just given us to correct the issue - and it worked!! We simply couldn’t believe it. If you are reading this, you are probably experiencing unwanted behavioural issues with your dog .. our advice is do not delay, get in touch with Kevin ASAP. You will not regret it, we most certainty don’t. Already in just one day, we have happier and very relaxed dogs so thank you so much Kevin, we are all very grateful!

More reviews about Kevin McDonnell


K.M.
Budleigh Salterton, Devon (Testimonial)

8th June 2021

Gavin Chambers dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

Gavin was very pleasant and gave me some good tips and advice . I am eager to start training Chester

Trainer note from Gavin:
It was great to meet up, Chester is ace and will soon pick up the new rules and boundaries, thanks for the review.
Gavin

More reviews about Gavin Chambers


C.G.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire (Testimonial)

8th June 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Destructive chewing that results in destruction of furniture, woodwork etc Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Puppy Management Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household Separation Anxiety

the dogs are calmer now and quite obedient they follow the instructions.

More reviews about Alex Fraser


S.T.
Radcliffe, Lancashire (Testimonial)

7th June 2021

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Separation Anxiety

I contacted Bark Busters when I realised my puppy is very reluctant to stay on his own. I was not able to take a shower without him panicking and starting to bark like there's no tomorrow. I frantically googled what to do with him and advice was mainly: start by leaving him for short periods of time such as 5 minutes. I was not able to leave him for 5 seconds and this was starting to affect my mental health. I had considered getting a dog for years and I have had dogs before but nothing prepared me for what I was facing now with my puppy. I had the first Zoom session with Jo and she ensured me that I am not the cause of this problem and she was very understanding that I was struggling. Jo helped me by being very encouraging and ensuring me that progress is being made. I have a habit of seeing the negative things and ignore the positive ones. We are now at the stage where my puppy is able to be on his own for 2 hours and the time keeps increasing slowly but surely. I take this as a huge success when I think back: even 5 seconds of alone time was too much for the dog. Graham also came to visit us and gave me great tips how to train with the puppy. I am now about to contact Jo again to help us further with the training (barking etc.) Jo did not only help the puppy, she helped me to cope.

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
The assumption with puppies is that it is natural for them to cry for their Mum and Siblings and that if you leave them to cry it out for a few nights they will get over it.  The sad thing is that for many puppies this is not true.  If it is recognised that the puppy is struggling then the advice is to crate and to start leaving a puppy for 5 minutes and build from there.  Again there are puppies who cannot cope with this and the owner is left to feel they are must be doing something wrong because their friends and family puppies were quickly fine. When a puppy has true separation anxiety help is needed to make sure the puppy doesn't grow up unable to be left on his or her own,  This little pup is doing fine now but has started a common adolescent behaviour of barking on lead which we are tackling now.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


V.V.
London (Testimonial)

7th June 2021

Neil Price dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management

Minnie behaved well and didn’t quite know what to do, but the things that Neil showed us and discussed with the family are currently being put into practice and she seems to be making progress.

More reviews about Neil Price


A.O.
Blackburn, Lancashire (Testimonial)

31st May 2021

Estelle Jackson dealt with: Hyperactivity Sibling Rivalry - aggression or fighting between dogs in the same household
Photo of C.S.'s dog

Bobby, my 1 yr old golden retriever doesn't obey commands. Estelle gave us methods to practise for attention seeking behaviour for three weeks before a second appointment. There's really too much that's gone wrong to correct in one lesson. I know we'll get there as I've had Estelle for my elder dog a few years ago and that worked only requiring one visit but it wasn't as complex a situation. We'd pretty much identified that having more than one dog was the issue with Bobby but Estelle quickly worked out exactly why and how to correct it. After a few days of practise Bobby is realising what is expected of him but this is a lifestyle change so needs consistency for it to remain in Bobby's head. He's a gorgeous, loving, affectionate boy, I know very soon we can add 'very well behaved' to his attributes. Thanks, Estelle.

More reviews about Estelle Jackson


C.S.
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire (Testimonial)

30th May 2021

Alex Fraser dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Pulling on the Lead

The session was great! I must admit, I had been a little apprehensive - after a year of shielding and a very clingy dog, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Alex put us at ease straight away, and was supportive and informative.

Betty responded really well (once she got over her initial grumble!), and we have lots of useful info to take away and be practicing.

We wanted to help Betty be the best she could be, and we’re certainly getting there (she’s a super clever dog, it was us that needed training!).

Would definitely recommend to others!

More reviews about Alex Fraser


S.L.
Ashton-under-Lyne, Lancashire (Testimonial)

28th May 2021

Ben Jordan dealt with: Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Pulling on the Lead

The training was interesting and informative. It made us look at how we are interacting with our dog. It was definitely worth it. Our dog seems conscious of our change of approach because he keeps looking at us when we are bringing him in line and does appear to want to please us. He is improving on the lead although he regresses if he gets frightened. Generally he does seem a bit calmer near traffic. We are both more focused on the dog when we have him on the lead. He does respond more most of the time but will occasionally get excited when he sees a particular dog he likes. He also looks at us and cries when he wants us to play as opposed to barking at us.

More reviews about Ben Jordan


L.B.
Torpoint, Cornwall (Testimonial)

27th May 2021

Jo & Graham Milgrew dealt with: Aggression to a dog or other animal or where the dog is aggressive to the owner or a stranger Barking at people, dogs and animals or barking for attention or at noises Hyperactivity Jumping up at visitors or the dog jumps up at people on walks Recall or not coming when called

We have had our first virtual meeting with Jo, who I found to be extremely experienced within her role and completely open and honest. Felt totally relaxed and relieved by the end of our call. Thank you Jo !!!!

Trainer note from Jo & Graham:
These owners have taken on a Springer Spaniel who has a truly terrible history with multiple homes in his short 4 years. He has finally found a home who are prepared to help him with his numerous problems.  We foster and rehabilitate dogs ourselves and understand how much a damaged dog can disrupt the household. These owners have been doing a huge amount right and need help with some of the more complicated issues he is presenting with. Both Graham and I are looking forward to continuing to work with these owners and both their dogs.

More reviews about Jo & Graham Milgrew


S.B.
Slade Green, Kent (Testimonial)

27th May 2021

Sharon Chapman dealt with: Pulling on the Lead Puppy Management Recall or not coming when called

Trainer was excellent. She carefully went through the training package. I could not believe how different my dog listened and behaved after her first class.

More reviews about Sharon Chapman


Y.S.
Llandudno, Conwy (Testimonial)

Bark Busters - A better way to a better dog
The World's Largest Dog Training Company

follow Bark Busters
Facebook
Pinterest
Blogger
Twitter
YouTube
RSS

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & dog training tips

Subscribe to Newsletter

Click here to unsubscribe

Careers in Dog Training

Bark Busters are looking for special individuals who are looking to become a dog trainer and dog behaviour therapist. We have business areas available within the UK.
Find out more about our dog training business

Subscribe Business Newsletter

© 2021 All Rights Rserved Bark Busters Home Dog Training